Thor's Helmet, Duck Nebula (NGC 2359)

Object Description

NGC 2359
NGC 2359: Thors Helmet in Canis Maior; Vixen ED-Apochromat 115 mm f/7.7, Canon EOS 20Da; 6 x 483 s, 1600 ISO; Langis 1480 m elevation; © 31. 1. 2006 Eduard von Bergen

This odd nebula, known today as NGC 2359 was discovered on 31 January 1785 by William Herschel through his 18.7 inch reflector telescope. He cataloged it as V 21 and noted: «A broad extended nebulosity. Forms a parallelogram with a ray southwards; the parallelogram 8' long 6' broad very faint». [463]. Herschel's son John was reminded of a bust depicting the head and shoulders by the sight of the nebula.

NGC 2359
NGC 2359: Image by David Malin using the 3.9m-Anglo Australian Telescope

It is an emission nebula around a 10.4 mag Wolf-Rayet star (WR). These stars are characterized by very high temperatures and an extremely strong mass loss due to stellar winds. As with the Bubble Nebula (NGC 7635) in the constellation Cassiopeia, a spherical gas bubble was also formed here by the strong stellar winds. When the dense stellar wind meets the surrounding interstellar medium, violent collisions and turbulence occur. Spectral analyzes also show that the nebula consists of a mixture of stellar wind matter and the interstellar medium.

The western part of this nebula is called IC 468 because it is much fainter than the rest and was therefore not discovered until 25 February 1887 by the French astronomer Guillaume Bigourdan and noted by Dreyer in the Index catalog in 1895 would. However, this IC number is usually neglected today. [277]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypebMagvMagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification, Remarks
NGC 235907 18 30.0-13 15 50EN11.56 × 4!!, vF, vvL, viFLBN 1041
NGC 236107 18 23.7-13 12 32ENvvF, vSpart of N 2359
IC 46807 17 18.9-13 13 07*3vF neby, perhaps 2 or 3 st inv

How to find the Wolf-Rayet Nebula?

NGC 2359 lies in the northeastern part of Canis Maior. It is found on the Samoth (α Monocerotis) — Muliphein (γ Canis Majoris) junction, a third closer to Muliphein, between the two open star clusters NGC 2374 and NGC 2345. The nebula has about the same declination as these two star clusters and lies about on the eastern third closer to NGC 2374. The best viewing time is December to February.

Chart Thor's Helmet, Duck Nebula (NGC 2359)
Thor's Helmet, Duck Nebula (NGC 2359) in constellation Canis Maior. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

200 mm aperture: Without a filter, NGC 2359 reveals itself only as a faint, diffuse glow. But as soon as you mount an O-III filter, the object becomes a feast for the eyes! Around the 10.4 mag Wolf-Rayet star, the brighter area becomes visible at the edge of the gas bubble. There are also three «arms» that emanate from the edges of the bubble and give the nebula a peculiar appearance. — 1996, Philipp Reza Heck

NGC 2359
NGC 2359: Zeichnung; 300mm f/4 Newton; © 1996 Stefan Meister

300 mm aperture: The description of the object at 300 mm aperture is approximately the same as at 200 mm. The nebula is brighter with the larger aperture and the contrast of the nebula structures is stronger, so that finer details can be seen. The use of an O-III filter also brings a clear benefit here. — 1996, Stefan Meister

320 mm aperture: The nebula can only be made out faintly without a filter in a slightly hazy sky. However, it is sufficient to identify its position with certainty. With the O-III filter, the shape of the nebula emerges more clearly and you can see the shape of the helmet with the two wings. We couldn't agree on whether it was the helmet of Thor or the one of Asterix. — 5. 2. 2022, Ibergeregg, Stefans 320 mm f/5 Dobsonian, Bernd Nies

400 mm aperture: The nebula can be seen without a filter in the 21 mm Ethos eyepiece (85x). With the O-III filter, its round shape with the two horns comes out well. In the 16 mm Nagler (112x), light and dark areas can be seen in the nebula. One of the horns appears a little brighter. Edi thinks it looks like a Playboy bunny. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 6. 11. 2021, Bernd Nies

762 mm aperture: The round central part of the Viking helmet NGC 2359 and the extension to an inverted six or to the Playboy bunny symbol can be seen without a nebula filter. With the O-III filter, the second horn of the Viking helmet also becomes clearly visible. The object can be seen most completely with the UHC filter, and a third faint extension can also be seen. — 30" f/3.3 Slipstream Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 5. 3. 2022, Eduard von Bergen

1000 mm aperture: In poor conditions (thin clouds, ice-cold violent Mistral) NGC 2359 appeared without a filter only as a diffuse, structureless nebula even in the 1m telescope of Puimichel. However, the use of an O-III filter changed everything: A high-contrast, green glowing nebula with an unbelievable wealth of structure was revealed! The view offered to us with a telescope aperture of one meter came very close to photographic images (see AAT image above). There was a bubble that got brighter at the edge and the bright WR star was in the center. The «arms» emanating from the bubble showed an irregular distribution of brightness. — 1996, Philipp Reza Heck

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
463«Catalogue of one thousand new nebulae and clusters of stars» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1786; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1786.0027

Thors Helm, Entennebel (NGC 2359)

Objektbeschreibung

NGC 2359
NGC 2359: Thors Helm in Canis Maior; Vixen ED-Apochromat 115 mm f/7.7, Canon EOS 20Da; 6 x 483 s, 1600 ISO; Langis 1480 m ü.M; © 31. 1. 2006 Eduard von Bergen

Der seltsame Gasnebel, der heute als NGC 2359 bezeichnet wird, wurde im am 31. Januar 1785 von Wilhelm Herschel mit seinem 18.7 Zoll Spiegelteleskop entdeckt. Er katalogisierte ihn als V 21 und notierte: «Eine ausgedehnter Nebel. Bildet ein Parallelogramm mit einem Strahl nach Süden; das Parallelogramm 8' lang 6' breit, sehr schwach» Herschel Sohn John erinnerte der Anblick des Nebels an eine Büste, die Kopf und Schultern darstellt.

NGC 2359
NGC 2359: Aufnahme von David Malin mit dem 3.9m-Anglo Australian Telescope

Es handelt sich um einen Emissionsnebel um einen 10.4 mag hellen Wolf-Rayet Stern (WR). Diese Sterne zeichnen sich durch sehr hohe Temperaturen und einen extrem starken Massenverlust durch Sternwinde aus. Wie auch beim Bubble Nebula (NGC 7635) im Sternbild Cassiopeia wurde auch hier durch die starken Sternwinde eine sphärische Gasblase gebildet. Wenn der dichte Sternwind auf das umgebende interstellare Medium trifft, kommt es zu gewaltigen Kollisionen und Verwirbelungen. Spektralanalysen zeigen denn auch, dass der Nebel aus einem Gemisch von Sternwindmaterie und interstellarem Medium besteht.

Der westliche Teil dieses Nebelgebildes trägt die Bezeichnung IC 468, da er sehr viel lichtschwächer als der restliche ist und somit erst am 25. Februar 1887 vom französischen Astronomen Guillaume Bigourdan entdeckt und 1895 von Dreyer im Index-Katalog vermerkt wurde. Meist wird heute diese IC-Nummer jedoch vernachlässigt. [277]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypbMagvMagDimDreyer BeschreibungIdentifikation, Anmerkungen
NGC 235907 18 30.0-13 15 50EN11.56 × 4!!, vF, vvL, viFLBN 1041
NGC 236107 18 23.7-13 12 32ENvvF, vSpart of N 2359
IC 46807 17 18.9-13 13 07*3vF neby, perhaps 2 or 3 st inv

Wie findet man den Wolf-Rayet Nebel?

NGC 2359 liegt im nordöstlichen Teil des Großen Hunds (Canis Maior). Man findet ihn auf der Verbindung von Samoth (α Monocerotis) — Muliphein (γ Canis Majoris), ein Drittel näher zu Muliphein, zwischen den beiden offenen Sternhaufen NGC 2374 und NGC 2345. Der Nebel hat etwa dieselbe Deklination wie diese beiden Sternhaufen und liegt etwa auf dem östlichen Drittel näher zu NGC 2374. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Dezember bis Februar.

Karte Thors Helm, Entennebel (NGC 2359)
Thors Helm, Entennebel (NGC 2359) im Sternbild Canis Maior. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

200 mm Öffnung: Ohne Filter offenbart sich NGC 2359 lediglich als schwaches, diffuses Leuchten. Sobald man aber ein O-III-Filter montiert, wird das Objekt zu einem Augenschmaus! Um den 10.4 mag hellen Wolf-Rayet Stern wird der hellere Bereich am Rand der Gasblase sichtbar. Ausserdem zeigen sich drei 'Arme' die vom Randbereich der Blase ausgehen und dem Nebel ein eigentümliches Aussehen verleihen. — 1996, Philipp Reza Heck

NGC 2359
NGC 2359: Zeichnung; 300mm f/4 Newton; © 1996 Stefan Meister

300 mm Öffnung: Die Beschreibung des Objekts bei 300 mm Öffnung entspricht etwa der bei 200 mm. Der Nebel ist bei der größeren Öffnung heller und der Kontrast der Nebelstrukturen stärker, so dass feinere Details erkannt werden können. Der Einsatz eines O-III-Filters bringt auch hier einen deutlichen Gewinn. — 1996, Stefan Meister

320 mm Öffnung: Der Nebel ist ohne Filter bei leicht diesigem Himmel nur schwach auszumachen. Es genügt aber, um seine Position sicher zu identifizieren. Mit O-III Filter tritt die Form des Nebels deutlicher hervor und man erkennt die Form des Helms mit den beiden Flügeln gut. Ob es sich um den Helm von Thor oder von Asterix handelte, waren wir uns nicht einig. — 5. 2. 2022, Ibergeregg, Stefans 320 mm f/5 Dobsonian, Bernd Nies

400 mm Öffnung: Im 21 mm Ethos Okular (85-fach) ist der Nebel ohne Filter erkennbar. Mit O-III Filter tritt seine runde Form mit den zwei Hörnern gut hervor. Im 16 mm Nagler (112-fach) sind im Nebel helle und dunkle Bereiche zu erkennen. Eines der Hörner erscheint dabei etwas heller. Edi meint, es sähe aus wie ein Playboy-Häschen. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 6. 11. 2021, Bernd Nies

762 mm Öffnung: Vom Wikingerhelm NGC 2359 ist ohne Nebelfilter der runde zentrale Teil und der Ausläufer zu einer verkehrten Sechs bzw. zum Playboy-Hasen-Symbol erkennbar. Mit O-III-Filter wird auch das zweite Horn des Wikingerhelms deutlich sichtbar. Mit UHC-Filter ist das Objekt am vollständigsten ersichtlich, auch ein dritter schwacher Ausläufer wird erkennbar. — 30" f/3.3 Slipstream Dobsonian, Hasliberg Reuti, 5. 3. 2022, Eduard von Bergen

1000 mm Öffnung: Bei schlechten Bedingungen (dünne Wolken, eiskalter heftiger Mistral) erschien NGC 2359 ohne Filter auch im 1m-Teleskop von Puimichel nur als diffuser, strukturloser Nebel. Der Einsatz eines O-III-Filter änderte jedoch alles: Es zeigte sich ein kontrastreicher, grün leuchtender Nebel mit unglaublichen Strukturreichtum! Der Anblick der sich uns bei einem Meter Teleskopöffnung erbot, kam sehr nahe an photographische Aufnahmen heran (siehe AAT-Bild oben). Es zeigte sich eine am Rand heller werdende Blase in deren Zentrum der helle WR Stern saß. Die von der Blase ausgehenden 'Arme' zeigten eine unregelmäßige Helligkeitsverteilung. — 1996, Philipp Reza Heck

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)