Propeller Nebula (Simeis 57)

Simeis 57
Simeis 57: Galaktischer Nebel in Cygnus; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher

History

The emission nebula Simeis 57 (Sim 57, HS 191, GAL 80.3+4.8) was discovered in the early 1950s by the Russian astronomers Grigory Abramovich Shajn and Vera Fedorovna Gaze at the Simeis Observatory on the Crimean Peninsula. [402] In 1969, Dickel, Wendker and Bieritz published a catalogue of optically visible H-II nebulae of the western half of the Cygnus X region. Simeis 57 received three identifications here: DWB 111 for the southwestern propeller wing, DWB 119 for the northeastern propeller wing and DWB 118 for the nebula around it. [513]

Physical Properties

Simeis 57 (also called Simeis 57) is a high surface-brightness nebula and the most prominent feature of the large H-II nebulae of the Cygnus X region. It is located near the edge of a large (18° × 13°) X-ray structure known as the Cygnus superbubble, but none of the large-scale X-ray or radio continuum maps show anything remarkable concerning its position. At optical and at radio wavelengths, Simeis 57 has a peculiar «S» shape, crossed by long, thin and straight filaments. The nebula belongs to the Orion (Local) Arm of our galaxy. The relatively high Galactic latitude of +4.7° and the large angular extent (∼20 arc minutes) suggest, however, that it is not very distant. The accurate distance was long unknown as no luminous stars are embedded in these molecular clouds, nor are any obscured by them and no sufficiently luminous stars could be found in the immediate vicinity of the nebula. Instead, all available data points to the evolved star HD 193793 = WR 140 (an O4-5 supergiant and WC7 Wolf–Rayet binary) as the source of excitation, notwithstanding its large separation of 50 arc minutes, about 25 pc at the stellar distance of 1.7 kpc. Simeis 57 appears to be a part of a larger structure surrounding the HI void centered on HD 193793. [514, 515]

Objektdata from CDS[16]
DesignationSim 57, [GS55] 191, HS 191, GAL 80.3+4.8
TypeInterstellar Medium
Right Ascension21h 16m 16.8s
Declination+43° 44' 18"

Finder Chart

The Propeller Nebula is located in the constellation Cygnus, about three and a half degrees north of the star Sadr (γ Cygni). The 6.1 mag bright star HD 192535 can serve as an orientation guide. From there a little more than half a degree to the northeast to the prominent small asterism of 8th magnitude, some of which are double stars. The best observation time is April to November.

Chart Propeller Nebula (Simeis 57)
Propeller Nebula (Simeis 57) in constellation Cygnus. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

16Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg; cds.u-strasbg.fr
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
402«Second list of diffuse nebulae» Gaze, V. F. ; Shajn, G. A.; Izv. Krym. Astrofiz. Obs., Vol. 7, p. 93-98 (1951); Bibcode:1951IzKry...7...93G
513«The Cygnus X region. V. catalogue and distances of optically visible H II regions.» Dickel, H. R. ; Wendker, H. ; Bieritz, J. H.; Astronomy and Astrophysics, Vol. 1, p. 270-280 (1969); Bibcode:1969A&A.....1..270D
514«The peculiar nebula Simeis 57 - I. Ionized gas and dust extinction» F. P. Israel, M. Kloppenburg, P. E. Dewdney and J. Bally; A&A Volume 398, Number 3, February II 2003, pages 1063-1071; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361:20021685
515«The peculiar nebula Simeis 57 - II. Distance, nature and excitation» L. H. T. Oudshoorn, F. P. Israel, J. Brinchmann, M. B. C. Kloppenburg, A. G. A. Brown, J. Bally, T. R. Gull and P. T. Boyd; A&A Volume 650, June 2021; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361/202039372

Propeller-Nebel (Simeis 57)

Simeis 57
Simeis 57: Galaktischer Nebel in Cygnus; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher

Geschichte

Der Emissionsnebel Simeis 57 (Sim 57, HS 191, GAL 80.3+4.8) wurde Anfangs der 1950er Jahre von den russischen Astronomen Grigory Abramovich Shajn und Vera Fedorovna Gaze am Simeis Observatorium auf der Halbinsel Krim entdeckt. [402] 1969 veröffentlichten Dickel, Wendker und Bieritz einen Katalog von optisch sichtbaren H-II Nebeln der westlichen Hälfte der Cygnus X Region. Simeis 57 erhielt hier gleich drei Identifikationen: DWB 111 für den südwestlichen Propellerflügel, DWB 119 für den nordöstlichen Propellerflügel und DWB 118 für den Nebel darum herum. [513]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Simeis 57 ist ein Nebel mit hoher Oberflächenhelligkeit und das auffälligste Merkmal der großen H-II Region Cygnus X. Er befindet sich in der Nähe des Randes einer großen (18° × 13°) Röntgenstruktur, die als Cygnus-Superblase bekannt ist, aber keine der großräumigen Röntgen- oder Radiokontinuumskarten zeigt irgendetwas Bemerkenswertes bezüglich seiner Position. Bei optischen und Radiowellenlängen hat Simeis 57 eine eigentümliche «S»-Form, die von langen, dünnen und geraden Filamenten durchzogen ist. Der Nebel gehört zum (lokalen) Orionarm unserer Galaxie. Die relativ hohe galaktische Breite von +4.7° und die große Winkelausdehnung (∼20 Bogenminuten) lassen jedoch vermuten, dass er nicht sehr weit entfernt ist. Die genaue Entfernung war lange Zeit unbekannt, da in diesen Molekülwolken keine leuchtenden Sterne eingebettet sind und auch keine von ihnen verdeckt werden. In der unmittelbaren Umgebung des Nebels konnten auch keine ausreichend leuchtenden Sterne gefunden werden. Stattdessen deuten alle verfügbaren Daten auf den weiterentwickelten Stern HD 193793 = WR 140 (ein O4-5-Überriese und WC7-Wolf-Rayet-Doppelstern) als Quelle der Anregung hin, trotz seines großen Abstands von 50 Bogenminuten, etwa 25 pc bei einem Sternabstand von 1.7 kpc. Simeis 57 scheint Teil einer größeren Struktur zu sein, die die HI-Leere um HD 193793 umgibt. [514, 515]

Objektdaten aus CDS [16]
BezeichnungSim 57, [GS55] 191, HS 191, GAL 80.3+4.8
TypInterstellar Medium
Rektaszension21h 16m 16.8s
Deklination+43° 44' 18"

Auffindkarte

Der Propeller-Nebel befindet sich im Sternbild Cygnus, rund dreieinhalb Grad nörlich vom Stern Sadr (γ Cygni). Als Orientierungshilfe kann der 6.1 mag helle Stern HD 192535 dienen. Von dort aus etwas mehr als ein halbes Grad nach Nordosten zu der markanten kleinen Sterngruppe 8. Größe, von denen einige Doppelsterne sind. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist April bis November.

Karte Propeller-Nebel (Simeis 57)
Propeller-Nebel (Simeis 57) im Sternbild Cygnus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

16Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg; cds.u-strasbg.fr
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
402«Second list of diffuse nebulae» Gaze, V. F. ; Shajn, G. A.; Izv. Krym. Astrofiz. Obs., Vol. 7, p. 93-98 (1951); Bibcode:1951IzKry...7...93G
513«The Cygnus X region. V. catalogue and distances of optically visible H II regions.» Dickel, H. R. ; Wendker, H. ; Bieritz, J. H.; Astronomy and Astrophysics, Vol. 1, p. 270-280 (1969); Bibcode:1969A&A.....1..270D
514«The peculiar nebula Simeis 57 - I. Ionized gas and dust extinction» F. P. Israel, M. Kloppenburg, P. E. Dewdney and J. Bally; A&A Volume 398, Number 3, February II 2003, pages 1063-1071; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361:20021685
515«The peculiar nebula Simeis 57 - II. Distance, nature and excitation» L. H. T. Oudshoorn, F. P. Israel, J. Brinchmann, M. B. C. Kloppenburg, A. G. A. Brown, J. Bally, T. R. Gull and P. T. Boyd; A&A Volume 650, June 2021; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361/202039372