Owl Nebula (M 97) + Galaxy M 108

Messier 97
Messier 97: Owl Nebula in Ursa Major; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 100+20+20+20 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2005 Radek Chromik [32]
M 97 + M 108
M 97 + M 108: Owl Nebula M 97 and Galaxy M 108 Ursa Major; 10" Meade Schmidt-Newton, Canon EOS 20Da; 75 min, ISO 1600; Oberes Schlierental, Obwalden; © 2007 Eduard von Bergen [30]

Owl Nebula M 97

This planetary nebula was discovered on 16 February 1787 by the French astronomer Pierre Méchain. He was a younger colleague and close friend of Charles Messier. [196] The name «Owl Nebula» goes back to the Irish astronomer William Parsons, the 3rd Earl of Rosse (mostly just called «Lord Rosse»), who observed the nebula in 1848 and made the cute drawing shown in Fig. 2. According to him, both stars had been visible in the owl's eyes until March 1850, but then one faded and was no longer seen. [4]

Messier 97
Messier 97: Drawing, Lord Rosse, 1848 [217]

M 97 is one of the more complex planetary nebulae. The appearance is interpreted by an obliquely viewed torus, whose material-poor eyes correspond to the eyes of the owl. This shell is surrounded by a weaker nebula with less ionization. The mass of the nebula is estimated to be about 0.15 solar masses. The 16 mag bright central star probably has 0.7 solar masses. The age of the planetary nebula is estimated to be around 6000 years. [17]

The distances given are very imprecise and range from 1300 to 12'000 light years. A latest measurement by Gaia DR2 in 2018 indicates a distance of 879 parsecs (2867 light years). [145]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
Designations PN G148.4+57.0: NGC 3587, PK 148+57.1, ARO 25, M 97, VV 59, VV'107
Right Ascension (J2000.0) 11h 14m 46s
Declination (J2000.0) +55° 00' 59"
Dimensions 170." (optical), 170." (radio)
Distance 0.5 kpc
Radial Velocity +6.0 ± 3.1 km/s
Expansion Velocity 29.0 (O-III) 40. (N-II) km/s
C-Star Designations AG82 135
C-Star Magnitude U: 14.36, B: 15.66, V: 16.01
Discoverer LORD ROSSE 1850

Next to the Owl Nebula, just 19 arc minutes away, lies the star FI Ursae Majoris. It is a variable star of the δ Scuti type. Its brightness is 6.64 mag in the V-band and it pulsates around 0.007 mag with a period of 0.0400 days (57.4 minutes). [228]

Galaxy M 108

Messier 108
Messier 108: Galaxy in Ursa Major; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 60+20+20+20 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik [32]

This galaxy was discovered by Pierre Méchain on 19 February 1781, and it was rediscovered by Charles Messier on March 24 of the same year. Both indicated the position relative to the planetary nebula M 97. Messier marked it as 98 in a preliminary manuscript of his catalog, but failed to measure the exact location before publishing his catalog. He added a handwritten note to his personal copy, which is why Owen Gingerich did not identify the galaxy as NGC 3556 until 1953 and added it to the Messier catalog as number 108. [196]

M 108 is a spiral galaxy of the Sc type, which we can see almost from the side. It shows no or only a very slight bulge and no noticeable center, but mainly dust bands. The distance is estimated to be around 40 to 50 million light years. M 108 belongs to a loose group to which M 109 and probably also M 106 belong. [233]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Designation NGC 3556
Type Gx (Sc)
Right Ascension (J2000.0) 11h 11m 29.4s
Declination (J2000.0) +55° 40' 22"
Diameter 8.6 × 2.4 arcmin
Photographic (blue) magnitude 10.7 mag
Visual magnitude 10.0 mag
Surface brightness 13.1 mag·arcmin-2
Position Angle 80°
Redshift (z) 0.002332
Distance derived from z 9.85 Mpc
Metric Distance 14.320 Mpc
Identification, Remarks WH V 46; h 831; GC 2318; M 108; UGC 6225; MCG 9-18-98; IRAS 11085+5556; CGCG 267-48; CGCG 268-1; KARA 469

Finder Chart

The odd couple is very easy to find. It is located slightly below the second third between the two drawbar stars Phecda (γ Ursae Majoris) and Merak (β Ursae Majoris) of the Big Dipper. It is circumpolar, but the best time to watch it is November to July. Then the constellation is highest in the sky at night. In a large field eyepiece with low magnification and at least 1 ° field of view, both should be visible at the same time.

Finder Chart Owl Nebula (M 97) + Galaxy M 108
Owl Nebula (M 97) + Galaxy M 108 in constellation Ursa Maior. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objects Within a Radius of 15°

References

Eulennebel (M 97) + Galaxie Messier 108

Messier 97
Messier 97: Eulennebel in Ursa Major; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 100+20+20+20 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2005 Radek Chromik

Eulennebel M 97

Dieser planetarische Nebel wurde am 16. Februar 1787 vom französischen Astronomen Pierre Méchain entdeckt. Er war ein jüngerer Kollege und enger Freund von Charles Messier. [196] Der Name "Eulennebel" geht auf den irischen Astronomen William Parsons, dem 3. Earl of Rosse zurück (meist nur "Lord Rosse" genannt), welcher 1848 den Nebel beobachtete und die in Abb. 2 gezeigte niedliche Zeichnung anfertigte. [217] Seinen Angaben zufolge waren beide Sterne in den Eulenaugen bis März 1850 sichtbar gewesen, doch dann verblasste einer und ward nicht mehr gesehen. [4]

Messier 97
Messier 97: Zeichnung, Lord Rosse, 1848 [217]

M 97 ist einer der komplexeren planetarischen Nebel. Das Aussehen wird durch einen schräg betrachteten Torus interpretiert, dessen materiearmen Augen die Augen der Eule entsprechen. Diese Hülle ist von einem schwächeren Nebel mit geringerer Ionisation umgeben. Die Masse des Nebels wird auf etwa 0.15 Sonnenmassen geschätzt. Der 16 mag helle Zentralstern hat vermutlich 0.7 Sonnenmassen. Das Alter des planetarischen Nebels wird auf etwa 6000 Jahre geschätzt. [17]

Die Entfernungsangaben sind sehr ungenau und reichen von 1300 bis 12'000 Lichtjahren. Einer neusten Messung von Gaia DR2 im Jahre 2018 gibt eine Distanz von 879 Parsec (2867 Lichtjahre) an. [145]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G148.4+57.0: NGC 3587, PK 148+57.1, ARO 25, M 97, VV 59, VV'107
Rektaszension (J2000.0)11h 14m 46s
Deklination (J2000.0)+55° 00' 59"
Abmessungen 170." (optisch), 170." (radio)
Entfernung 0.5 kpc
Radialgeschwindigkeit+6.0 km/s ± 3.1 km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 29.0 km/s (O-III), 40. km/s (N-II)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG82 135
Z-Stern Magnitude14.36 mag (U filter), 15.66 mag (B filter), 16.01 mag (V filter)
EntdeckerLORD ROSSE 1850
M 97 + M 108
M 97 + M 108: Eulennebel M 97 und Galaxie M 108 Ursa Major; 10" Meade Schmidt-Newton, Canon EOS 20Da; 75 min, ISO 1600; Oberes Schlierental, Obwalden; © 2007 Eduard von Bergen

Neben dem Eulennebel nur knapp 19 Bogenminuten entfernt liegt der Stern FI Ursae Majoris. Es handelt sich hier um einen veränderlichen Stern des δ Scuti Typs. Seine Helligkeit beträgt im V-Band 6.64 mag und er pulsiert mit einer Periode von 0.0400 Tagen (57.4 Minuten) um 0.007 mag. [228]

Galaxie M 108

Messier 108
Messier 108: Galaxie in Ursa Major; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 60+20+20+20 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Diese Galaxie wurde am 19. Februar 1781 von Pierre Méchain entdeckt und am 24. März desselben Jahres wurde sie von Charles Messier nochmals entdeckt. Beide gaben die Position relativ zum planetarischen Nebel M 97 an. Messier markierte sie als 98 in einem vorläufigen Manuskript seines Kataloges, doch unterliess es, die genaue Position zu vermessen, bevor er seinen Katalog veröffentlichte. Er fügte eine handschriftliche Notiz zu seiner persönlichen Ausgabe hinzu, weshalb Owen Gingerich die Galaxie erst 1953 als NGC 3556 identifizierte und als Nummer 108 dem Messier-Katalog hinzufügte. [196]

Bei M 108 handelt es sich um eine Spiralgalaxie des Typs Sc, welche wir fast von der Seite her sehen. Sie zeigt keine oder eine nur sehr geringe Ausbuchtung und kein auffälliges Zentrum, sondern hauptsächlich Staubbänder. Die Entfernung wird auf etwa 40 bis 50 Millionen Lichtjahre geschätzt. M 108 gehört zu einer lockeren Gruppe, welche M 109 und vermutlich auch M 106 angehören. [233]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 3556
TypGx (Sc)
Rektaszension11h 11m 29.4s
Deklination+55° 40' 22"
Durchmesser8.6 × 2.4 arcmin
Fotografische (blaue) Helligkeit10.7 mag
Visuelle Helligkeit10.0 mag
Oberflächenhelligkeit13.1 mag·arcmin-2
Position angle80°
Rotverschiebung0.002332
Entfernung abgeleitet von z9.85 Mpc
Metrische Entfernung14.320 Mpc
Dreyer BeschreibungcB, vL, vmE 79°, pbM, r
Identifikation, AnmerkungenM 108, UGC 6225, MCG 9-18-98, IRAS 11085+5556, CGCG 267-48, CGCG 268-1, KARA 469

Auffindkarte

Das ungleiche Paar ist sehr einfach zu finden. Es befindet sich leicht unterhalb des zweiten Drittels zwischen den beiden Deichselsternen Phecda (γ Ursae Majoris) und Merak (β Ursae Majoris) des Grossen Wagens. Es ist zirkumpolar, doch die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Dezember bis Juni. Dann steht das Sternbild nachts am höchsten am Himmel. In einem Grossfeldokular mit geringer Vergrösserung und mindestens 1° Blickfeld sollten beide gleichzeitig sichtbar sein.

Karte Eulennebel (M 97) + Galaxie Messier 108
Eulennebel (M 97) + Galaxie Messier 108 im Sternbild Ursa Maior. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
17«Planetary Nebulae: A Practical Guide and Handbook for Amateur Astronomers» by Steven J. Hynes; 1991, Willmann-Bell, Inc., Richmond Virginia; ISBN 0-943396-30-1
141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
217The Messier Catalog (SEDS); messier.seds.org (2021-01-01)
228«A revised catalogue of δ Sct stars» E. Rodríguez, M. J. López-González and P. López de Coca; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. Volume 144, Number 3, June II 2000; DOI:10.1051/aas:2000221
233NOIRLab: M108, NGC 3556; noirlab.edu/public/images/noao-m108
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)