Messier 6, Butterfly Cluster

Messier 6
Messier 6: A stellar butterfly. Section of colored STScI DSS2 on CDS Aladin [147]

History

The discovery of Messier 6 is usually credited to P. L. de Cheseaux in 1746, although the globular cluster is visible to the naked eye and already appeared together with M 7 in Ptolemy's catalog. The two appear to be «Girus seine nebulosus» in the 1551 edition of «Amalgest» and were also listed in Ulug Beg's star catalog as the «Stella nebulosa quae sequitur aculeum Scorpionis» (the cloudy ones that follow the scorpion's sting). De Cheseaux, however, was probably the first to recognize a star cluster in M 6. The cluster got its name because of its butterfly-like appearance. The most striking formation are two curved rows of stars, each with about five stars, which are supposed to represent the antennae of the butterfly.

Physical Properties

The visually brightest star in M 6 is BM Scorpii. It is a giant of the spectral class K0-K3. It is semi-regularly variable and varies by about two magnitudes in a cycle of about 850 days. The star is located on the northeast wing tip of the «butterfly» (see fig. 1). Most of the other stars are main sequence B-types. The age of the cluster is estimated to be around 100 million years; older than the Pleiades, but less than half the age of the nearby cluster M 7.

Eighty cluster members were identified within an area of 54 arcminutes. This gives a central star density of around 25 stars per cubic parsec or an average density of 0.6 stars per cubic parsec for the whole cluster (1 pc = 3.26 ly). The figure of the «butterfly» is about nine light years wide, but the entire diameter of the cluster is about 20 light years. Distance measurements vary in a range from about 1300 to 2000 light years, but mostly one finds information in the lower range. [4]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 6405
TypeOCL (III2p)
Right Ascension17h 40m 20.0s
Declination-32° 15' 30"
Diameter33.00 arcmin
Photographic (blue) magnitude4.5 mag
Visual magnitude4.2 mag
Dreyer DescriptionCl, L, iR, lC, st 7, 10…
IdentificationM 6, OCL 1030, ESO 455-SC30, Butterfly cluster

Finder Chart

The cluster of butterflies is located directly above the scorpion's tail, which is armed with poisonous stings. On clear summer nights, the open star cluster is also visible to the naked eye. It is best to start with the search in the middle of the star triangle Al Nasl (γ2 Sagittarii) - 45/d Ophiuchi - Shaula (λ Scorpii), as shown on the location map next to it. If a rich, open star cluster appears in the field of view, check the position of the telescope again, because you could have accidentally landed at Messier 7 further south-east. A few other open star clusters are present in the area, but none are as conspicuous as the two Messier clusters.

Chart Messier 6
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Messier 6, Schmetterlingshaufen

Objektbeschreibung

M6
M 6, ein stellarer Schmetterling. Ausschnitt aus dem eingefärbten STScI DSS2 auf CDS Aladin [147]

Die Entdeckung von Messier 6 wird gewöhnlich P. L. de Cheseaux im Jahre 1746 zugeschrieben, obwohl der Kugelsternhaufen von blossem Auge sichtbar ist und bereits zusammen mit M 7 im Katalog von Ptolemäus erschien. Die beiden scheinen «Girus ille nebulosus» in der 1551 Ausgabe von «Amalgest» zu sein und wurden ebenfalls in Ulug Beg's Sternenkatalog als die «Stella nebulosa quae sequitur aculeum Scorpionis» (die Wolkigen, die dem Stachel des Skorpion folgen) aufgeführt. De Cheseaux war jedoch vermutlich der erste, der in M 6 einen Sternhaufen erkannte. Der Haufen erhielt seinen Namen aufgrund seines Aussehens, das einem Schmetterling ähnelt. Die markanteste Formation sind zwei geschwungene Sternreihen von je etwa fünf Sternen, welche die Fühler des Schmetterlings darstellen sollen.

Der visuell hellste Stern in M 6 ist BM Scorpii. Es handelt sich dabei um einen Riesen der Spektralklasse K0-K3. Er ist ein halbregelmässig Veränderlicher und variiert in einem Zyklus von etwa 850 Tagen um etwa zwei Magnituden. Der Stern befindet sich an der nordöstlichen Flügelspitze des "Schmetterlings" (vgl. Abb. 1). Bei den meisten anderen Sternen handelt es sich um B-Typen der Hauptreihe. Das Alter des Haufens wird auf rund 100 Millionen Jahre geschätzt; älter als die Plejaden, doch weniger als die Hälfte des Alters vom nahegelegenen Haufen M 7.

In einem Bereich von 54 Bogenminuten Durchmesser wurden 80 Haufenmitglieder identifiziert. Dies ergibt eine zentrale Sterndichte von rund 25 Sternen pro Kubikparsek oder eine gemittelte Dichte von 0.6 Sternen pro Kubikparsek für den ganzen Haufen (1 pc = 3.26 ly). Die Figur des «Schmetterlings» ist etwa neun Lichtjahre breit, doch der gesamte Durchmesser des Haufens misst etwa 20 Lichtjahre. Distanzmessungen variieren in einem Bereich von etwa 1300 bis 2000 Lichtjahren, meist findet man jedoch Angaben im unteren Bereich. [4]

«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» von J.L.E. Dreyer, nachbearbeitet 1988 von Roger W. Sinnott [142].
NameNGC 6405
TypOC
RA / Dec (B2000.0)17h 40.1m / -32° 13'
SternbildSco
Durchmesser15. '
vMag4.2
BeschreibungCl, L, iR, lC, st 7, 10...; = M6

Auffindtipp für den Schmetterlingshaufen

Der Schmetterlingshaufen befindet sich unmittelbar über dem mit Giftstachel bewehrten Schwanz des Skorpions. In klaren Sommernächten ist der offene Sternhaufen auch von blossem Auge sichtbar. Am besten beginnt man mit der Suche in der Mitte des Sternendreiecks Al Nasl2 Sagittarii) — 45/d OphiuchiShaula (λ Scorpii), so wie es die Auffindkarte nebenan zeigt. Zeigt sich ein reicher, offener Sternhaufen im Blickfeld, so überprüft man nochmals die Lage des Fernrohrs, denn man könnte ja aus Versehen bei Messier 7 weiter südöstlich gelandet sein. In dem Gebiet sind noch einige andere offene Sternhaufen anwesend, doch keiner ist so auffällig wie die beiden Messier-Haufen.

Karte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro [149] und STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160] erstellt.

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.