Barnards Galaxy (NGC 6822)

NGC 6822
NGC 6822: Image taken with the 2.2 meter MPG/ESO telescope of the ESO Observatory on La Silla in Chile [275]

History

This irregular dwarf galaxy was discovered on 17 August 1884 by American astronomer Edward Emerson Barnard using the 6 inch Cook refractor at Vanderbilt Observatory in Nashville, Tennessee. Barnard's galaxy was recorded as NGC 6822 by Dreyer in his «New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars», published in 1888. Due to a series of confusions with later observations by Herbert Howe and Max Wolf, who used larger telescopes and did not see the galaxy as a whole, the same object was included in Dreyer's later «Index Catalogue» with the designations IC 1380 for a single H-II region (Hubble-X) and IC 4895 for the whole group of H-II regions in the galaxy.

Hubble-X (IC 1308)
Hubble-X (IC 1308): Image taken with Hubble Space Telescope. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [276]

Physical Properties

Like our Milky Way and the Andromeda galaxy, NGC 6822 belongs to the Local Group. At a distance of about 1.6 million light-years, it is closer than the Andromeda galaxy, but measures just 8000 light-years in diameter. Numerous H-II regions heated by young hot stars are evidence of active star formation. The stellar population is comparable to that of the Magellanic Clouds. The image in Fig. 1 was taken with four different filters (B, V, R, and Hα) and measures 34' x 35'. [4, 196, 274, 275]

Fig. 2 shows a Hubble Space Telescope image of the H-II region of the active star-forming region Hubble-X (IC 1308). This glowing cloud of gas is about 110 light-years across and hosts several thousand newly formed stars at its center. Hubble-X is many times larger and brighter than the Orion Nebula, which is about the size of the small, poorly resolved nebula below. The designation Hubble-X refers to Edwin's 1923 study of the H-II regions in this dwarf galaxy and is a Roman ten. [276]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypebMagvMagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification, Remarks
NGC 682219 44 56.6-14 48 23Gx (IBm)9.38.715.4 × 14.2vF, L, E, difIC 4895, MCG -2-50-6, DDO 209, IRAS 19421-1455, Barnard's galaxy
IC 130819 45 05.2-14 43 17GxyP14.00.6eF, eS, lE, gbM, 6822 p 12sLBN 83, part of N 6822
IC 489519 44 56.6-14 48 23dup9.38.715.4 × 14.2Group of neb, 25' diamNGC 6822, MCG -2-50-6, DDO 209, IRAS 19421-1455, Barnard's galaxy

Finder Chart

Neighboring dwarf galaxy NGC 6822 is in the constellation Sagittarius, actually closer to Capricornus. It is slightly west of midpoint between α12 Capricorni and υ Sagittarii. It is best seen from June to August. The apparent size of the dwarf galaxy and the low surface brightness assume a dark southern sky.

Chart Barnards Galaxy (NGC 6822)
Barnards Galaxy (NGC 6822) in constellation Sagittarius. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
274NGC 6822 von Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke/Artikel/NGC6822.pdf (2021-02-17)
275Barnard's Galaxy; eso.org/public/images/eso0938a (2021-02-17)
276Hubble X: A glowing gas cloud in the star-forming region of galaxy NGC 6822; hubblesite.org/contents/media/images/2001/01/1012-Image.html (2021-02-17)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Barnards Galaxie (NGC 6822)

NGC 6822
NGC 6822: Aufnahme mit dem 2.2 Meter MPG/ESO Teleskop der ESO Sternwarte auf La Silla in Chile [275]

Geschichte

Diese irreguläre Zwerggalaxie wurdem am 17. August 1884 von amerikanischen Astronomen Edward Emerson Barnard mit dem 6"-Cook-Refraktor des Vanderbilt Observatoriums in Nashville, Tennessee entdeckt. Später wurde Barnards Galaxie von Dreyer als NGC 6822 in seinen 1888 erschienenen «New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars» als NGC 6882 aufgenommen. Durch eine Reihe von Verwechslungen mit späteren Beobachtungen durch Herbert Howe und Max Wolf, welche grössere Teleskope benutzten und die Galaxie nicht als Ganzes erkannten, erhielt dasselbe Objekt im später erschienenen «Index Catalogue» von Dreyer noch die Bezeichung IC 1380 für eine einzelne H-II Region (Hubble-X) und IC 4895 für die ganze Gruppe von H-II Regionen in der Galaxie.

Hubble-X (IC 1308)
Hubble-X (IC 1308): Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [276]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

NGC 6822 gehört wie unsere Milchstrasse und die Andromeda-Galaxie zur Lokalen Gruppe. Sie liegt mit einer Entfernung von etwa 1.6 Millionen Lichtjahren näher als die Andromeda-Galaxie, misst aber gerade mal 8000 Lichtjahre im Durchmesser. Zahlreiche H-II Regionen aufgeheizt von jungen heissen Sternen zeugen von aktiver Sternentstehung. Die stellare Population ist mit derer der Magellanschen Wolken vergleichbar. Das Bild in Abb. 1 wurde mit vier verschiedenen Filtern (B, V, R, und Hα) aufgenommen und misst 34' x 35'. [4, 196, 274, 275]

Abb. 2 zeigt eine Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop der H-II Region des aktiven Sternentstehungsgebietes Hubble-X (IC 1308). Diese leuchtende Gaswolke misst etwa 110 Lichtjahre im Durchmesser und beherbergt mehrere tausend neu entstandener Sterne in ihrem Zentrum. Hubble-X ist um ein vielfaches grösser und heller als der Orionnebel, welcher etwa die Grösse des kleinen, kaum aufgelösten Nebels darunter besitzt. Die Bezeichnung Hubble-X bezieht sich auf eine von Edwin 1923 gemachte Studie der H-II Regionen in dieser Zwerggalaxie und ist eine römische Zehn. [276]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypbMagvMagDimDreyer BeschreibungIdentifikation, Anmerkungen
NGC 682219 44 56.6-14 48 23Gx (IBm)9.38.715.4 × 14.2vF, L, E, difIC 4895, MCG -2-50-6, DDO 209, IRAS 19421-1455, Barnard's galaxy
IC 130819 45 05.2-14 43 17GxyP14.00.6eF, eS, lE, gbM, 6822 p 12sLBN 83, part of N 6822
IC 489519 44 56.6-14 48 23dup9.38.715.4 × 14.2Group of neb, 25' diamNGC 6822, MCG -2-50-6, DDO 209, IRAS 19421-1455, Barnard's galaxy

Auffindkarte

Die benachbarte Zwerggalaxie NGC 6822 befindet sich im Sternbild Sagittarius (Schützen), eigentlich näher zum Capricornus (Steinbock). Er befindet sich etwas westlich der Mitte zwischen α12 Capricorni und υ Sagittarii. Von Juni bis August ist er am besten zu beobachten. Die scheinbare Grösse der Zwerggalaxie und die geringe Flächenhelligkeit setzen einen dunklen Südhimmel voraus.

Karte Barnards Galaxie (NGC 6822)
Barnards Galaxie (NGC 6822) im Sternbild Sagittarius. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
274NGC 6822 von Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke/Artikel/NGC6822.pdf (2021-02-17)
275Barnard's Galaxy; eso.org/public/images/eso0938a (2021-02-17)
276Hubble X: A glowing gas cloud in the star-forming region of galaxy NGC 6822; hubblesite.org/contents/media/images/2001/01/1012-Image.html (2021-02-17)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)