Sh 2-155, Cave Nebula

Sharpless 2-155
Sharpless 2-155: Cave Nebula in Auriga; Meade Schmidt-Newton 254mm f/4; Canon EOS 20Da; ISO 1600; 15 x 362s; Observatory Oberes Schlierental, Obwalden; © 15. 7. 2007 Eduard von Bergen
Sharpless 2-155
Sharpless 2-155: Cave Nebula in Auriga; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher

Object Description

Sharpless 155 (Sh2-155, LBN 529) is a bright H-II region of a major nebula complex (Cepheus B molecular cloud) consisting of emission nebulae, reflection nebulae and dark nebulae, stretching over the constellation Cepheus. The nebula, about 2400 light-years away, is an active star-forming region. Young stars of the OB3 asterism are responsible for the ionization of the gas. Radiation from the hot O-type star HD 217086 is thought to be compressing gas in the region, triggering new star formation.

Sh2-155
Sh2-155: In visible light (DSS) and infrared (WISE) [147]

In the animated fig. 3 one can see how in the infrared (section WISE, Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer) the dust clouds emerge brightly, which appear dark in visible light (section DSS, STSci Digitized Sky Survey).

The name "Cave Nebula" probably goes back to the English amateur astronomer and book author Sir Patrick Moore and his Caldwell catalogue, which was published in Sky & Telescope in 1995. The arch in the nebula looks like the entrance of a cave. Sh2-155 is called Caldwell 9 here. The name «Cave Nebula» was also used for the reflection nebula Ced 201 and VdB 152. [299]

Further infos at CDS: Sh2-155

RA    : 22h 57m 05.9s
Dec   : +62° 38' 09"
Mag   : 7.7 mag
Grösse: 50' x 30'

Finder Chart

Sh2-155 is located in the eastern part of the Cepheus constellation. It is circumpolar for Central Europe. The best observation time is May to December.

Chart Sh 2-155
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
299Sh2-155; en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sh2-155 (2021-03-25)

Sh 2-155, Cave Nebula

Objektbeschreibung

Sharpless 2-155
Sharpless 2-155: Cave Nebula in Auriga; Meade Schmidt-Newton 254mm f/4; Canon EOS 20Da; ISO 1600; 15 x 362s; Sternwarte Oberes Schlierental, Obwalden; © 15. 7. 2007 Eduard von Bergen

Sharpless 155 (Sh2-155, LBN 529) ist ein helle H-II Region eines grösseren Nebelkomplexes (Cepheus B Molekülwolke) bestehend aus Emissionsnebeln, Reflexionsnebeln und Dunkelnebeln, der sich über das Sternbild Cepheus erstreckt. Der etwa 2400 Lichtjahre entfernte Nebel ist aktives Sternentstehungsgebiet. Für die Ionisierung des Gases sind junge Sterne der OB3 Sterngruppe verantwortlich. Es wird vermutet, das die Strahlung des heissen O-Typ Sterns HD 217086 das Gas in der Region komprimiert und so die Entstehung von neuen Sternen auslöst.

Sh2-155
Sharpless 155 im sichtbaren Licht (DSS) und im Infrarot (WISE). [147]

In der animierten Abb. 2 sieht man wie im Infraroten (Ausschnitt WISE, Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer) die Staubwolken leuchtend hervortreten, welche im sichtbaren Licht (Ausschnitt DSS, STSci Digitized Sky Survey) dunkel erscheinen.

Der Name «Cave Nebula» geht vermutlich auf den englischen Amateurastronomen und Buchautoren Sir Patrick Moore und seinen Caldwell-Katalog zurück, welcher 1995 in Sky & Telescope publiziert worden war. Der Bogen im Nebel sieht wie der Eingang einer Höhle aus. Sh2-155 trägt hier die Bezeichnung Caldwell 9. Der Name «Cave Nebula» wurde auch für den Reflexionsnebel Ced 201 bzw. VdB 152 verwendet. [299]

Weitere Infos bei CDS: Sh2-155

RA    : 22h 57m 05.9s
Dec   : +62° 38' 09"
Mag   : 7.7 mag
Grösse: 50' x 30'

Auffindkarte

Sh2-155 befindet sich im östlichen Teil des Sternbilds Cepheus. Er ist für Mitteleuropa zirkumpolar. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Mai bis Dezember.

Sh2-155 Karte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.