Galaxies NGC 2857 (Arp 1) & NGC 2854/6 (Arp 285)

NGC 2857 (Arp 1)
NGC 2857 (Arp 1): Galaxy in Ursa Major; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 260-60-60-60 min LRGB; Bernese Highland; © 2017 Radek Chromik [32]

History

On 9 March 1788 William Herschel found two nebulae with his 18.7 inch reflecting telescope. He cataloged them as III 713 and III 714 (class III = very faint nebulae). He noted both as «considerably faint, considerably small, little extended». [464] Later in 1888 Dreyer cataloged nebula III 713 as NGC 2856 and nebula III 714 as NGC 2854. [313]

The pretty face-on spiral nebula nearby was obviously overseen by Herschel. It remained unnoticed until 9 January 1856 when the Irish astronomer R. J. Mitchell, an assistant to William Parsons, 3rd Earl of Rosse, discovered it with the giant 72 inch «Leviathan of Birr Castle». [277] Dreyer cataloged it in 1888 as NGC 2857 and added the description: «very faint, pretty large, 4 stars preceding.» [313]

In 1966 Halton Arp published his «Atlas of Peculiar Galaxies», where he ordered galaxies into groups based on purely morphological criteria. The galaxy NGC 2857 was the first entry in his catalog in the first group «spiral galaxies, low surface brightness» (group #1-6). He just remarked: «High contrast print of low surface brightness spiral.» The pair of galaxies NGC 2854 and NGC 2856 received the designation Arp 285, classified as «double galaxies, infall and attraction» (group #281-286). He remarked: «Narrow tail leads away from northern nucleus.» [199]

Physical Properties

Simbad lists a distance of 73 Mpc for NGC 2857, 40 Mpc for NGC 2856 and 25-42 Mpc for NGC 2854. [145]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Name RA Dec Type bMag vMag B-V SB Dim PA z D(z) MD Dreyer Description Identification, Remarks
NGC 2854 09 24 02.9 +49 12 14 Gx (SBb) 13.8 13.0 0.8 12.8 1.6 × 0.6 50 0.009243 39.04 cF, cS, vlE, pglbM WH III 714; h 589; GC 1833; UGC 4995; MCG 8-17-92; CGCG 238-46; IRAS 09206+4925; Arp 285; KUG 0920+494A
NGC 2856 09 24 16.2 +49 14 57 Gx (Sbc) 14.0 13.2 0.8 12.4 1.1 × 0.5 134 0.008799 37.17 cF, cS, lE, bM WH III 713; h 591; GC 1836; UGC 4997; MCG 8-17-93; CGCG 238-47; IRAS 09208+4927; Arp 285; KUG 0920+494B
NGC 2857 09 24 37.7 +49 21 26 Gx (Sc) 12.9 12.3 0.6 13.7 2.2 × 2 138 0.016301 68.85 vF, pL, 4 st p GC 1834; UGC 5000; MCG 8-17-95; CGCG 238-49; Arp 1

Finder Chart

The galaxy NGC 2857 is located in the constellation Ursa Maior. The best viewing time is December to June when this circumpolar constellation is highest at night.

Finder Chart Galaxies NGC 2857 (Arp 1) & NGC 2854/6 (Arp 285)
Galaxies NGC 2857 (Arp 1) & NGC 2854/6 (Arp 285) in constellation Ursa Maior. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objects Within a Radius of 15°

References

Galaxien NGC 2857 (Arp 1) & NGC 2854/6 (Arp 285)

NGC 2857 (Arp 1)
NGC 2857 (Arp 1): Galaxie in Ursa Major; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 260-60-60-60 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2017 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Am 9. März 1788 entdeckte Wilhelm Herschel mit seinem 18.7 Zoll Spiegelteleskop zwei Nebel. Er katalogisierte sie als III 713 und III 714 (Klasse III = sehr schwache Nebel) und notierte zu beiden: «beträchtlich schwach, beträchtlich klein, wenig ausgedehnt». [464] Später im Jahr 1888 katalogisierte Dreyer den Nebel III 713 als NGC 2856 und den Nebel III 714 als NGC 2854. [313]

Der hübsche, frontale Spiralnebel in der Nähe wurde offensichtlich von Herschel übersehen. Er blieb bis zum 9. Januar 1856 unbemerkt, als der irische Astronom R. J. Mitchell, ein Assistent von William Parsons, 3. Earl of Rosse, ihn mit dem riesigen 72 Zoll «Leviathan von Birr Castle» entdeckte. [277] Dreyer katalogisierte den Nebel 1888 als NGC 2857 und fügte die Beschreibung hinzu: «sehr schwach, ziemlich groß, 4 Sterne vorausgehend». [313]

Im Jahr 1966 veröffentlichte Halton Arp seinen «Atlas of Peculiar Galaxies», in dem er Galaxien nach rein morphologischen Kriterien in Gruppen einordnete. Die Galaxie NGC 2857 war der erste Eintrag in seinem Katalog in der ersten Gruppe «Spiralgalaxien, geringe Oberflächenhelligkeit» (Gruppe #1-6). Er bemerkte lediglich: «Kontrastreicher Abdruck einer Spirale mit geringer Oberflächenhelligkeit». Das Galaxienpaar NGC 2854 und NGC 2856 erhielt die Bezeichnung Arp 285, klassifiziert als «Doppelgalaxien, Einfall und Anziehung» (Gruppe #281-286). Er bemerkte: «Ein schmaler Schweif führt vom nördlichen Kern weg.» [199]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Simbad listet eine Entfernung von 73 Mpc für NGC 2857, 40 Mpc für NGC 2856 und 25-42 Mpc für NGC 2854. [145]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypbMagvMagDimDreyer BeschreibungIdentifikation, Anmerkungen
NGC 285409 24 02.9+49 12 14Gx (SBb)13.813.01.6 × 0.6cF, cS, vlE, pglbMUGC 4995, MCG 8-17-92, CGCG 238-46, IRAS 09206+4925, Arp 285, KUG 0920+494A
NGC 285609 24 16.2+49 14 57Gx (Sbc)14.013.21.1 × 0.5cF, cS, lE, bMUGC 4997, MCG 8-17-93, CGCG 238-47, IRAS 09208+4927, Arp 285, KUG 0920+494B
NGC 285709 24 37.7+49 21 26Gx (Sc)12.912.32.2 × 2vF, pL, 4 st pUGC 5000, MCG 8-17-95, CGCG 238-49, Arp 1

Auffindkarte

Die Galaxie NGC 2857 befindet sich im Sternbild Ursa Maior. Sie kann von Dezember bis Juni, wenn das zirkumpolare Sternbild nachts am höchsten am Himmel steht.

Karte Galaxien NGC 2857 (Arp 1) & NGC 2854/6 (Arp 285)
Galaxien NGC 2857 (Arp 1) & NGC 2854/6 (Arp 285) im Sternbild Ursa Maior. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
199«Atlas Of Peculiar Galaxies», Halton Arp, 1966; Astrophysical Journal Supplement, vol. 14, p.1 (1966); DOI:10.1086/190147; Bibcode:1966ApJS...14....1A
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
313«A New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars, being the Catalogue of the late Sir John F.W. Herschel, Bart., revised, corrected, and enlarged» Dreyer, J. L. E. (1888); Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society. 49: 1–237; Bibcode:1888MmRAS..49....1D
464«Catalogue of a second thousand of new nebulae and clusters of stars; with a few introductory remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1789; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1789.0021