Open Cluster Messier 34

Messier 34: Section of the STScI Digitized Sky Survey [147]

History

The discovery of M 34 can be attributed to the Italian astronomer Giovanni Hodierna in 1654. Unfortunately, the publication of his discovered and now famous nebula found little notice outside his homeland of Sicily. It so happened that it was unknown to Charles Messier when he rediscovered the star cluster on 25th August 1764. He noted: «A cluster of small stars, a little below the parallel γ Andromedae; in an ordinary telescope of three feet [focal length] the stars can be distinguished.» [4, 194]

Physical Properties

M 34 is an open star cluster according to the Trumpler classification II3m. According to distance information on Simbad, it is located at a distance of about 1600 light years and is moving in our direction at about 7 km/s. The age is estimated to be around 100 to 200 million years. The cluster will slowly dissolve over time as it migrates around the center. [145, 196]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
DesignationNGC 1039
TypeOCL (II3m)
Right Ascension (J2000.0)02h 42m 05.0s
Declination (J2000.0)+42° 45' 42"
Diameter25 arcmin
Visual magnitude5.2 mag
Metric Distance0.499 kpc
Dreyer DescriptionCl, B, vL, lC, sc st 9
Identification, RemarksM 34, OCL 382

Finder Chart

The open star cluster M 34 is located in the constellation Perseus approximately in the middle between Algol (β Persei) and Almach (γ1 Andromedae). It is visible to the naked eye on a dark night, preferably from September to February.

Finder Chart Open Cluster Messier 34
Open Cluster Messier 34 in constellation Perseus. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

Description pending ...

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

Offener Sternhaufen Messier 34

Messier 34
Messier 34: Ausschnitt aus dem STScI Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Geschichte

Die Entdeckung von M 34 kann dem italienischen Astronomen Giovanni Hodierna im Jahre 1654 zugeschrieben werden. Leider fand die Publikation seiner entdeckten und heute berühmten Nebel wenig Notiz außerhalb seiner Heimat Sizilien. So kam es, dass sie Charles Messier unbekannt war, als er den Sternhaufen am 25. August 1764 erneut entdeckte. Er notierte dazu: «Ein Haufen kleiner Sterne, etwas unterhalb des parallelen γ Andromedae; in einem gewöhnlichen Teleskop von drei Fuß [Brennweite] lassen sich die Sterne unterscheiden.» [4, 194]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Bei M 34 handelt es sich um einen offenen Sternhaufen nach der Trumpler-Klassifikation II3m. Entfernungsangaben auf Simbad zufolge befindet er sich in einer Distanz von etwa 1600 Lichtjahren und bewegt sich mit etwa 7 km/s in unserer Richtung. Das Alter wird auf etwa 100 bis 200 Millionen Jahre geschätzt. Der Haufen wird sich bei seiner Wanderung rund um das Zentrum mit der Zeit langsam auflösen. [145, 196]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 1039
TypOCL (II3m)
Rektaszension02h 42m 05.0s
Deklination+42° 45' 42"
Durchmesser25 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit5.2 mag
Metrische Entfernung0.499 kpc
Dreyer BeschreibungCl, B, vL, lC, sc st 9
Identifikation, AnmerkungenM 34, OCL 382

Auffindkarte

Der offene Sternhaufen M 34 befindet sich im Sternbild Perseus ungefähr in der Mitte zwischen Algol (β Persei) und Almach (γ1 Andromedae). Er ist in einer dunklen Nacht von bloßem Auge sichtbar, am besten von September bis Februar.

Karte Offener Sternhaufen Messier 34
Offener Sternhaufen Messier 34 im Sternbild Perseus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
194NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED); ned.ipac.caltech.edu (2020-12-27)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)