Open Cluster Messier 34

Messier 34
Messier 34: Section of the STScI Digitized Sky Survey [147]

History

The discovery of M 34 can be attributed to the Italian astronomer Giovanni Hodierna in 1654. Unfortunately, the publication of his discovered and now famous nebula found little notice outside his homeland of Sicily. It so happened that it was unknown to Charles Messier when he rediscovered the star cluster on August 25, 1764. He noted: «A cluster of small stars, a little below the parallel γ Andromedae; in an ordinary telescope of three feet [focal length] the stars can be distinguished.» [4, 194]

Physical Properties

M 34 is an open star cluster according to the Trumpler classification II3m. According to distance information on Simbad, it is located at a distance of about 1600 light years and is moving in our direction at about 7 km/s. The age is estimated to be around 100 to 200 million years. The cluster will slowly dissolve over time as it migrates around the center. [145, 196]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 1039
TypeOCL (II3m)
Right Ascension02h 42m 05.0s
Declination+42° 45' 42"
Diameter25.00 arcmin
Visual magnitude5.2 mag
Dreyer DescriptionCl, B, vL, lC, sc st 9
IdentificationM 34, OCL 382

Finder Chart

The open star cluster M 34 is located in the constellation Perseus approximately in the middle between Algol (β Persei) and Almach (γ1 Andromedae). It is visible to the naked eye on a dark night, preferably from September to February.

Chart Messier 34
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
194NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED); ned.ipac.caltech.edu (2020-12-27)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Offener Sternhaufen Messier 34

Objektbeschreibung

M 34 DSS
M 34: Ausschnitt aus dem STScI Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Die Entdeckung von M 34 kann dem italienischen Astronomen Giovanni Hodierna im Jahre 1654 zugeschrieben werden. Leider fand die Publikation seiner entdeckten und heute berühmten Nebel wenig Notiz ausserhalb seiner Heimat Sizilien. So kam es, dass sie Charles Messier unbekannt war, als er den Sternhaufen am 25. August 1764 erneut entdeckte. Er notierte dazu: «Ein Haufen kleiner Sterne, etwas unterhalb des parallelen γ Andromedae; in einem gewöhnlichen Teleskop von drei Fuss [Brennweite] lassen sich die Sterne unterscheiden.» [4, 194]

Bei M 34 handelt es sich um einen offenen Sternhaufen nach der Trumpler-Klassifikation II3m. Entfernungsangaben auf Simbad zufolge befindet er sich in einer Distanz von etwa 1600 Lichtjahren und bewegt sich mit etwa 7 km/s in unserer Richtung. Das Alter wird auf etwa 100 bis 200 Millionen Jahre geschätzt. Der Haufen wird sich bei seiner Wanderung rund um das Zentrum mit der Zeit langsam auflösen. [145, 196]

«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» von J.L.E. Dreyer, nachbearbeitet 1988 von Roger W. Sinnott [142].
NameNGC 1039
TypOC
RA / Dec (B2000.0)02h 42.0m / +42° 47'
SternbildPer
Durchmesser35. '
vMag5.2
BeschreibungCl, B, vL, lC, sc st 9; = M34

Auffindkarte

Der offene Sternhaufen M 34 befindet sich im Sternbild Perseus ungefähr in der Mitte zwischen Algol (β Persei) und Almach (γ1 Andromedae). Er ist in einer dunklen Nacht von blossem Auge sichtbar, am besten von September bis Februar.

Karte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro [149] und STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160] erstellt.

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.