Open Cluster NGC 225

NGC 225
NGC 225: Section of DSS2. Here could be your picture. [147]

History

On 27 September 1783 Caroline Herschel discovered the open clusters NGC 225 along with NGC 189 using her 4.2-inch comet-seeker reflector. She described it as follows: «about 2° from Gamma Cas, making an isosceles triangle with Gamma and Kappa, a small cluster of stars, seeming to be intermixed with nebulosity.» [364]

William Herschel first observed the cluster on 12 March 1784, recorded it as VIII 78 and noted: «A cluster of very coarsely scattered large stars. Take up 15 or 20. Caroline Herschel discovered it 1784. [464]

In 1962 the American astronomer Beverly T. Lynds published her «Catalogue of Dark Nebulae» that she found on the blue and red photo plates of the «National Geographic Palomar Observatory Sky Atlas». She identified several patches of dark nebulosity around cluster NGC 225. [473] In 1965 she published then her catalog of bright nebulae where she identified a small H II region with LBN 604. [270]

In 1966 the Canadian astronomer Sidney van den Bergh published his «Catalogue of Reflection Nebulae», which wa based on a survey on the photographic plates of the «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey». There he identified the reflection nebula vdB 4 with strong absorption around the star BD +61°154 (V594 Cas), but with the identification he was uncertain. [255]

Physical Properties

NGC 225 is a small loose open cluster with an estimated age of 130 million years. [138] It is embedded in some molecular dark clouds that partially reflect the light of cluster stars, which can be seen on photographs with very long exposure.

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Designation NGC 225
Type OCL (III1p)
Right Ascension (J2000.0) 00h 43m 36.0s
Declination (J2000.0) +61° 46' 00"
Diameter 15 arcmin
Visual magnitude 7.0 mag
Metric Distance 0.657 kpc
Identification, Remarks WH VIII 78; h 52; GC 120; OCL 305

Finder Chart

The open cluster NGC 225 is located in the constellation Cassiopeia and is on 4 October in opposition to the Sun. From Switzerland it can best be seen in the months July to January.

Finder Chart Open Cluster NGC 225
Open Cluster NGC 225 in constellation Cassiopeia. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objects Within a Radius of 15°

References

Offener Sternhaufen NGC 225

NGC 225
NGC 225: Ausschnitt aus dem DSS2. Hier könnte Dein Bild stehen. [147]

Geschichte

Am 27. September 1783 entdeckte Caroline Herschel die offenen Sternhaufen NGC 225 zusammen mit NGC 189 mit ihrem 4.2-Zoll Kometsucher-Reflektor. Sie beschrieb ihn folgendermaßen: «etwa 2° von Gamma Cas entfernt, bildet ein gleichschenkliges Dreieck mit Gamma und Kappa, ein kleiner Sternhaufen, der anscheinend mit Nebulosität durchmischt ist.» [364]

Wilhelm Herschel beobachtete den Sternhaufen erstmals am 12. März 1784, erfasste ihn als VIII 78 und notierte: «Ein Haufen sehr grob verstreuter großer Sterne. Erfasst 15 oder 20. Caroline Herschel entdeckte ihn 1784.» [464]

Im Jahr 1962 veröffentlichte die amerikanische Astronomin Beverly T. Lynds ihren «Catalogue of Dark Nebulae», den sie auf den blauen und roten Fotoplatten des «National Geographic Palomar Observatory Sky Atlas» fand. Sie identifizierte mehrere Dunkelnebel um den Sternhaufen NGC 225. 1965 veröffentlichte sie dann ihren Katalog heller Nebel, in dem sie eine kleine H-II-Region mit LBN 604 identifizierte. [270]

Im Jahr 1966 veröffentlichte der kanadische Astronom Sidney van den Bergh seinen «Catalogue of Reflection Nebulae», der auf einer Untersuchung der fotografischen Platten des «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey» basierte. Dort identifizierte er die Reflexionsnebel vdB 4 mit starker Absorption um den Stern BD +61°154 (V594 Cas), aber er war sich seiner Identifizierung nicht sicher. [255]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Bezeichnung NGC 225
Typ OCL (III1p)
Rektaszension (J2000.0) 00h 43m 36.0s
Deklination (J2000.0) +61° 46' 00"
Durchmesser 15 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit 7.0 mag
Metrische Entfernung 0.657 kpc
Identifikation, Anmerkungen WH VIII 78; h 52; GC 120; OCL 305

Auffindkarte

Der offene Sternhaufen NGC 225 befindet sich im Sternbild Cassiopeia und steht am 4. Oktober in Opposition zur Sonne. Von der Schweiz aus ist er am besten in den Monaten Juli bis Januar zu sehen.

Auffindkarte Offener Sternhaufen NGC 225
Offener Sternhaufen NGC 225 im Sternbild Cassiopeia. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objekte innerhalb eines Radius von 15°

Quellenangaben