Galactic Nebula MWC 137

MWC 137
MWC 137: B[e] Star with nebula; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625mm / f7.2; SBIG STL11K; 50+3*25 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

History

The designation MWC 137 refers to the «Mount Wilson Catalog» [388] published in 1933, a catalog of class O, B and A stars with bright hydrogen lines. Stewart Sharpless recorded the nebula around the star V1308 Orionis under the designation Sh2-266 in his catalog of H-II regions published in 1959 and described it as elliptical, amorphous to fibrous and very bright. [310] The nebula was originally thought to be a planetary nebula in 1967 by the two Czech astronomers Luboš Perek and Luboš Kohoutek, which is why it was named PK 195-0.1. In the version from 2000 it is finally listed as an incorrectly classified PN. [146]

Physical Properties

MWC 137
MWC 137: Section of PanSTARRS DR1 [147]

MWC 137 belongs to the group of galactic B[e] stars, is surrounded by the nebula Sh2-266 and is located in the center of a star cluster at a distance of 5.2 ± 1.4 kpc. The age of this star cluster is estimated to be more than three million years. The evolutionary status of MWC 137 has been debated for a long time. Suggestions ranged from pre-main series to post-main series. With the discovery of a hot, circumstellar disc of CO emissions, a preliminary stage of the main series could be ruled out. With a mass of 10-15 solar masses, the star has moved far away from the main sequence. In 2016, a multi-node jet was discovered moving away from MWC 137 at high speed. Estimates of the age of these nodes indicated that they are much more recent than the large area nebula. The position angle of the jet is with the polarization angle and at right angles to the rotating, circumstellar disk. The large-area Hα structure could be a ring nebula that was created by the interaction of stellar winds with the interstellar medium, or it could also be a B[e] supergiant that changes to a blue supergiant with a bipolar ring. Research showed, however, that MWC 137 alone could not create the geometric structure of the nebula. [389]

Further infos at CDS: MWC 137

Data for MWC 138 [145]
Designations MWC 138, V1308 Orionis, Sh2-266, PK 195-0.1
ICRS Coordinates 06h 18m 45.5s +15° 16' 52.2"
Type Herbig Ae/Be Star
Spektral Type sgB[e]d
Magnitudes U 12.89, B 13.3, V 13.759, g 12.8, R 11.67, r 11.09, i 10.6, I 10.31, J 8.762, H 7.84, K 6.623
Diameter 1.117'

Finder Chart

MWC 137 is located in the constellation Orion. The best time to observe is July to January, when the circumpolar constellation is highest.

Chart MWC 137
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
146«Version 2000 of the Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» L. Kohoutek, A&A Volume 378, Number 3, November II 2001; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361:20011162
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
310«A Catalogue of H II Regions» Stewart Sharpless, US Naval Observatory, 1959; DOI:10.1086/190049; Bibcode:1959ApJS....4..257S
388«Catalogue and Bibliography of Stars of Classes B and A whose Spectra have Bright Hydrogen Lines» Merrill, Paul W.; Burwell, Cora G.; Astrophysical Journal, vol. 78, p.87, September 1933; DOI:10.1086/143490
389«Resolving the Circumstellar Environment of the Galactic B[e] Supergiant Star MWC 137 from Large to Small Scales» Michaela Kraus, Tiina Liimets, Cristina E. Cappa, Lydia S. Cidale, Dieter H. Nickeler, Nicolas U. Duronea, Maria L. Arias, Diah S. Gunawan, Mary E. Oksala, Marcelo Borges Fernandes, Grigoris Maravelias, Michel Curé, and Miguel Santander-García; Published 2017 October 20; The Astronomical Journal, Volume 154, Number 5; DOI:10.3847/1538-3881/aa8df6

Galaktischer Nebel MWC 137

MWC 137
MWC 137: B[e] Stern mit Nebel; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625mm / f7.2; SBIG STL11K; 50+3*25 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Die Bezeichnung MWC 137 bezieht sich auf den 1933 erschienenen «Mount Wilson Catalogue» [388], einem Katalog von Klasse O, B und A Sternen mit hellen Wasserstoff-Linien. Stewart Sharpless nahm den Nebel um den Stern V1308 Orionis unter der Bezeichnung Sh2-266 in seinen 1959 erschienenen Katalog von H-II Regionen auf und beschrieb ihn als elliptisch, amorph bis faserartig und sehr hell. [310] Der Nebel wurde 1967 von den beiden tschechischen Astronomen Luboš Perek und Luboš Kohoutek ursprünglich für einen planetarischen Nebel gehalten, weshalb er die Bezeichnung PK 195-0.1 erhielt. In der Fassung von 2000 [146] ist er schliesslich als falsch klassifizierter PN aufgeführt.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

MWC 137
MWC 137: Ausschnitt aus PanSTARRS DR1 [147]

MWC 137 gehört zu der Gruppe von galaktischen B[e] Sternen, ist umgeben vom Nebel Sh2-266 und befindet sich im Zentrum von einem Sternhaufen in einer Entfernung von 5.2 ± 1.4 kpc. Das Alter dieses Sternhaufens wird auf mehr als drei Millionen Jahre geschätzt. Der evolutionäre Stand von MWC 137 wurde lange debattiert. Vorschläge reichten von Prä-Hauptreihe bis Post-Hauptreihe. Mit der Entdeckung einer heissen, zirkumstellaren Scheibe von CO-Emissionen konnte ein Vorstadium der Hauptreihen ausgeschlossen werden. Mit einer Masse von 10-15 Sonnenmassen hat sich der Stern weit von der Hauptreihe wegbewegt. 2016 wurde ein Jet mit mehreren einzelnen Knoten entdeckt, der sich mit hoher Geschwindigkeit von MWC 137 wegbewegt. Schätzungen des Alters dieser Knoten zeigten, dass diese wesentlich jüngeren Datums als der grossflächige Nebel sind. Der Positionswinkel des Jets ist mit dem Polarisationswinkel und rechtwinklig zur rotierenden, zirkumstellaren Scheibe. Bei der grossflächigen Hα-Struktur könnte es sich um einen Ringnebel handeln, der durch die Interaktion stellarer Winde mit dem interstellaren Medium entstand oder aber auch um einen B[e] Überriesen, der sich zu einem blauen Überriesen mit einem bipolaren Ring wandelt. Untersuchungen zeigten jedoch, dass MWC 137 allein nicht die geometrische Struktur des Nebels erschaffen konnte. [389]

Weitere Infos bei CDS: MWC 137

Daten für MWC 138 [145]
Bezeichnungen MWC 138, V1308 Orionis, Sh2-266, PK 195-0.1
ICRS Koordinaten 06h 18m 45.5s +15° 16' 52.2"
Typ Herbig Ae/Be Stern
Spektraltyp sgB[e]d
Magnituden U 12.89, B 13.3, V 13.759, g 12.8, R 11.67, r 11.09, i 10.6, I 10.31, J 8.762, H 7.84, K 6.623
Durchmesser 1.117'

Auffindkarte

MWC 137 befindet sich im Sternbild Orion. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Juli bis Januar, wenn das zirkumpolare Sternbild am höchsten steht.

Karte MWC 137
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
146«Version 2000 of the Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» L. Kohoutek, A&A Volume 378, Number 3, November II 2001; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361:20011162
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
310«A Catalogue of H II Regions» Stewart Sharpless, US Naval Observatory, 1959; DOI:10.1086/190049; Bibcode:1959ApJS....4..257S
388«Catalogue and Bibliography of Stars of Classes B and A whose Spectra have Bright Hydrogen Lines» Merrill, Paul W.; Burwell, Cora G.; Astrophysical Journal, vol. 78, p.87, September 1933; DOI:10.1086/143490
389«Resolving the Circumstellar Environment of the Galactic B[e] Supergiant Star MWC 137 from Large to Small Scales» Michaela Kraus, Tiina Liimets, Cristina E. Cappa, Lydia S. Cidale, Dieter H. Nickeler, Nicolas U. Duronea, Maria L. Arias, Diah S. Gunawan, Mary E. Oksala, Marcelo Borges Fernandes, Grigoris Maravelias, Michel Curé, and Miguel Santander-García; Published 2017 October 20; The Astronomical Journal, Volume 154, Number 5; DOI:10.3847/1538-3881/aa8df6