Galaxy NGC 2403

History

The galaxy NGC 2403 was discovered on November 1, 1788 by William Herschel with his 18.7 inch reflecting telescope. He cataloged it as V 44 (class V = very large nebulae) and described it: «Considerably bright, round, very gradually brighter in the middle, bright nucleus 6 or 7' diameter with a faint branch extending a great way to the northern preceeding side not less than 1/2 degree, and to the north or north following the nebulosity diffused over a space not less than a whole degree.» [464] On February 2, 1886 the french astronomer Guillaume Bigourdan pointed the 12.4 inch refractor of the Paris Observatory to this nebula and found within a «very faint, very small» knot, which later became NGC 2404. [277]

NGC 2403
NGC 2403: Galaxy in Camelopardalis; 500 mm Cassegrain f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 150-50-50-50 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik
NGC 2403
NGC 2403: First light image; Takahashi FS 152 on a Centaurus V24 mount, ZWO ASI 183; -30°C chip temperature, R/G/B 2×2 binning: R 10×5 min, G 11×5 min, B 10×5 min; Mirasteilas Observatory, Falera; © 21. 11. 2020 Beat Kohler, Hansjörg Wälchli

Physical Properties

Distance determinations range from 3.1 Mpc to 4.2 Mpc. [145] The galaxy belongs to the M 81 galaxy group. It is home to several H-II star-forming regions, the brightest of which has its own NGC designation: NGC 2404.

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypeBmagVmagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification
NGC 2403 07 36 50.6+65 36 06Gx (SBc)8.98.523.40 × 11.8!! cB, eL, vmE, vgmbMNUGC 3918, MCG 11-10-7, CGCG 309-40, IRAS 07321+6543, KARA 197, CGCG 310-3
NGC 2404 07 37 07.0+65 36 40GxyP14.50.40vF, vSHII/Association in N 2403

Finder Chart

Die Galaxie NGC 2403 befindet sich im Sternbild Camelopardalis (Giraffe). Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist September bis März, wenn es nachts am höchsten steht.

Chart NGC 2403
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
464«Catalogue of a second thousand of new nebulae and clusters of stars; with a few introductory remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1789; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1789.0021

Galaxie NGC 2403

Geschichte

Die Galaxie NGC 2403 wurde am 1. November 1788 von Friedrich Wilhelm Herschel mit seinem 18.7-Zoll-Spiegelteleskop entdeckt. Er katalogisierte sie als V 44 (Klasse V = sehr grosse Nebel) und beschrieb sie wie folgt: «Beträchtlich hell, rund, sehr allmählich heller in der Mitte, heller Kern von 6 oder 7' Durchmesser mit einem schwachen Ast, der sich weit zur nordwestlichen Seite erstreckt, nicht weniger als 1/2 Grad und nach Norden oder Nordenosten der Nebel breitet sich über einen Raum von mindestens einem ganzen Grad aus.» [464] Am 2. Februar 1886 richtete der französische Astronom Guillaume Bigourdan den 12.4-Zoll-Refraktor des Pariser Observatoriums auf diesen Nebel und fand darin einen «sehr schwachen, sehr kleinen» Knoten, der später zu NGC 2404 wurde. [277]

NGC 2403
NGC 2403: Galaxie in Camelopardalis; 500 mm Cassegrain f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 150-50-50-50 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik
NGC 2403
NGC 2403: First Light Aufnahme; Takahashi FS 152 auf einer Centaurus V24 Montierung, ZWO ASI 183; -30°C Chiptemperatur, R/G/B 2×2 binning: R 10×5 min, G 11×5 min, B 10×5 min; Sternwarte Mirasteilas, Falera; © 21. 11. 2020 Beat Kohler, Hansjörg Wälchli

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Entfernungsbestimmungen reichen von 3.1 Mpc bis 4.2 Mpc. [145] Die Galaxie ghört zur M 81 Galaxiengruppe. Sie beheimatet mehrere H-II Regionen mit Sternentstehungsgebieten, wovon die hellste eine eigene NGC-Nummer besitzt: NGC 2404.

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypBmagVmagDimDreyer BeschreibungIdentifikation
NGC 2403 07 36 50.6+65 36 06Gx (SBc)8.98.523.40 × 11.8!! cB, eL, vmE, vgmbMNUGC 3918, MCG 11-10-7, CGCG 309-40, IRAS 07321+6543, KARA 197, CGCG 310-3
NGC 2404 07 37 07.0+65 36 40GxyP14.50.40vF, vSHII/Association in N 2403

Auffindkarte

Die Galaxie NGC 2403 befindet sich im Sternbild Camelopardalis (Giraffe). Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist September bis März, wenn es nachts am höchsten steht.

Karte NGC 2403
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
464«Catalogue of a second thousand of new nebulae and clusters of stars; with a few introductory remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1789; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1789.0021