Cocoon Nebula (IC 5146)

History

IC 5146 was discovered on 28 July 1894 by the German astronomer Max Wolf. It is an open star cluster, involved in a large galactic nebula consisting of emission nebulae, reflection nebulae and dark nebulae. The designation IC 5146 applies to the star cluster including the nebula. The nebula is also known as Sharpless 125 (Sh2-125) and the star cluster as Collinder 470. It was nicknamed Cocoon Nebula because of its appearance, which resembles a glowing insect cocoon in a dark cloud.

IC 5146, B 168
IC 5146, B 168: Cluster with nebula IC 5146 and dark cloud Barnard 168; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher
IC 5146
IC 5146: Cluster with nebula IC 5146 and dark cloud Barnard 168; Meade Schmidt-Newton 254mm f/4; Canon EOS 20Da; ISO 1600; 16 x 362s; Obwalden; © 14. 7. 2007 Eduard von Bergen
IC 5146
IC 5146: Cluster with nebula IC 5146 and dark cloud Barnard 168; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 30+10+10+10 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2005 Radek Chromik
IC 5146
IC 5146: Cluster with nebula IC 5146 and dark cloud Barnard 168; Takahashi Mewlon 250 CR (2500 mm f/10), SBIG STL 11k; 20L x 1200sec 1×1, 13R, 12G, 14B 2×2 x 1200sec; Bernese Highlands; © 28.9. – 6.10. 2016 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Vogel

Physical Properties

The star cluster with the bright part of the nebula has an angular diameter of about twelve arc minutes. Distance measurements are quite inaccurate. They range from around 2500 to 6400 light years. The star cluster consists of two compact groups that orbit massive, bright stars. The brightest of these is a main sequence star of the spectral type B0 and is primarily responsible for the fact that the nebula shines. It is believed that the bright part of the nebula originated around 100'000 years ago. The two to three hundred hot, bright, young stars in the area, however, have an average age of around one million years, which suggests that star formation took place here in several episodes, which continues to this day. The blue areas of the nebula are caused by the reflection of the starlight on dust grains, while the reddish regions are caused by ionized hydrogen (mainly Hα), caused by the star's non-violet radiation.

IC 5146
IC 5146: Image taken with the ESA Herschel space telescope in infrared light at 500 µm, 250 µm and 70 µm [300]

Around the light nebula lies the end of a dark nebula that extends far to the west Barnard 168 which makes it stand out clearly against the starry background of the Milky Way. The dark nebula appears on the infrared image of the ESA Herschel telescope in Fig. 4 brightly. Over 350 compact, starless knots have been discovered in the filaments of the dark nebula. About 45 of these are candidates for future star formation. [145, 196, 300]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
DesignationIC 5146
TypeEN+OCL
Right Ascension21h 53m 24.0s
Declination+47° 16' 00"
Diameter10 × 10 arcmin
Metric Distance0.780 kpc
Dreyer DescriptionpB, vL, iF, * 9.5 in M
Identification, RemarksOCL 213, LBN 424, Cocoon nebula

Finder Chart

IC 5146 is located in the constellation Cygnus (Swan) towards Lacerta (Lizard). The best observation time is April to November. If you connect the imaginary line from α Lacertae (3.8 mag) - 4 Lacertae (4.6 mag) - ρ Cygni (3.9 mag), then IC 5146 lies on it approximately at the level of π Cygni (4.2 mag).

Chart Cocoon Nebula (IC 5146)
Cocoon Nebula (IC 5146) in constellation Cygnus. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
300HERSCHEL IMAGE OF IC 5146; sci.esa.int/web/herschel/-/48624-herschel-image-of-ic-5146 (2021-03-31)

Kokon-Nebel (IC 5146)

IC 5146, B 168
IC 5146, B 168: Sternhaufen mit Nebel IC 5146 und Dunkelwolke Barnard 168; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher [33]
IC 5146
IC 5146: Sternhaufen mit Nebel IC 5146 und Dunkelwolke Barnard 168; Takahashi Mewlon 250 CR (2500 mm f/10), SBIG STL 11k; 20L x 1200sec 1×1, 13R, 12G, 14B 2×2 x 1200sec; Berner Oberland; © 28.9. – 6.10. 2016 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Vogel [32]
IC 5146
IC 5146: Kokon-Nebel mit Dunkelwolke Barnard 168; Takahashi FSQ-106 EDX f=530 mm; Canon EOS 60Da; 15 x 8 min, ISO 800; Gurnigel; © 20. 10. 2012 Jonas Schenker [34]
IC 5146
IC 5146: Sternhaufen mit Nebel IC 5146 und Dunkelwolke Barnard 168; Meade Schmidt-Newton 254mm f/4; Canon EOS 20Da; ISO 1600; 16 x 362s; Obwalden; © 14. 7. 2007 Eduard von Bergen [30]
IC 5146
IC 5146: Sternhaufen mit Nebel IC 5146 und Dunkelwolke Barnard 168; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 30+10+10+10 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2005 Radek Chromik [32]

Geschichte

IC 5146 wurde am 28. Juli 1894 vom deutschen Astronomen Max Wolf entdeckt. Es handelt sich hier um einen offen Sternhaufen, eingehüllt in einen großen galaktischen Nebel bestehend aus Emissionsnebeln, Reflexionsnebeln und Dunkelnebeln. Die Bezeichnung IC 5146 gilt für den Sternhaufen inklusive Nebel. Der Nebel ist auch als Sharpless 125 (Sh2-125) und der Sternhaufen als Collinder 470 bekannt. Den Spitznamen Kokon-Nebel (engl. Cocoon Nebula) erhielt er aufgrund seines Aussehens, der einem leuchtenden Insekten-Kokon in einer Dunkelwolke gleicht.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Der Sternhaufen mit dem hellen Teil des Nebels hat einen Winkeldurchmesser von etwa zwölf Bogenminuten. Entfernungsmessungen sind recht ungenau. Sie reichen von etwa 2500 bis 6400 Lichtjahre. Der Sternhaufen besteht aus zwei kompakten Gruppen, welche massereiche, helle Sterne umrunden. Der hellste davon ist ein Hauptreihen-Stern des Spektraltyps B0 und primär dafür verantwortlich, dass der Nebel leuchtet. Es wird vermutet, dass der helle Teil des Nebels vor etwa 100'000 Jahren entstand. Die zwei- bis dreihundert heiße, helle, junge Sterne in der Gegend weisen jedoch ein durchschnittliches Alter von etwa einer Million Jahre, was darauf schließen lässt, dass hier in mehreren Episoden Sternentstehung vonstatten ging, welche sich bis zum heutigen Tag fortsetzt. Die blauen Bereiche des Nebels werden durch Reflexion des Sternenlichtes an Staubkörnern verursacht, während die rötlichen Regionen von ionisiertem Wasserstoff stammen (hauptsächlich Hα), verursacht durch die untraviolette Strahlung des Sterns.

IC 5146
IC 5146: Aufnahme mit dem ESA Herschel Weltraumteleskop im Infrarotlicht bei 500 µm, 250 µm und 70 µm [300]

Um den hellen Nebel herum liegt das Ende eines sich weit nach Westen erstreckenden Dunkelnebels Barnard 168 welcher diesen vor dem sternenreichen Milchstraßen-Hintergrund deutlich hervortreten lässt. Der Dunkelnebel tritt auf der Infrarotaufahme des ESA Herschel-Teleskops in Abb. 4 hell hervor. Über 350 kompakte, sternenlose Knoten wurden in den Filamenten des Dunkelnebel entdeckt. Etwa 45 davon sind Kandidaten für künftige Sternentstehung. [145, 196, 300]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Bezeichnung IC 5146
Typ EN+OCL
Rektaszension (J2000.0) 21h 53m 24.0s
Deklination (J2000.0) +47° 16' 00"
Durchmesser 10 × 10 arcmin
Metrische Entfernung 0.780 kpc
Dreyer Beschreibung pB, vL, iF, * 9.5 in M
Identifikation, Anmerkungen OCL 213, LBN 424, Cocoon nebula

Auffindkarte

IC 5146 befindet sich im Sternbild Cygnus in Richtung Lacerta (Eidechse). Die beste Beobachtungszeit is April bis November. Verbindet man die gedachte Linie von α Lacertae (3.8 mag) — 4 Lacertae (4.6 mag) — ρ Cygni (3.9 mag), so liegt IC 5146 darauf etwa auf der Höhe von π Cygni (4.2 mag).

Auffindkarte Kokon-Nebel (IC 5146)
Kokon-Nebel (IC 5146) im Sternbild Cygnus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben