Clusters M 35, NGC 2158

Object Description

M 35 + NGC 2158
M 35 + NGC 2158: Messier 35 (left) and NGC 2158 (right); 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 30+15+15+15 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

The open star cluster M 35 was discovered by the Swiss astronomer Philippe de Cheseaux in 1745. He stated its location as «over the northern feet of Gemini». Although he did not give any coordinates, the identification seems certain. Messier noted that the star cluster was listed in Jon Bevis' 1750 star atlas, along with several other bright nebulae and star clusters known at the time. M 35 is approximately 830 pc to 1185 pc (2700 to 3800 light years) away. Its core is about 20 minutes of arc in diameter. Scattered outsiders reach out about twice as much. These apparent sizes correspond to about 15 and 30 light years. About 120 of a total of about 500 stars in the cluster are brighter than magnitude 13. The hottest stars belong to spectral class B3, but there are also some yellow and orange giants of type G and K to be found. The age is estimated to be around 100 million years. Studies of the speed distribution show that in the central area of ​​10 light years there are about 2000 solar masses and the entire cluster has about double that. [4, 145, 196]

About half a degree southwest of M 35 is NGC 2158, discovered by Wilhelm Herschel on November 16, 1784. This is a very rich and distant star cluster. Several thousand stars in an area of about five minutes of arc. The unusually large number of stars and their symmetrical distributions suggest that this is an intermediate stage from an open star cluster to a globular cluster, but the cluster does not show the central density typical of globular clusters. The cluster is estimated to be over a billion years old, so the hottest stars in the main sequence are F0-type and it has many orange and red giants. Too young for globular clusters, which are about ten times as old. Distance measurements show a distance of 4000 pc to 8472 pc (13'000 to 27'000 light years). The star cluster is thus on the outer edge of our galaxy. [4, 145, 196]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypeBmagVmagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification
NGC 2158 06 07 25.6+24 05 46OCL (II3r)8.65.00Cl, pS, mC, vRi, irr Δ, st eSOCL 468
NGC 2168 06 09 00.0+24 21 00OCL (III2m)5.125.00Cl, vL, cRi, pC, st 9...16M 35, OCL 466

Finder Chart

The cluster is located in the constellation Gemini. Best observing season in Switzerland and other locations at roughly the same latitude is October through April.

Chart Messier 35
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

400 mm aperture: The two clusters show an impressive view using the 21 mm Ethos eyepiece at 85x magnification. They both fit into same field of view. I like the contrast of an loose open cluster with bright stars (M 35) between a smaller, denseer open cluster with fainter stars (NGC 2158). Some reddish and blueish stars pop out in M 35. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Bernd Nies, Glaubenberg Langis, February 28, 2022

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Sternhaufen M 35, NGC 2158

Objektbeschreibung

M 35 + NGC 2158
M 35 + NGC 2158: Messier 35 (links) und NGC 2158 (rechts); 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 30+15+15+15 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Der offene Sternhaufen M 35 wurde 1745 vom Schweizer Astronomen Philippe de Cheseaux entdeckt. Er gab seine Lage als «über den nördlichen Füßen von Gemini» an. Obwohl er keine Koordinaten angab, scheint die Identifikation sicher zu sein. Messier notierte, dass der Sternhaufen im Sternatlas von Jon Bevis aus 1750 verzeichnet war, zusammen mit mit einigen anderen damals bekannten hellen Nebeln und Sternhaufen. M 35 befindet sich in einer Entfernung von etwa 830 pc bis 1185 pc (2700 bis 3800 Lichtjahre). Sein Kern misst etwa 20 Bogenminuten im Durchmesser. Verstreute Außenseiter reichen etwa das Doppelte hinaus. Diese scheinbaren Größen entsprechen etwa 15 und 30 Lichtjahren. Etwa 120 von ingesamt ungefähr 500 Sternen in dem Haufen sind heller als 13. Größenklasse. Die heißesten Sterne gehören zur Spektralklasse B3, aber es kommen auch einige gelbe und orange Riesen des Typs G und K vor. Das Alter wird auf etwa 100 Millionen Jahre geschätzt. Studien der Geschwindigkeitsverteilung zeigen, dass sich im zentralen Berich von 10 Lichtjahren etwa 2000 Sonnenmassen befinden und der gesamte Haufen etwa das Doppelte besitzt. [4, 145, 196]

Etwa ein halbes Grad südwestlich von M 35 befindet sich NGC 2158, entdeckt von Wilhelm Herschel am 16. November 1784. Es handelt sich hier um einen sehr reichhaltigen und entfernten Sternhaufen. Mehrere tausend Sterne auf einer Fläche von etwa fünf Bogenminuten. Die ungewöhnlich vielen Sterne und deren symmetrische Verteilungen lassen vermuten, dass es sich hier um eine Zwischenstufe von offenen Sternhaufen zu einem Kugelsternhaufen handelt, doch zeigt der Haufen nicht die für Kugelsternhaufen typische zentrale Dichte. Das Alter des Haufens wird auf über eine Milliarde Jahre geschätzt, so sind die heißesten Sterne der Hauptreihe des Typs F0 und es hat viele orange und rote Riesen. Zu jung für Kugelsternhaufen, welche etwa zehnmal so alt sind. Entfernungsmessungen zeigen eine Distanz von 4000 pc bis 8472 pc (13'000 bis 27'000 Lichtjahre). Der Sternhaufen befindet sich somit am äußeren Rand unserer Galaxis. [4, 145, 196]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypBmagVmagDimDreyer BeschreibungIdentifikation
NGC 2158 06 07 25.6+24 05 46OCL (II3r)8.65.00Cl, pS, mC, vRi, irr Δ, st eSOCL 468
NGC 2168 06 09 00.0+24 21 00OCL (III2m)5.125.00Cl, vL, cRi, pC, st 9...16M 35, OCL 466

Auffindkarte

Der Cluster befindet sich im Sternbild Zwillinge. Die beste Beobachtungszeit in der Schweiz und an anderen Orten auf ungefähr demselben Breitengrad ist von Oktober bis April.

Karte Messier 35
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

400 mm Öffnung: Die beiden Cluster zeigen mit dem 21 mm Ethos-Okular bei 85-facher Vergrößerung ein beeindruckendes Bild. Beide passen in das gleiche Sichtfeld. Ich mag den Kontrast eines lockeren offenen Sternhaufens mit hellen Sternen (M 35) zwischen einem kleineren, dichteren offenen Sternhaufen mit schwächeren Sternen (NGC 2158). Einige rötliche und bläuliche Sterne stechen in M 35 hervor. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Bernd Nies, Glaubenberg Langis, 28. Februar 2022

Quellenangaben

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)