NGC 1701, Trekkie Galaxy

NGC 1701
NGC 1701: The galaxy NGC 1701 with 10.6 mag star TYC 6472-1456-1. Or is it the Enterprise that is being shot at by a photon torpedo? PanSTARRS / DR1 color [147]
NCC 1701
NCC 1701: The Enterprise NCC 1701 - A federation starship of the Nebula Constitution Class (NCC).

History

The galaxy NGC 1701 was nicknamed Trekkie-Galaxy because of its NGC number, as it almost matches the serial number (NCC 1701) of the first spaceship Enterprise from the TV and cinema cult series Star Trek by Gene Roddenberry. As luck would have it, even the galaxy itself bears a certain resemblance to the Enterprise. The saucer section of the Enterprise, as it orbits the approximately 10.6 mag bright star TYC 6472-1456-1, can be easily interpreted into the compact, elliptical shape of the galaxy.

Physical Properties

The axis of rotation of the galaxy NGC 1701 is inclined by 46 degrees against the direction of view. The galaxy itself is moving away from the center of the Local Group at a speed of about 5600 km/s. With a Hubble constant of 75 km/s/Mpc, the distance is about 240 million light years. [134]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
DesignationsPGC 16352: NGC 1701, ESO 422-11, MCG 5-12-10, IRAS 4539-2957
Right Ascension (J2000.0)04h 55m 50.8s
Declination (J2000.0)-29° 53' 01"
Morphological TypeS
Dimensions1.2' x .9'
Visual Magnitude13.6 mag
Radial Velocity (HRV)5808 km/s
Position Angle137°

Sulu, set course for NGC 1701!

The small galaxy NGC 1707 is located in the inconspicuous constellation Caelum, which is southwest of Lepus. This can be found south of Orion. Since NGC 1701 is very far south and only reaches a maximum of about 10-15 degrees above the southern horizon, it is best to wait for the transit time. In late November to early December, the galaxy is at its highest around midnight. After that it goes down earlier and earlier.

The telescope is aligned using the map below. NGC 1701 lies just under 5° east of the 4.6 mag star υ1 Eridani. The 2° close-up helps for more precise identification. The zigzag line made up of four lighter asterisks serves as the starting point. At the western end of it, a pointed arrow points in the northwest direction directly to the galaxy.

Chart NGC 1701
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

400 mm aperture: With the 21 mm Ethos eyepiece (85x), the exact position can be easily positioned using the star pattern. In the 9 mm Nagler (200x) NGC 1701 appears a faint, oval something without structure next to the clearly visible asterisk. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 6. 11. 2021, Bernd Nies

762 mm aperture: In the 22 mm Nagler (114x), the galaxy is clearly recognizable as a washed-out oval. The core of the galaxy partially flashes in the 13 mm Ethos eyepiece (193x). — 30" f/3.3 Slipstream Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 6. 11. 2021, Bernd Nies

References

134Lyon-Meudon Extragalactic Database (LEDA); leda.univ-lyon1.fr
144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form

NGC 1701, Trekkiegalaxie

NGC 1701
NGC 1701: Die Galaxie NGC 1701 mit 10.6 mag Stern TYC 6472-1456-1. Oder ist es die Enterprise, welche von einem Photonen-Torpedo beschossen wird? PanSTARRS/DR1 color [147]
NCC 1701
NCC 1701: Die Enterprise NCC 1701 - Ein Föderationsraumschiff der Nebula Constitution Class (NCC).

Geschichte

Die Galaxie NGC 1701 erhielt von uns den Spitznamen Trekkie-Galaxy aufgrund ihrer NGC-Nummer, da diese nahezu mit der Seriennummer (NCC 1701) des ersten Raumschiffes Enterprise aus der TV- und Kino-Kultserie Star Trek von Gene Roddenberry übereinstimmt. Der Zufall wollte es, dass sogar die Galaxie selbst eine gewisse Ähnlichkeit mit der Enterprise hat. In die kompakte, elliptische Form der Galaxie läss sich gut die Untertassensektion der Enterprise hineininterpretieren, wie sie den etwa 10.6 mag hellen Stern TYC 6472-1456-1 umkreist.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Die Rotationsachse der Galaxie NGC 1701 ist um 46 Grad gegen die Blickrichtung geneigt. Die Galaxie selbst bewegt sich mit einer Geschwindigkeit von etwa 5600 km/s vom Zentrum der Lokalen Gruppe weg. Bei einer Hubble-Konstanten von 75 km/s/Mpc beträgt die Entfernung demnach etwa 240 Mio. Lichtjahre. [134]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
BezeichnungenPGC 16352: NGC 1701, ESO 422-11, MCG 5-12-10, IRAS 4539-2957
Rektaszension (J2000.0)04h 55m 50.8s
Deklination (J2000.0)-29° 53' 01"
Morphologischer TypS
Abmessungen1.2' x .9'
Visuelle Helligkeit13.6 mag
Radialgeschwindigkeit (HRV)5808 km/s
Positionswinkel137°

Sulu, setzen sie Kurs auf NGC 1701!

Die kleine Galaxie NGC 1707 befindet sich im unscheinbaren Sternbild Caelum (Grabstichel), welches sich südwestlich von Lepus (Hase) liegt. Dieses findet man südlich von Orion. Da NGC 1701 sehr weit südlich steht und maximal nur etwa 10-15 Grad über den Südhorizont kommt, muss am besten die Transitzeit abgewartet werden. Ende November bis Anfangs Dezember steht die Galaxie etwa um Mitternacht am höchsten. Danach geht sie immer früher unter.

Die Ausrichtung des Teleskops erfolgt anhand untenstehender Karte. NGC 1701 liegt knapp 5° östlich vom 4.6 mag Stern υ1 Eridani. Zur genaueren Identifikation hilft das 2°-Closeup. Die Zickzack-Linie aus vier helleren Sternchen dient als Ausgangspunkt. Am westlichen Ende davon zeigt ein spitzer Pfeil in Richtung Nordwesten direkt zur Galaxie.

Karte NGC 1701
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

400 mm Öffnung: Mit 21 mm Ethos Okular (85-fach) ist die genaue Position anhand der Sternmuster gut positionierbar. Im 9 mm Nagler (200-fach) erscheint NGC 1701 schwaches, ovales Etwas ohne Struktur neben dem gut sichtbaren Sternchen. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 6. 11. 2021, Bernd Nies

762 mm Öffnung: Im 22 mm Nagler (114-fach) ist die Galaxie als verwaschenes Oval gut erkennbar. Im 13 mm Ethos Okular (193-fach) blitzt der Kern der Galaxie teils auf. — 30" f/3.3 Slipstream Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 6. 11. 2021, Bernd Nies

Quellenangaben

134Lyon-Meudon Extragalactic Database (LEDA); leda.univ-lyon1.fr
144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form