Silver Sliver Galaxy (NGC 891)

NGC 891
NGC 891: Edge-On Silver Sliver Galaxy NGC 891 in Andromeda; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 310+40+40+40 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2015 Radek Chromik [32]
NGC 891
NGC 891: Edge-On Silver Sliver Galaxy NGC 891 in Andromeda; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 160+40+40+40 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik [32]

History

This galaxy was discovered, as is so often the case, by Wilhelm Herschel on 6 October 1784 with his 18.7 inch reflector telescope with a focal length of 20 feet. He entered it as V 19, the class «V» standing for very large nebulae. He described it as follows: «Considerabbly bright, much elongated, above 15' length 3' width, a black division of 3' or 4' length in the middle» [463] John L. E. Dreyer added the galaxy as NGC 891 in his «New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars». [313] Because of its appearance, it has received the nickname «Silver Sliver» in the English-speaking world.

Physical Properties

The Galaxy NGC 891 is seen edge-on, similar to NGC 4565 in the constellation Coma Berenices. Noticeable is the dense band of dust in the middle. You think you are looking at a miniature version of our Milky Way. In fact, both galaxies are very similar both in appearance and size. The galaxy is of the type SA(s)b? Whereby the «b» for the opening of the spiral is uncertain due to the position of the edge. On Simbad one finds measurements for the speed from 528 km/s to 560 km/s and for the distance from 8.36 Mpc to 10 Mpc. [145]

QSO J0222+4221
QSO J0222+4221: Quasar nearby to NGC 891. Close-up of photo by Radek Chromik. [32]

Nearby the galaxy but with a redshift of z ≈ 1.181 and a distance of about 3.7 Gpc (12.3 Gly) much further away lies the quasar QSO J0222+4221 (also known as NGC 891 X4 or CX0 J02224+4221). The quasar is visible at an apparent R magnitude of 17.41. [145]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Designation NGC 891
Type Gx (Sb)
Right Ascension (J2000.0) 02h 22m 33.0s
Declination (J2000.0) +42° 20' 50"
Diameter 11.7 × 1.6 arcmin
Photographic (blue) magnitude 10.8 mag
Visual magnitude 9.9 mag
Surface brightness 13.6 mag·arcmin-2
Position Angle 22°
Redshift (z) 0.001761
Distance derived from z 7.44 Mpc
Metric Distance 10.200 Mpc
Dreyer Description ! B, vL, vmE 22°
Identification, Remarks UGC 1831, MCG 7-5-46, CGCG 538-52, IRAS 02195+4209

Finder Chart

The galaxy is located in the constellation Andromeda. Connect the two stars Almach (γ1 Andromedae) and Algol (β Persei). The galaxy is located about 3.5° from Almach on this line. NGC 891 is circumpolar, but is highest in the night sky from July to February.

Finder Chart Silver Sliver Galaxy (NGC 891)
Silver Sliver Galaxy (NGC 891) in constellation Andromeda. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

300 mm Aperture: The galaxy NGC 891 appears as a bright, elongated streak with a thickened center. The central, dark dust lane is very prominent. With increasing magnification, the contrast against the background of the sky increases. A beautiful sight like a miniature version of our Milky Way. — 300 mm f/4 Popp-Newton, Bernd Nies

QSO J0222+4221
QSO J0222+4221: EAA, roughly represents visual impression; Canon EOS R an 30" SlipStream-Dobson f/3.3; 10s at ISO 32'000; Hasliberg; © 3. 2. 2024 Eduard von Bergen [30]

400 mm Aperture: The galaxy with the prominent dust lane is a fine sight with the 9 mm Nagler eyepiece. The position of the quasar could easily be determined based on the two stars near the edge of the galaxy. The third star in that row was only now and then recognizable with averted vision. From the quasar no trace could be seen at all. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Hasliberg, SQM 21.0, 3. 2. 2023, Bernd Nies

762 mm Aperture: The Quasar QSO J0222+4221 nearby the galaxy NGC 891 posed no problem for the 30" large Dobsonian and the Canon EOS R, which was set to a high sensitivity of ISO 32'000. The Quasar was captured quickly and easily in the image exposed at just 10s clearly identify it. Despite the 30", it is not even close to being visible visually. — 30" SlipStream-Dobson f/3.3, EAA-Photo, Canon EOS R, 10s at ISO 32'000, Hasliberg, 03. 02. 2024, Eduard von Bergen

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

Silbersplitter-Galaxie (NGC 891)

NGC 891
NGC 891: Edge-On Silbersplitter-Galaxie NGC 891 in Andromeda; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 310+40+40+40 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2015 Radek Chromik [32]
NGC 891
NGC 891: Edge-On Silbersplitter-Galaxie NGC 891 in Andromeda; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 160+40+40+40 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik [32]

Geschichte

Entdeckt wurde diese Galaxie wie so oft von Wilhelm Herschel am 6. Oktober 1784 mit seinem 18.7" Spiegelteleskop von 20 Fuß Brennweite. Er trug sie als V 19 ein, wobei die Klasse «V» für sehr große Nebel stand. Er beschrieb sie wie folgt: «bemerkenswert hell, sehr länglich, darüber 15' Länge 3' Breite eine schwarze Unterteilung von 3' oder 4' Länge in der Mitte» [463] John L. E. Dreyer trug die Galaxie als NGC 891 in seinen 1888 erschienenen «New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars» ein. [313] Wegen ihres Aussehens hat sie im englischen Sprachraum den Spitznamen «Silver Sliver» (Silbersplitter) erhalten.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Die Galaxie NGC 891 sehen wir direkt von der Kante, ähnlich NGC 4565 im Sternbild Coma Berenices. Auffällig ist das schön mittig liegende dichte Staubband. Man glaubt auf eine Miniatur-Ausgabe unserer Milchstraße zu blicken. In der Tat sind beide Galaxien sowohl in Aussehen wie der Größe sehr ähnlich. Die Galaxie ist vom Typ SA(s)b?, wobei das «b» für die Öffnung der Spirale aufgrund der Kantenlage unsicher ist. Auf Simbad findet man Messungen für die Geschwindigkeit von 528 km/s bis 560 km/s und für die Entfernung von 8.36 Mpc bis 10 Mpc. [145]

QSO J0222+4221
QSO J0222+4221: Quasar in der Nähe von NGC 891. Ausschnittsvergrösserung aus dem Foto von Radek Chromik. [32]

In der Nähe der Galaxie, aber mit einer viel größeren Rotverschiebung von z ≈ 1.181 in einer Entfernung von rund 3.7 Gpc (12.3 Gly) viel weiter entfernt liegt der Quasar QSO J0222+4221 (auch bekannt als NGC 891 X4 oder CX0 J02224+4221). Der Quasar ist mit einer scheinbaren R-Magnitude von 17.41 sichtbar. [145]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Bezeichnung NGC 891
Typ Gx (Sb)
Rektaszension (J2000.0) 02h 22m 33.0s
Deklination (J2000.0) +42° 20' 50"
Durchmesser 11.7 × 1.6 arcmin
Fotografische (blaue) Helligkeit 10.8 mag
Visuelle Helligkeit 9.9 mag
Oberflächenhelligkeit 13.6 mag·arcmin-2
Positionswinkel 22°
Rotverschiebung (z) 0.001761
Entfernung abgeleitet von z 7.44 Mpc
Metrische Entfernung 10.200 Mpc
Identifikation, Anmerkungen WH V 19; h 218; GC 527; UGC 1831; MCG 7-5-46; CGCG 538-52; IRAS 02195+4209

Auffindtipp für NGC 891

Die Galaxie befindet sich im Sternbild Andromeda. Verbinde die beiden Sterne Almach (γ1 Andromedae) und Algol (β Persei). Etwa 3.5° von Almach auf dieser Linie befindet sich die Galaxie. NGC 891 ist zwar zirkumpolar, steht aber in den Monaten Juni bis Februar am höchsten am Nachthimmel.

Auffindkarte Silbersplitter-Galaxie (NGC 891)
Silbersplitter-Galaxie (NGC 891) im Sternbild Andromeda. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

300 mm Öffnung: Die Galaxie NGC 891 erscheint als heller, langer Strich mit einer verdickten Mitte auf. Das mittige, dunkle Staubband ist sehr auffällig. Bei zunehmender Vergrößerung erhöht sich der Kontrast gegenüber dem Himmelshintergrund. Ein schöner Anblick wie eine Miniversion unserer Milchstrasse. — 300 mm f/4 Popp-Newton, Bernd Nies

QSO J0222+4221
QSO J0222+4221: EAA, entspricht in etwa visuellem Eindruck; Canon EOS R an 30" SlipStream-Dobson f/3.3; 10s bei ISO 32'000; Hasliberg; © 3. 2. 2024 Eduard von Bergen [30]

400 mm Öffnung: Die Galaxie mit dem markanten Staubband ist mit dem 9-mm Nagler Okular gut zu sehen. Anhand der beiden Sterne am Rande der Galaxie konnte die Position des Quasars leicht bestimmt werden. Der dritte Stern in dieser Reihe war nur hin und wieder indirekt erkennbar. Von dem Quasar selbst war überhaupt keine Spur zu sehen. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Hasliberg, SQM 21.0, 3. 2. 2024, Bernd Nies

762 mm Öffnung: Der Quasar QSO J0222+4221 in der Nähe der Galaxie NGC 891 stellte für den 30" Gross-Dobson und die hochempfindlich mit ISO 32'000 eingestellte Canon EOS R kein Problem dar. Auf der mit nur 10s belichteten Aufnahme liess sich der Quasar schnell und eindeutig identifizieren. Visuell ist er trotz 30" nicht annähernd zu erahnen. — 30" SlipStream-Dobson f/3.3, EAA-Photo, Canon EOS R, 10s bei ISO 32'000, Hasliberg, 03. 02. 2024, Eduard von Bergen

Objekte innerhalb eines Radius von 15°

Quellenangaben