Sombrero Galaxy (Messier 104)

Messier 104
Messier 104: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [183]

History

The galaxy M 104 was discovered by Pierre Méchain on 11 May 1781. It was not originally included in Messier's catalog. In his personal copy of the «Connoissance des Temps» published in 1784, Messier added the discovery of Méchain and described it as «a very faint nebula». It was not until 1921 that Camille Flammarion discovered Messier's notes, identified them as NGC 4594 and added it to the Messier catalog as M 104.

Physical Properties

M 104 was nicknamed the «Sombrero Galaxy» because of the distinctive dust ring in which new stars emerge. We see the galaxy at an angle of about 6 degrees. The galaxy is of the SA(s)a type and has an active core of the LINER type, in which a supermassive black hole of one billion solar masses is suspected. The high number of globular clusters is also remarkable. Around 2000 of these are estimated to belong to the galaxy. Their age is estimated to be 10 to 13 billion years. Heliocentric speeds measured in the last 20 years are in the range from 1087 km/s to 1095 km/s and distances determined with different methods range from 8.9 Mpc to 21 Mpc. [145, 215]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
DesignationNGC 4594
TypeGx (Sa)
Right Ascension12h 39m 59.3s
Declination-11° 37' 21"
Diameter8.6 × 4.2 arcmin
Photographic (blue) magnitude9.0 mag
Visual magnitude8.0 mag
Surface brightness11.6 mag·arcmin-2
Position angle89°
Redshift0.003416
Distance derived from z14.43 Mpc
Metric Distance10.390 Mpc
Dreyer Description!, vB, vL, eE 92°, vsmbMN
Identification, RemarksM 104, MCG -2-32-20, UGCA 293, IRAS 12373-1120, Sombrero galaxy

Finder Chart

Below the constellation Virgo on the border with the constellation Corvus is the Sombrero galaxy. The galaxy with the number 104 in the Messier catalog is located in an area sparsely populated with bright stars. With its brightness of 9.2 mag, it is still easy to find. [192]

Chart Sombrero Galaxy (Messier 104)
Sombrero Galaxy (Messier 104) in constellation Virgo. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

The sombrero galaxy is clearly visible even in binoculars. The elongated galaxy has a strong spindle shape, which can be seen in small to medium-sized telescopes. The black, slightly decentralized congestion belt can be easily made out with medium-sized telescopes. M104 is one of the most worthwhile objects among the spindle-shaped dust-banded galaxies. [192]

14" PWO-Dobson, F:4.6 / TV-Nagler 13mm, 123x, 0.67° und TV-Radian 8mm, 200x, 0.3°
Eduard von Bergen

M 104
M 104: EAA, roughly represents visual impression; 30" SlipStream Dobson f/3.3 + MallinCam video camera; ca. 3s; Hasliberg; © 14. 3. 2012 Eduard von Bergen

762 mm aperture: The visual impression can be reproduced with a MallinCam video camera and an integration time of around three seconds. A tracking 30" f/3.3 SlipStream Dobsonian was used. The resulting image comes very close to visual vision with a 13 mm Tele Vue Ethos eyepiece.

— 14. 3. 2012, Eduard von Bergen

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
183The Majestic Sombrero Galaxy (M104); hubblesite.org/contents/media/images/2003/28/1415-Image.html (2020-12-23)
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Sombrero-Galaxie (Messier 104)

Messier 104
Messier 104: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [183]

Geschichte

Die Galaxie M 104 wurde am 11. Mai 1781 von Pierre Méchain entdeckt. Sie wurde ursprünglich nicht in Messiers Katalog aufgenommen. In seiner persönlichen Kopie der 1784 erschienenen «Connoissance des Temps» fügte Messier die Entdeckung Méchains hinzu und beschrieb sie als «sehr schwachen Nebel». Erst 1921 entdeckte Camille Flammarion Messiers Notizen, identifizierte diesen als NGC 4594 und fügte ihn als M 104 zum Messier-Katalog hinzu.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

M 104 erhielt den Spitznamen «Sombrero-Galaxie» aufgrund des markanten Staubringes, in welchem neue Sterne entstehen. Wir sehen die Galaxie unter einem Winkel von etwa 6 Grad. Die Galaxie ist vom Typ SA(s)a und hat einen aktiven Kern vom LINER-Typ, in welchem ein supermassives Schwarzes Loch von einer Milliarde Sonnemassen vermutet wird. Bemerkenswert ist auch die hohe Zahl an Kugelsternhaufen. Etwa 2000 davon werden der Galaxie zugehörig geschätzt. Deren Alter wird auf 10 bis 13 Milliarden Jahre geschätzt. In den letzten 20 Jahren gemessene heliozentrische Geschwindigkeiten liegen im Bereich von 1087 km/s bis 1095 km/s und mit unterschiedlichen Methoden ermittelte Distanzen reichen von 8.9 Mpc bis 21 Mpc. [145, 215]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 4594
TypGx (Sa)
Rektaszension12h 39m 59.3s
Deklination-11° 37' 21"
Durchmesser8.6 × 4.2 arcmin
Fotografische (blaue) Helligkeit9.0 mag
Visuelle Helligkeit8.0 mag
Oberflächenhelligkeit11.6 mag·arcmin-2
Position angle89°
Rotverschiebung0.003416
Entfernung abgeleitet von z14.43 Mpc
Metrische Entfernung10.390 Mpc
Dreyer Beschreibung!, vB, vL, eE 92°, vsmbMN
Identifikation, AnmerkungenM 104, MCG -2-32-20, UGCA 293, IRAS 12373-1120, Sombrero galaxy

Auffindtipp

Unterhalb des Sternbild Jungfrau an der Grenze zum Sternbild Raben findet man die Sombrero-Galaxie. Die Galaxie mit der Nummer 104 im Messier-Katalog liegt eher in einer spärlich mit hellen Sternen besiedelten Gegend. Mit ihrer Helligkeit von 9.2 mag ist sie aber trotzdem einfach zu finden. [192]

Karte Sombrero-Galaxie (Messier 104)
Sombrero-Galaxie (Messier 104) im Sternbild Virgo. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

Bereits im Fernglas ist die Sombrero-Galaxie gut sichtbar. Die längliche Galaxie hat eine starke Spindelform, welche sich in kleiner bis mittleren Teleskopen feststellen lässt. Das schwarze, leicht dezentrale Stauband ist mit mittleren Teleskopen ohne weiteres auszumachen. M104 ist unter den spindelförmigen mit Staubbändern versehenen Galaxien eines der lohneswertesten Objekte. [192]

14" PWO-Dobson, F:4.6 / TV-Nagler 13mm, 123x, 0.67° und TV-Radian 8mm, 200x, 0.3°
Eduard von Bergen

M 104
M 104: EAA, entspricht in etwa visuellem Eindruck; 30" SlipStream-Dobson f/3.3 + MallinCam Videokamera; ca. 3s; Hasliberg; © 14. 3. 2012 Eduard von Bergen

762 mm Öffnung: Der visuelle Eindruck lässt sich ungefähr mit einer MallinCam Videokamera und einer Integrationszeit von etwa drei Sekunden reproduzieren. Verwendet wurde ein nachgeführtes 30" f/3.3 SlipStream-Dobson. Das entstandene Bild kommt dem visuellen Sehen mit einem 13 mm Tele Vue Ethos Okular sehr nahe.

— 14. 3. 2012, Eduard von Bergen

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
183The Majestic Sombrero Galaxy (M104); hubblesite.org/contents/media/images/2003/28/1415-Image.html (2020-12-23)
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)