Planetary Nebula Abell 4

Abell 4
Abell 4: Planetary nebula with galaxy; 500 mm Cassegrain f=5800 mm f/11.4 + SBIG STL11K; 60+10+10+10 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2005 Radek Chromik

History

The planetary nebula Abell 4 (PN A66 4, PK 144-15.1) was discovered in 1964 by the American astronomer George Ogden Abell on the photo plates of the «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey» (POSS). Most of these 86 PNs discovered on the POSS photo plates are large and have a low surface brightness, which suggests that their stage of development is advanced. Abell described the PN as a homogeneous disk with a diameter of 20". [332]

Physical Properties

The PN is located at a distance of 5621 parsecs, which corresponds to around 18,300 light years. The apparent brightness in the B filter is given as 15.6 mag. [145]

The weak edge-on galaxy 2MFGC 2191 is located about 45 arc seconds next to the PN. The apparent brightness in the 2MASS JHK filter is: J 13.4 mag, H 12.5 mag, K 12.1 mag. [145]

Further infos at CDS: PK 144-15.1, 2MFGC 2191

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G144.3-15.5: A 4, PK 144-15.1, ARO 205, VV' 13
Right Ascension (J2000.0)02h 45m 26s
Declination (J2000.0)+42° 32' 36"
Dimensions 20." (optical)
C-Star DesignationsAG82 15
C-Star Magnitude19.9 mag (B filter)
DiscovererABELL 1964

Finder Chart

The planetary nebula Abell 4 is located in the constellation Perseus and is circumpolar for Central Europe. The best observation time is September to February. The open star cluster Messier 34 serves as a guide. Almost 1° to the east of this is a small diamond-shaped formation made up of four little stars (dragon square). If you hop back three asterisks from there in the direction of M 34, you will get to Abell 4.

Chart Planetary Nebula Abell 4
Planetary Nebula Abell 4 in constellation Perseus. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

400 mm Aperture: The position of Abell 4 can be clearly determined using the location card with a 21 mm Ethos eyepiece (85x). However, the PN itself does not remain visible. Only at a higher magnification with a 9 mm Nagler (200x) does the planetary nebula reveal itself and is with indirect vision only barely recognizable as a faint, round nebula about half the size of Jupiter. Nothing can be seen of the galaxy 2MFGC 2191 right next to it. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 6. 11. 2021, Bernd Nies

762 mm Aperture: The PN is clearly and directly visible in the 13 mm Ethos eyepiece (193x). Only the core of the galaxy right next to it can be seen. One thinks to see the central star of the PN flashing briefly from time to time, but that was probably more of an imagination. This could not be confirmed at a higher magnification in the 9 mm Nagler (280x). Eventually that was due to the rather modest seeing at night. — 30" f/3.3 Slipstream Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 6. 11. 2021, Bernd Nies

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
332«Properties of Some Old Planetary Nebulae» Abell, G. O.; Astrophysical Journal, vol. 144, p.259, April 1966; DOI:10.1086/148602; Bibcode:1966ApJ...144..259A

Planetarischer Nebel Abell 4

Abell 4
Abell 4: Planetarischer Nebel mit Galaxie; 500 mm Cassegrain f=5800 mm f/11.4 + SBIG STL11K; 60+10+10+10 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2005 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Der planetarische Nebel Abell 4 (PN A66 4, PK 144-15.1) wurde 1964 vom amerikanischen Astronomen George Ogden Abell auf den Fotoplatten des «Palomar Observatory Sky Surveys» (POSS) entdeckt. Die meisten dieser insgesamt 86 auf den POSS-Fotoplatten entdeckten PNs sind großflächig und besitzen eine geringe Oberflächenhelligkeit, was auf ein fortgeschrittenes Alter ihres Entwicklungsstadiums schließen lässt. Abell beschrieb den PN als eine homogene Scheibe mit 20" Durchmesser. [332]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Der PN befindet sich in einer Entfernung von 5621 Parsec, was rund 18'300 Lichtjahren entspricht. Die scheinbare Helligkeit im B-Filter wird mit 15.6 mag angegeben. [145]

Etwa 45 Bogensekunden neben dem PN befindet sich die schwache Edge-On Galaxie 2MFGC 2191. Die scheinbare Helligkeiten im 2MASS JHK Filtern beträgt: J 13.4 mag, H 12.5 mag, K 12.1 mag. [145]

Weitere Infos bei CDS: PK 144-15.1, 2MFGC 2191

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G144.3-15.5: A 4, PK 144-15.1, ARO 205, VV' 13
Rektaszension (J2000.0)02h 45m 26s
Deklination (J2000.0)+42° 32' 36"
Abmessungen 20." (optisch)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG82 15
Z-Stern Magnitude19.9 mag (B filter)
EntdeckerABELL 1964

Auffindkarte

Der planetarische Nebel Abell 4 befindet sich im Sternbild Perseus und ist für Mitteleuropa zirkumpolar. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist September bis Februar. Der offene Sternhaufen Messier 34 dient als Richtungsweiser. Knapp 1° östlich davon fällt eine kleinen rautenförmigen Formation aus vier Sternchen (Drachenviereck) auf. Hüpft man von dort wieder drei Sternchen zurück in Richtung M 34 gelangt man zu Abell 4.

Karte Planetarischer Nebel Abell 4
Planetarischer Nebel Abell 4 im Sternbild Perseus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

400 mm Öffnung: Die Position von Abell 4 ist anhand der Auffindkarte mit einem 21 mm Ethos Okular (85-fach) eindeutig bestimmbar. Der PN selbst bleibt jedoch nicht sichtbar. Erst bei höherer Vergrößerung mit einem 9 mm Nagler (200-fach) verrät sich der Planetarische Nebel und wird nur bei indirektem Sehen knapp als schwaches, rundes Nebelchen etwa halb so groß wie Jupiter erkennbar. Von der Galaxie 2MFGC 2191 gleich daneben ist nichts zu sehen. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 6. 11. 2021, Bernd Nies

762 mm Öffnung: Im 13 mm Ethos Okular (193-fach) ist der PN deutlich und direkt sichtbar. Von Galaxie gleich daneben ist der nur Kern erkennbar. Den Zentralstern vom PN glaubt man kurz ab und zu aufzublitzen sehen, das war aber wohl eher Einbildung. Bei höherer Vergrößerung im 9 mm Nagler (280-fach) konnte dies nicht bestätigt werden. Evl. lag das an dem eher bescheidenen Seeing in der Nacht. — 30" f/3.3 Slipstream Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 6. 11. 2021, Bernd Nies

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
332«Properties of Some Old Planetary Nebulae» Abell, G. O.; Astrophysical Journal, vol. 144, p.259, April 1966; DOI:10.1086/148602; Bibcode:1966ApJ...144..259A