Planetary Nebula Simeis 22

Simeis 22
Simeis 22: Planetary nebula in Cassiopeia. North is left; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 179+3*60 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

History

The emission nebula Simeis 22 (Sim 22, S 22) was discovered in the early 1950s by the Russian astronomers Grigory Abramovich Shajn and Vera Fedorovna Gaze at the Simeis Observatory on the Crimean Peninsula. [402] Regardless of this discovery, the American astronomer Stewart Sharpless found the same emission nebula while searching the photo plates of the «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey» made with the 48 inch Schmidt telescope and published it in 1959 as Sh 2-188 together with a total of 313 H-II regions in a catalog.[310] [310]

Physical Properties

Simeis 22 shows similarities to the Medusa Nebula (Abell 21) and was first thought to be a supernova remnant due to its size and filamentous structure. Studies with the 300 feet radio telescope at Green Bank, West Virginia, in 1966 revealed that the nebula emits radio emissions of thermal origin, which is uncharacteristic of supernova remnants. [403] Spectroscopic investigations revealed that the nebula is moving towards us with a mean radial speed of -26 km/s ± 10 km/s, the outer envelope with a speed of about 35 km/s and single filaments with 60-65 km /s expand. This is about one to two powers of ten too low and atypical for supernovae. [404] Simeis 22 is a planetary nebula with an estimated age of 22,500 ± 2,500 years. The asymmetric shape was caused by interaction with interstellar medium. The nebula is at a distance of 850+500−420 pc and has a diameter of about 2.5 pc. [405]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G128.0-04.1: Simeiz 22, PK , Sh 2-188
Right Ascension (J2000.0)01h 30m 40s
Declination (J2000.0)+58° 22' 01"
Dimensions 340." (optical)
Radial Velocity-26. km/s ± 10. km/s
Expansion Velocity 40. km/s (O-III)
C-Star Magnitude16.43 mag (U filter), 17.43 mag (B filter), 17.44 mag (V filter)
DiscovererSHARPLESS 1959

Finder Chart

The planetary nebula Simeis 22 is located in the constellation of Cassiopeia, about 22 arc minutes west of the 5.7 mag star HR 439. The constellation is circumpolar in central Europe, but the best viewing time is July to January, when it is highest at night.

Chart Planetary Nebula Simeis 22
Planetary Nebula Simeis 22 in constellation Cassiopeia. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

400 mm Aperture: The position of the nebula is clearly identifiable from the surrounding stars. Without a filter, nothing is recognisable at this point. With O-III, at most the faint hint of a faint nebula can be guessed at with indirect vision. The nebula is much too faint to be able to recognise details. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Ibergeregg, SQM 21.2, 26. 11. 2022, Bernd Nies

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
310«A Catalogue of H II Regions» Stewart Sharpless, US Naval Observatory, 1959; DOI:10.1086/190049; Bibcode:1959ApJS....4..257S
402«Second list of diffuse nebulae» Gaze, V. F. ; Shajn, G. A.; Izv. Krym. Astrofiz. Obs., Vol. 7, p. 93-98 (1951); Bibcode:1951IzKry...7...93G
403«Radio Emission from a Number of Possible Supernovae Remnants» Hogg, D. E.; Astrophysical Journal, vol. 144, p.819, 1966; Bibcode:1966ApJ...144..819H
404«The nature of the nebulae A21 (YM 29) and Simeiz 22» Arkhipova, V. P. ; Lozinskaya, T. A.; Soviet Astronomy Letters, vol. 4, Jan.-Feb. 1978, p. 7-10; Bibcode:1978SvAL....4....7A
405«The shaping of planetary nebula Sh 2–188 through interaction with the interstellar medium» C. J. Wareing, T. J. O'Brien, Albert A. Zijlstra, K. B. Kwitter, J. Irwin, N. Wright, R. Greimel, J. E. Drew; Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, Volume 366, Issue 2, February 2006, Pages 387–396; DOI:10.1111/j.1365-2966.2005.09875.x

Planetarischer Nebel Simeis 22

Simeis 22
Simeis 22: Planetarischer Nebel in Cassiopeia. Norden ist links; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 179+3*60 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Der Emissionsnebel Simeis 22 (Sim 22, S 22) wurde Anfangs der 1950er Jahre von den russischen Astronomen Grigory Abramovich Shajn und Vera Fedorovna Gaze am Simeis Observatorium auf der Halbinsel Krim entdeckt. [402] Unabhängig von dieser Entdeckung stiess der amerikanische Astronom Stewart Sharpless bei der Durchsuchung der mit dem 48" Schmidt-Teleskop gefertigten Fotoplatten des «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey» auf denselben Emissionsnebel und veröffentlichte ihn 1959 als Sh 2-188 zusammen mit insgesamt 313 H-II Regionen in einem Katalog. [310]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Simeis 22 zeigt Ähnlichkeiten mit dem Medusanebel (Abell 21) und wurde aufgrund seiner Grösse und filamentartigen Struktur erst für den Überrest einer Supernova gehalten. Untersuchungen mit dem 300 Fuss Radioteleskop in Green Bank, West Virginia ergaben 1966, dass der Nebel Radiostrahlung thermischen Ursprungs ausstrahlt, was für Supernova-Überreste untypisch ist. [403] Spektroskopische Untersuchungen ergaben, dass sich der Nebel mit einer mittleren Radialgeschwindigkeit von -26 km/s ± 10 km/s auf uns zubewegt, die äussere Hülle mit einer Geschwindigkeit von etwa 35 km/s und einzelne Filamente mit 60-65 km/s expandieren. Dies ist etwa ein bis zwei Zehnerpotenzen zu niedrig und untypisch für Supernovae. [404] Es handelt sich bei Simeis 22 um einen planetarischen Nebel mit einem geschätzten Alter von 22'500 ± 2500 Jahren. Die asymmetrische Form wurde durch Interkation mit interstellarem Medium verursacht. Der Nebel befindet sich in einer Entfernung von 850+500−420 pc und besitzt einen Durchmesser von etwa 2.5 pc. [405]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G128.0-04.1: Simeiz 22, PK , Sh 2-188
Rektaszension (J2000.0)01h 30m 40s
Deklination (J2000.0)+58° 22' 01"
Abmessungen 340." (optisch)
Radialgeschwindigkeit-26. km/s ± 10. km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 40. km/s (O-III)
Z-Stern Magnitude16.43 mag (U filter), 17.43 mag (B filter), 17.44 mag (V filter)
EntdeckerSHARPLESS 1959

Auffindkarte

Der planetarische Nebel Simeis 22 befindet sich im Sternbild Cassiopeia, etwa 22 Bogenminuten westlich vom 5.7 mag hellen Stern HR 439. Das Sternbild ist in Mitteleuropa zirkumpolar, doch die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Juli bis Januar, wenn es nachts am höchsten steht.

Karte Planetarischer Nebel Simeis 22
Planetarischer Nebel Simeis 22 im Sternbild Cassiopeia. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

400 mm Öffnung: Die Position des Nebels ist anhand der Umgebungssterne eindeutig identifizierbar. Ohne Filter ist an der Stelle nichts erkennbar. Mit O-III lässt sich mit indirekter Sicht höchstens der unscharfe Hauch eines schwachen Nebels erahnen. Um Details erkennen zu können, ist der Nebel viel zu lichtschwach. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Ibergeregg, SQM 21.2, 26. 11. 2022, Bernd Nies

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
310«A Catalogue of H II Regions» Stewart Sharpless, US Naval Observatory, 1959; DOI:10.1086/190049; Bibcode:1959ApJS....4..257S
402«Second list of diffuse nebulae» Gaze, V. F. ; Shajn, G. A.; Izv. Krym. Astrofiz. Obs., Vol. 7, p. 93-98 (1951); Bibcode:1951IzKry...7...93G
403«Radio Emission from a Number of Possible Supernovae Remnants» Hogg, D. E.; Astrophysical Journal, vol. 144, p.819, 1966; Bibcode:1966ApJ...144..819H
404«The nature of the nebulae A21 (YM 29) and Simeiz 22» Arkhipova, V. P. ; Lozinskaya, T. A.; Soviet Astronomy Letters, vol. 4, Jan.-Feb. 1978, p. 7-10; Bibcode:1978SvAL....4....7A
405«The shaping of planetary nebula Sh 2–188 through interaction with the interstellar medium» C. J. Wareing, T. J. O'Brien, Albert A. Zijlstra, K. B. Kwitter, J. Irwin, N. Wright, R. Greimel, J. E. Drew; Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, Volume 366, Issue 2, February 2006, Pages 387–396; DOI:10.1111/j.1365-2966.2005.09875.x