Bug Nebula (NGC 6302)

NGC 6302
NGC 6302: Image taken with Hubble Space Telescope. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [521]

History

The nebula was discovered in 1880 by Edward Barnard with his private 5 inch refractor at Nashville. He suggested the name «Bug Nebula». [196]

While searching the photo plates of the «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey» for H-II regions, the American astronomer Stewart Sharpless came across the this nebula and listed it as Sh 1-3 and Sh 2-6 in his catalogues published in 1953 and 1959. [309, 310] Colin S. Gum listed the nebula in 1955 as Gum 60 and noted that it is «a doubtful planetary» by Vorontsov-Velyaminov in 1934 «but the form of the objects suggests a diffuse nebula.» [555]

Modern high-resolution images show that the nebula more looks like a butterfly why it is also sometimes called «Butterfly Nebula», a name that also used for the planetary nebulae NGC 2346 or Minkowski 2-9.

Physical Properties

The planetary nebula NGC 6302 lies roughly 3800 light-years away. The age of the nebula is estimated over about 2200 years. It stretches for more than 2 light-years.

The central star is hidden within a doughnut-shaped ring of dust, which appears as a dark band pinching the nebula in the center. The thick dust belt constricts the star’s outflow, creating the classic bipolar or hourglass shape displayed by some planetary nebulae.

The star’s surface temperature is estimated to be about 222'000 Kelvin. Spectroscopic observations showed that the gas is roughly 20'000 Kelvin, which is unusually hot compared to a typical planetary nebulae.

The nebula's outer edges are largely due to light emitted by nitrogen. The inner regions are areas where light is emitted by sulfur. These are regions where fast-moving gas overtakes and collides with slow-moving gas that left the star at an earlier time, producing shock waves in the gas. [522]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G349.5+01.0: NGC 6302, PK 349+01.1, ARO 502, ESO 392-05, Gum 60, He 2- 204, RCW 124, Sa 2- 180, Sh 1- 3, Sh 2- 6, VV 94, VV' 168, Wray 16- 259
Right Ascension (J2000.0)17h 13m 44s
Declination (J2000.0)-37° 06' 06"
Dimensions 44.5" (optical), 10." (radio)
Radial Velocity-39.0 km/s ± 2.1 km/s
Expansion Velocity 8.0 km/s (O-III)
C-Star DesignationsAG82 233, CD -36 11341, CPC 18 8579, GCRV 9926, HD 155520
C-Star Magnitude>21.1 mag (B filter)
DiscovererFLEMING 1896

Finder Chart

The planetary nebula NGC 6302 is located near scorpio's sting in the constellation Scorpius. The best time to observe it is in the short summer nights from May to July, when the part of the constellation is highest above the southern horizon at night. An observation site with a clear view to the south is required here, because the nebula, with a declination of -37° in Switzerland, comes barely 10° above the horizon when it is in the meridian.

Chart Bug Nebula (NGC 6302)
Bug Nebula (NGC 6302) in constellation Scorpius. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
309«A Catalogue of Emission Nebulae Near the Galactic Plane» Sharpless, Stewart; Astrophysical Journal, vol. 118, p.362, November 1953; DOI:10.1086/145765; Bibcode:1953ApJ...118..362S
310«A Catalogue of H II Regions» Stewart Sharpless, US Naval Observatory, 1959; DOI:10.1086/190049; Bibcode:1959ApJS....4..257S
521NGC 6302; esahubble.org/images/heic2011b (2022-06-09)
522NGC 6302; nasa.gov/mission_pages/hubble/multimedia/ero/ero_ngc6302.html (2022-06-09)
555«A Survey of Southern HII Regions» Gum, Colin S.; Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society, Vol. 67, p.155, 1955; Bibcode:1955MmRAS..67..155G

Käfer-Nebel (NGC 6302)

NGC 6302
NGC 6302: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [521]

Geschichte

Der Nebel wurde 1880 von Edward Barnard mit seinem privaten 5-Zoll-Refraktor in Nashville entdeckt. Er schlug den Namen «Käfer-Nebel» (engl. Bug Nebula) vor. [196]

Beim Durchsuchen der Fotoplatten des «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey» nach H-II-Regionen stieß der amerikanische Astronom Stewart Sharpless auf diesen Nebel und führte ihn in seinen 1953 und 1959 veröffentlichten Katalogen als Sh 1-3 und Sh 2-6 auf. [309, 310] Colin S. Gum listete den Nebel 1955 als Gum 60 und stellte fest, dass es sich gemäß Vorontsov-Velyaminov in 1934 um einen «zweifelhaften Planetarischen» handele, aber die Form des Objekts auf einen diffusen Nebel schließen ließe. [555]

Moderne hochauflösende Bilder zeigen, dass der Nebel eher wie ein Schmetterling aussieht, weshalb er manchmal auch «Schmetterlingsnebel» (engl. Butterfly Nebula) genannt wird, ein Name, der auch für die planetarischen Nebel NGC 2346 oder Minkowski 2-9 verwendet wird.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Der Planetarische Nebel NGC 6302 liegt etwa 3800 Lichtjahre entfernt. Das Alter des Nebels wird auf etwa 2200 Jahre geschätzt. Er dehnt sich über mehr als 2 Lichtjahre aus.

Der Zentralstern ist in einem donutförmigen Ring aus Staub verborgen, der als dunkles Band erscheint, das den Nebel in der Mitte einschnürt. Der dicke Staubgürtel engt den Ausfluss des Sterns ein, wodurch die klassische bipolare oder sanduhrförmige Form entsteht, die einige planetarische Nebel aufweisen.

Die Oberflächentemperatur des Sterns wird auf etwa 222'000 Kelvin geschätzt. Spektroskopische Beobachtungen zeigten, dass das Gas etwa 20'000 Kelvin hat, was im Vergleich zu typischen planetarischen Nebeln ungewöhnlich heiss ist.

Die äußeren Ränder des Nebels sind größtenteils auf das von Stickstoff emittierte Licht zurückzuführen. Die inneren Regionen sind Bereiche, in denen das Licht von Schwefel emittiert wird. Dies sind Regionen, in denen schnelles Gas den Stern überholt und mit langsamem Gas kollidiert, das den Stern zu einem früheren Zeitpunkt verlassen hat, wodurch Schockwellen im Gas entstehen. [522]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G349.5+01.0: NGC 6302, PK 349+01.1, ARO 502, ESO 392-05, Gum 60, He 2- 204, RCW 124, Sa 2- 180, Sh 1- 3, Sh 2- 6, VV 94, VV' 168, Wray 16- 259
Rektaszension (J2000.0)17h 13m 44s
Deklination (J2000.0)-37° 06' 06"
Abmessungen 44.5" (optisch), 10." (radio)
Radialgeschwindigkeit-39.0 km/s ± 2.1 km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 8.0 km/s (O-III)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG82 233, CD -36 11341, CPC 18 8579, GCRV 9926, HD 155520
Z-Stern Magnitude>21.1 mag (B filter)
EntdeckerFLEMING 1896

Auffindkarte

Der planetarische Nebel NGC 6302 befindet sich in der Nähe vom Stachel des Skorpions im Sternbild Scorpius. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist in den kurzen Sommernächten von Mai bis Juli, wenn der Teil des Sternbilds nachts am höchsten über dem südlichen Horizont steht. Ein Beobachtungsort mit freier Sicht gen Süden ist hier erforderlich, denn der Nebel kommt mit einer Deklination von -37° in der Schweiz gerade mal knapp 10° über den Horizont, wenn er im Meridian steht.

Karte Käfer-Nebel (NGC 6302)
Käfer-Nebel (NGC 6302) im Sternbild Scorpius. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
309«A Catalogue of Emission Nebulae Near the Galactic Plane» Sharpless, Stewart; Astrophysical Journal, vol. 118, p.362, November 1953; DOI:10.1086/145765; Bibcode:1953ApJ...118..362S
310«A Catalogue of H II Regions» Stewart Sharpless, US Naval Observatory, 1959; DOI:10.1086/190049; Bibcode:1959ApJS....4..257S
521NGC 6302; esahubble.org/images/heic2011b (2022-06-09)
522NGC 6302; nasa.gov/mission_pages/hubble/multimedia/ero/ero_ngc6302.html (2022-06-09)
555«A Survey of Southern HII Regions» Gum, Colin S.; Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society, Vol. 67, p.155, 1955; Bibcode:1955MmRAS..67..155G