Open Cluster NGC 654

NGC 654
NGC 654: Open Cluster NGC 654 with reflection nebula vdB 6 and dark nebulae LDN 1332, LDN 1334, LDN 1337. Section of DSS2 [147]

History

The open cluster NGC 654 was discovered by William Herschel on 3 November 1787 and listed as VII 46. He noted: «A small cluster of pretty large stars, pretty rich.» [464] John Herschel described listed the cluster as h 145 and noted on 5 October 1829: "A fine rich cluster; stars 11...14m; 3' dia; irreg fig; place that of the most compressed part; one star 6.7 mag, south-following the center, is ruddy.» [466]

In 1962 Beverly T. Lynds published her «Catalogue of Dark Nebulae» that she found on photo plates of the «National Geographic Palomar Observatory Sky Atlas». She identified a dark elongated cloud north of the cluster and assigned the designations LDN 1332, LDN 1334 and LDN 1337 to the densest patches. [473]

In 1966 the Canadian astronomer Sidney van den Bergh identified the reflection nebula vdB 6 around star BD +61°315. [255]

Physical Properties

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Designation NGC 654
Type OCL (II3m)
Right Ascension (J2000.0) 01h 43m 59.4s
Declination (J2000.0) +61° 52' 58"
Diameter 6 arcmin
Visual magnitude 6.5 mag
Metric Distance 2.041 kpc
Dreyer Description Cl, iF, Ri, one * 6·7, st 11…14
Identification, Remarks WH VII 46; h 145; GC 387; OCL 330

Finder Chart

The open cluster NGC 654 is located in the constellation Cassiopeia, roughly 1° north of NGC 663. It is on 20 October in opposition to the Sun. From Switzerland they can best be seen in the months July to January.

Finder Chart Open Cluster NGC 654
Open Cluster NGC 654 in constellation Cassiopeia. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objects Within a Radius of 15°

References

Offener Sternhaufen NGC 654

NGC 654
NGC 654: Offener Sternhaufen NGC 654 mit Reflexionsnebel vdB 6 und Dunkelwolken LDN 1332, LDN 1334, LDN 1337. Ausschnitt aus DSS2 [147]

Geschichte

Der offene Sternhaufen NGC 654 wurde am 3. November 1787 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt und als VII 46 gelistet. Er bemerkte: «Ein kleiner Haufen ziemlich großer Sterne, ziemlich reich.» [464] John Herschel beschrieb den Haufen als h 145 und bemerkte am 5. Oktober 1829: «Ein schöner, reicher Haufen; Sterne 11...14m; 3' Durchmesser; unregelmäßige Figur; Platzierung im komprimiertesten Teil; ein Stern 6,7 mag, südlich vom Zentrum, ist rötlich.» [466]

1962 veröffentlichte Beverly T. Lynds ihren «Catalogue of Dark Nebulae», den sie auf Fotoplatten des «National Geographic Palomar Observatory Sky Atlas» fand. Sie identifizierte eine dunkle, längliche Wolke nördlich des Haufens und wies den dichtesten Bereichen die Bezeichnungen LDN 1332, LDN 1334 und LDN 1337 zu. [473]

1966 identifizierte der kanadische Astronom Sidney van den Bergh den Reflexionsnebel vdB 6 um den Stern BD +61°315. [255]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Bezeichnung NGC 654
Typ OCL (II3m)
Rektaszension (J2000.0) 01h 43m 59.4s
Deklination (J2000.0) +61° 52' 58"
Durchmesser 6 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit 6.5 mag
Metrische Entfernung 2.041 kpc
Dreyer Beschreibung Cl, iF, Ri, one * 6·7, st 11…14
Identifikation, Anmerkungen WH VII 46; h 145; GC 387; OCL 330

Auffindkarte

Der offene Sternhaufen NGC 654 befindet sich im Sternbild Cassiopeia, rund 1° nördlich von NGC 663. Er steht in 20. Oktober in Opposition zur Sonne. Von der Schweiz aus ist er am besten in den Monaten Juli bis Januar zu sehen.

Auffindkarte Offener Sternhaufen NGC 654
Offener Sternhaufen NGC 654 im Sternbild Cassiopeia. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objekte innerhalb eines Radius von 15°

Quellenangaben