Planetary Nebula Jones 1 (PK 104-29.1)

Jones 1
Jones 1: Planetary nebula in Pegasus; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 480+120+120+120 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2017 Radek Chromik

History

The planetary nebula Jones 1 (Jn 1, PK 104-29.1, VV '578) was discovered in 1941 by the American astronomer Rebecca Jones on photo plates of the Harvard Observatory. Two years earlier, together with Richard M. Emberson, she discovered another planetary nebula: Jones-Emberson 1 (PK 164+31.1) in the constellation Lynx. [325]

The designation PK 104-29.1 comes from the two Czechoslovak astronomers Luboš Perek and Luboš Kohoutek, who in 1967 compiled a catalog of all the planetary nebulae of the Milky Way known at the time. The designation VV '578 goes back to the Russian astronomer Boris Vorontsov-Velyaminov, who studied and classified planetary nebulae in addition to cataloging galaxies. [145]

Physical Properties

Jones 1
Jones 1: Image taken with the 4m Mayall telescope on Kitt Peak. © T.A. Rector/University of Alaska Anchorage, H. Schweiker/WIYN and NOIRLab/NSF/AURA [328]

Jones 1 is a large planetary nebula with an angular diameter of 320 arcseconds, but a faint with only 15 magnitudes. The central star is 16.8 magnitudes bright and the nebula itself 15.6 magnitudes. Distance measurements range from 716 pc to 826 pc (around 2300 to 2700 light years). [145]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G104.2-29.6: Jn 1, PK 104-29.1, ARO 195, VV' 578
Right Ascension (J2000.0)23h 35m 54s
Declination (J2000.0)+30° 28' 02"
Dimensions 320." (optical)
Radial Velocity-67.0 km/s ± km/s
Expansion Velocity 15. km/s (O-III)
C-Star DesignationsAG82 454
C-Star Magnitude14.47 mag (U filter), 15.72 mag (B filter), 16.13 mag (V filter)
C-Star Spectral TypeOf/WR(C)?
DiscovererJONES 1941

Finder Chart

The planetary nebula Jones 1 is located in the constellation Pegasus, about 1° southeast of the 4.9 mag bright star 72 Pegasi. It is circumpolar in Central Europe, but the best time to observe it is June to November, when the constellation is highest at night.

Chart Planetary Nebula Jones 1 (PK 104-29.1)
Planetary Nebula Jones 1 (PK 104-29.1) in constellation Pegasus. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

300 mm Aperture: In the 21 mm Ethos eyepiece, the PN is invisible without an O-III filter. However, its position can be clearly determined from the stars. With the O-III filter, the PN appears very faint, round and somewhat darker in the centre. The split structure can be guessed at. 300 mm f/4 Popp Newton, Titlis 3020 m. a.s.l., SQM 21.25, 29 October 2022, 22:45, Bernd Nies

320 mm Aperture: Starting from the 300 mm Newtonian of the star friend and his eyepiece and OIII filter, the PN Jones 1 also revealed itself in the Ninja. The PN shows a ring structure, which is not completely circumferential. Only in the 457 mm Newtonian of another astro colleague two clearly defined ring segments could be seen. — 12.5" f/4.5 Ninja Dobsonian, Titlis 3020 m. a.s.l., SQM 21.25 m/s2, 29. 10. 2022, Eduard von Bergen

400 mm Aperture: The nebula is very faint in the O-III filter, but directly visible. With averted vision, a bright, subdivided edge and darker interior can be seen. In the H-β filter, as well as without filter, the nebula remains invisible. At slightly higher magnification (16 mm Nagler, 112x) the shape is more clearly defined, but remains very faint. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Ibergeregg, SQM 21.1, 26. 11. 2022, 21:30, Bernd Nies

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
325Planetary nebula Jones-Emberson 1; britastro.org/node/7191 (2021-05-04)
328Jones 1, PK 104-29.1; noirlab.edu/public/images/noao-jones1 (2021-05-05)

Planetarischer Nebel Jones 1 (PK 104-29.1)

Jones 1
Jones 1: Planetarischer Nebel in Pegasus; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 480+120+120+120 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2017 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Der planetarische Nebel Jones 1 (Jn 1, PK 104-29.1, VV' 578) wurde 1941 von der amerikanischen Astronomin Rebecca Jones auf Fotoplatten des Harvard Observatoriums entdeckt. Sie entdeckte zwei Jahre früher zusammen mit Richard M. Emberson noch einen weiteren planetarischen Nebel: Jones-Emberson 1 (PK 164+31.1) im Sternbild Lynx (Luchs). [325]

Die Bezeichnung PK 104-29.1 stammt von den beiden tschechoslovakischen Astronomen Luboš Perek und Luboš Kohoutek, welche 1967 einen Katalog aller damals bekannten planetarischen Nebel der Milchstraße erstellten. Die Bezeichnung VV' 578 geht auf den russischen Astronomen Boris Vorontsov-Velyaminov zurück, welcher nebst der Katalogisierung von Galaxien auch planetarische Nebel studierte und klassifizierte. [145]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Jones 1
Jones 1: Aufnahme mit dem 4m Mayall Teleskop auf dem Kitt Peak. © T.A. Rector/University of Alaska Anchorage, H. Schweiker/WIYN and NOIRLab/NSF/AURA [328]

Jones 1 ist zwar mit 320" Winkeldurchmesser ein großer, aber mit nur 15 Magnituden ein lichtschwacher planetarischer Nebel. Der Zentralstern ist 16.8 Magnituden hell und der Nebel selbst 15.6 Magnituden. Entfernungsmessungen reichen von 716 pc bis 826 pc (rund 2300 bis 2700 Lichtjahre). [145]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G104.2-29.6: Jn 1, PK 104-29.1, ARO 195, VV' 578
Rektaszension (J2000.0)23h 35m 54s
Deklination (J2000.0)+30° 28' 02"
Abmessungen 320." (optisch)
Radialgeschwindigkeit-67.0 km/s ± km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 15. km/s (O-III)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG82 454
Z-Stern Magnitude14.47 mag (U filter), 15.72 mag (B filter), 16.13 mag (V filter)
Z-Stern SpektraltypOf/WR(C)?
EntdeckerJONES 1941

Auffindkarte

Der planetarische Nebel Jones 1 befindet sich im Sternbild Pegasus, etwa 1° südöstlich vom 4.9 mag hellen Stern 72 Pegasi. Er ist in Mitteleuropa zirkumpolar, doch die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Juni bis November, wenn das Sternbild nachts am höchsten steht.

Karte Planetarischer Nebel Jones 1 (PK 104-29.1)
Planetarischer Nebel Jones 1 (PK 104-29.1) im Sternbild Pegasus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

300 mm Öffnung: Im 21 mm Ethos Okular ist der PN ohne O-III Filter unsichtbar. Die Position kann jedoch anhand der Sterne eindeutig bestimmt werden. Mit O-III Filter erscheint der PN bei indirektem Sehen sehr schwach, rund und in der Mitte etwas dunkler. Ansatzweise glaubt man die geteilte Struktur zu erahnen. — 300 mm f/4 Popp Newton, Titlis 3020 m. ü. M., SQM 21.25, 29. Oktober 2022, 22:45, Bernd Nies

320 mm Öffnung: Ausgehend vom 300 mm Newton des Sternenfreundes und dessen Okular sowie OIII-Filter offenbarte sich der PN Jones 1 auch im Ninja. Der PN zeigt eine Ringstruktur, welche nicht vollständig umlaufend ist. Erst im 457mm grossen Newton eines weiteren Astrokollegen waren zwei klar im Raum definierte Ringsegmente zu sehen. — 12.5" f/4.5 Ninja-Dobsonian, Titlis 3020 m. ü. M., SQM 21.25 m/s2, 29.10.2022, Eduard von Bergen

400 mm Öffnung: Der Nebel ist im O-III Filter zwar sehr schwach, aber direkt sichtbar. Bei indirekter Sicht erkennt man einen hellen, unterteilten Rand und dunkleres Inneres. Im H-β Filter, sowie ohne Filter bleibt der Nebel unsichtbar. Bei etwas höherer Vergrösserung (16 mm Nagler, 112x) ist die Form klarer definiert, bleibt aber sehr schwach. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Ibergeregg, SQM 21.1, 26. 11. 2022, 21:30, Bernd Nies

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
325Planetary nebula Jones-Emberson 1; britastro.org/node/7191 (2021-05-04)
328Jones 1, PK 104-29.1; noirlab.edu/public/images/noao-jones1 (2021-05-05)