NGC 6826, Blinking Planetary

NGC 6826
NGC 6826: Blinking Planetary in Cygnus; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 95+3*30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2015 Radek Chromik

History

The planetary nebula was discovered by William Herschel on September 6, 1793 and cataloged as IV 73. He wrote about it: «A bright point, a little extended, like two points close to one another, as bright as a star of the 8.9 magnitude, surrounded by a very bright milky nebulosity suddenly terminated, having the appearance of a planetary nebula with a lucid centre; the border however is not very well defined. It is perfectly round, and I suppose about half a minute in diameter. It is of a middle species, between the planetary nebulae and nebulous stars, and is a beautiful phenomenon.» [465]

Physical Properties

The distance of NGC 6826 is about 2000 to 2200 light years. Like all planetary nebulae, this is the remains of a red giant that has shed its outer layer of gas, leaving a hot, dense white dwarf star at its center. Our sun will meet the same fate in a few billion years. The most striking feature are two clouds of ionized gas, so-called FLIERS (Fast Low-Ionization Emission Region), which propagate along the axis of symmetry at supersonic speeds. These appear to be of recent date. [187, 196]

NGC 6826
NGC 6826: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope [187]

NGC 6826 earned its nickname «Blinking Planetary» because the nebula is blinded by the bright central star when viewed directly. The nebula only becomes visible if you look slightly past, since the retina of the eye is more sensitive to light outside the visual foveer. Other planetary nebulae show the same effect.

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G083.5+12.7: NGC 6826, PK 83+12.1, ARO 13, VV 242, VV' 514
Right Ascension (J2000.0)19h 44m 49s
Declination (J2000.0)50° 31' 30"
Dimensions 25." (optical)
Distance 1.09 kpc
Radial Velocity-6.2 km/s ± 0.6 km/s
Expansion Velocity 11. km/s (O-III)
C-Star DesignationsAG +50 1416, AG82 383, BD +50 2869, DC 37693, EM* CDS 1096, GCRV 12124, HD 186924, PLX 4649, SAO 31951, TD1 25412
C-Star Magnitude10.33 mag (B filter), 10.41 mag (V filter)
C-Star Spectral TypeO3f(H)
DiscovererHERSCHEL 1793

Finder Chart

Blinking planetary nebula NGC 6826 is located at the western wingtip of the constellation Cygnus, near the winged stars Al Fawaris (δ Cygni) and ι2 Cygni. On a clear, dark night, the 6 mag faint binary star 16 Cygni should be visible to the well dark-adapted eye. This is only half a degree away from NGC 6826. The PN should be easy to find using the close-up from 16 Cygni.

Chart NGC 6826
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

NGC 6826
NGC 6826: Pencil drawing; 14" PWO-Dobson f/4.6, TV-Nagler-Zoom 4 mm, 400x, 0.19°; Honegg 1460 m; © 23. 6. 2003, 02:45 Eduard von Bergen

350 mm aperture: Blinking planetary nebula NGC 6826 lives up to its name. It often strikes you as a faint, fine, rounded little nebula. If one immediately wants to hold the nebula with direct vision, it already disappears and the 10.4 mag bright central star emerges. You can continue this game at will. You can see the nebula disc with averted vision, the central star directly. At high magnification, e.g. 400x, the nebula and the central star remain visible at the same time. The blinking effect is further lost even with a nebula filter. In this, the nebula predominates and the central star is often completely swallowed up by the filter in small telescopes. [192]

14" PWO-Dobson, F:4.6 / TV-Nagler-Zoom 4mm, 400x, 0.13° / with and without OIII filter
Eduard von Bergen

References

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
187Hubble's planetary nebula gallery. A view of NGC 6826; esahubble.org/images/opo9738d (2020-12-24)
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
465«Catalogue of 500 new nebulae, nebulous stars, planetary nebula:, and clusters of stars; with remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1802; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1802.0021

NGC 6826, Blinkender Planetarischer

NGC 6826
NGC 6826: Blinkender Planetarischer Nebel in Cygnus; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 95+3*30 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2015 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Der Planetarische Nebel wurde am 6. September 1793 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt und als IV 73 katalogisiert. Er schrieb darüber: «Ein heller Punkt, ein wenig ausgedehnt, wie zwei Punkte nahe beieinander, so hell wie ein Stern der Größe 8.9, umgeben von einem sehr hellen, milchigen Nebel, endet plötzlich und hat das Aussehen eines planetarischen Nebels mit einem klaren Zentrum; die Grenze ist jedoch nicht sehr gut definiert. Es ist perfekt rund, und ich schätze ungefähr eine halbe Minute im Durchmesser. Es gehört zu einer mittleren Art zwischen den planetarischen Nebeln und nebligen Sternen und ist ein wunderschönes Phänomen.» [465]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Die Entfernung von NGC 6826 beträgt etwa 2000 bis 2200 Lichtjahre. Wie alle planetarische Nebel handelt es sich hier um die Überreste eines Roten Riesen, welcher seine äussere Gashülle abgestossen hat und im Zentrum in heisser, dichter Weisser Zwergstern übrig liess. Unsere Sonne wird in ein paar Milliarden Jahren dasselbe Schicksal ereilen. Die markanteste Eigenschaft sind zwei Wolken ionisierten Gases, sogenannte FLIERS (Fast Low-Ionization Emission Region), welche sich mit Überschallgeschwindigkeit entlang der Symmetrieachse ausbreiten. Diese scheinen jüngeren Datums zu sein. [187, 196]

NGC 6826
NGC 6826: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop [187]

NGC 6826 erhielt seinen Spitznamen "Blinkender Planetarischer", weil der Nebel bei direktem Hinsehen vom hellen Zentralstern überblendet wird. Erst wenn man leicht vorbei schaut, wird der Nebel sichtbar, da die Netzhaut des Auges ausserhalb der Sehgrube lichtempfindlicher ist. Andere planetarische Nebel zeigen denselben Effekt.

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G083.5+12.7: NGC 6826, PK 83+12.1, ARO 13, VV 242, VV' 514
Rektaszension (J2000.0)19h 44m 49s
Deklination (J2000.0)50° 31' 30"
Abmessungen 25." (optisch)
Entfernung 1.09 kpc
Radialgeschwindigkeit-6.2 km/s ± 0.6 km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 11. km/s (O-III)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG +50 1416, AG82 383, BD +50 2869, DC 37693, EM* CDS 1096, GCRV 12124, HD 186924, PLX 4649, SAO 31951, TD1 25412
Z-Stern Magnitude10.33 mag (B filter), 10.41 mag (V filter)
Z-Stern SpektraltypO3f(H)
EntdeckerHERSCHEL 1793

Auffindtipp

Der blinkende planetarische Nebel NGC 6826 befindet sich an der westlichen Flügelspitze des Sternbildes Schwan bei den Flügel-Sternen Al Fawaris (δ Cygni) und ι2 Cygni. In einer klaren, dunklen Nacht sollte für das gut dunkeladaptierte Auge der 6 mag schwache Doppelstern 16 Cygni sichtbar sein. Dieser befindet sich nur ein halbes Grad von NGC 6826 entfernt. Der PN sollte mittels des Close-Ups von 16 Cygni aus leicht zu finden sein.

Karte NGC 6826
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

NGC 6826
NGC 6826: Bleistiftskizze; 14" PWO-Dobson f/4.6, TV-Nagler-Zoom 4 mm, 400x, 0.19°, D: 6.4 mag, L: mittelmässig-ruhig; Honegg 1460 m; © 23. 6. 2003, 02:45 Eduard von Bergen

350 mm Öffnung: Der blinkende planetarische Nebel NGC 6826 macht seinem Namen alle Ehre. Er fällt einem vielfach als schwaches, feines, rundliches Nebelchen auf. Will man sogleich den Nebel mit direktem Sehen halten, so verschwindet er auch schon und der 10.4 mag helle Zentralstern tritt hervor. Dieses Spiel kann man beliebig fortsetzen. Indirekt sieht man die Nebelscheibe, direkt den Zentralstern. Bei hoher Vergrösserung, z.B. 400x bleiben Nebel und Zentralstern gleichzeitig sichtbar. Der Blinkeffekt geht weiter auch mit einem Nebelfilter verloren. In diesem herrscht der Nebel vor und der Zentralstern wird vielfach in kleinen Teleskopen vom Filter gänzlich verschluckt. [192]

14" PWO-Dobson, F:4.6 / TV-Nagler-Zoom 4mm, 400x, 0.13° / mit und ohne OIII-Filter
Eduard von Bergen

Quellenangaben

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
187Hubble's planetary nebula gallery. A view of NGC 6826; esahubble.org/images/opo9738d (2020-12-24)
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
465«Catalogue of 500 new nebulae, nebulous stars, planetary nebula:, and clusters of stars; with remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1802; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1802.0021