Constellation Canis Maior (Great Dog)

Canis Maior
Canis Maior: IAU Constellation Map [150]

Properties

Canis Maior is a typical winter constellation and is located southeast of Orion. The constellation is very noticeable as it contains the brightest fixed star in the firmament, Sirius. If you extend Orion's belt to the southeast, you come across it directly.

The star Sirius forms the winter hexagon together with Procyon, Castor and Pollux, Capella, Aldebaran and Rigel. The area of Canis Maior is 380 square degrees and it culminates at midnight on around January 1st.[9, 15]

Stars with Proper Names [154]
α CMaSirius, Canicula, Dog Star, Aschere
β CMaMurzim, Mirzam, Mirza
γ CMaMuliphen, Muliphein, Isis, Mirza
δ CMaWezen, Alwazn, Wesen, Al Wazor
ε CMaAdara, Adhara
ζ CMaFurud, Phurud
η CMaAludra
Data for constellation Canis Maior [150]
IAU NameCanis Maior
IAU GenitiveCanis Majoris
IAU Abbr.CMa
English NameGreat Dog
Season (47° N)November … February
Right Ascension06h 11m 36s … 07h 27m 54s
Declination-33° 15' 02" … -11° 01' 49"
Area380 deg2
Neighbours (N↻)Mon, Lep, Col, Pup

Deep-Sky Object Descriptions

Catalogues

Mythology and History

Canis Maior is an ancient constellation that depicts one of the dogs that follow on on the heels of the sky hunter Orion. The other dog is Canis Minor. [7, 10, 20, 21, 25]

Constellation Canis Major
Constellation Canis Major: Illustration from «Uranometria» by Johann Bayer, copper engraving by Alexander Mair, 1603 [28]

Another, somewhat questionable interpretation is that of the hellhound Kerberos: Echidne and Typhon were the parents of Kerberos. Half of Echidne's body was a beautiful woman, the other half a stained, disgusting snake; she lived in a deep cave and ate only sweet human flesh. Typhon was the worst monster you can imagine; his legs were writhing snakes, his arms had snakeheads in place of his hands, a hideous donkey's head was his head, and smoking lava erupted from his mouth when he opened it. Echidne and Typhon fathered several children, including Kerberos, who inherited some of his parents' physical characteristics. Mostly he is described as three-headed and several stitches depict him in a realistic way. Snakeheads grew out of his back and his prickly tail, which he could whip and move, was a dangerous weapon. This Kerberos lived in the underworld and his job was to devour anyone who tried to escape from the underworld and not to let any living mortal enter the underworld. But Heracles succeeded - this was his twelfth task which Eurysteus entrusted to him - to tie Kerberus with diamond-hard chains and to pull him out of the underworld. The beast barked wildly as soon as it was brought into daylight, and disgusting drool spurted out of all its mouths on meadows and fields, and a poisonous plant - it was the blue monkshood - grew from every drop of the contaminated saliva. The world was glad when Hercules brought this beast back to Hades. [20]

The constellation was named Canis, Canis Syrius (after its main star Sirius) and Canis Australior (because of its location south of the celestial equator), but also Kerberos and Ianitor Lethaeus (doorkeeper of the underworld). An attempt was made to give this constellation a biblical interpretation, but it never caught on. The hunting dog of Orion or the bloodthirsty Kerberos was reinterpreted as the tame dog of Tobias or completely as Saint David. [20]

References

  • [7] «Der grosse Kosmos-Himmelsführer» von Ian Ridpath und Wil Tirion; Kosmos Verlag; ISBN 3-440-05787-9
  • [9] «Drehbare Sternkarte SIRIUS» von H. Suter-Haug; Hallwag-Verlag, Bern
  • [10] «dtv-Atlas zur Astronomie» von Joachim Herrmann; Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag; ISBN 3-423-03006-2
  • [15] «Hartung's Astronomical Objects for Southern Telescopes» by David Malin and David J. Frew; Melbourne University Press 1995; ISBN 0-522-84553-3
  • [20] «Sternbilder und ihre Mythen» von Gerhard Fasching; Zweite, verbesserte Auflage; Springer Verlag Wien, New York; ISBN 3-211-82552-5 (Wien); ISBN 0-387-82552-5 (New York)
  • [21] «Taschenatlas der Sternbilder» von Josef Klepesta und Antonin Rükl; Verlag Werner Dausien; ISBN 3-7684-2384-0
  • [25] «Das Taschenbuch vom Sternenhimmel» von Peter von Eynern; Wilhelm Heyne Verlag, München, 1972
  • [28] «Uranometria omnium asterismorum continens schemata, nova methodo delineata aereis laminis expressa» Johann Bayer, Augsburg, 1603; DOI:10.3931/e-rara-309
  • [150] IAU: The Constellations, 11. Oktober 2020; iau.org/public/themes/constellations
  • [154] Yale Bright Star Catalog, 15. Oktober 2020; tdc-www.harvard.edu/catalogs/bsc5.html

IAU Sternbildkarte
IAU NameCanis Maior
IAU GenitivCanis Majoris
IAU KürzelCMa
Deutscher NameGrosser Hund
Englischer NameGreat Dog
Saison (47°N)Dez … Feb
Rektaszension6h 11m 36s
7h 27m 54s
Deklination-33° 15' 02"
-11° 01' 49"
Fläche380°2
Nachbarn (N↻)Mon, Lep, Col, Pup

Sternbild Canis Maior (Grosser Hund)

Canis Maior ist ein typisches Wintersternbild und befindet sich südöstlich von Orion. Das Sternbild ist sehr auffällig, enthält es doch den hellsten Fixstern am Firmament, Sirius. Verlängert man den Gürtel des Orion nach Südosten, so stösst man direkt auf ihn.

Der Stern Sirius bildet zusammen mit Procyon, Castor und Pollux, Capella, Aldebaran und Rigel das Wintersechseck. Die Fläche von Canis Maior beträgt 380 Quadratgrad und es kulminiert um Mitternacht jeweils etwa am 1. Januar. [9, 15]

Sterne mit Eigennamen:

  • α Canis Majoris: Sirius, Canicula, Dog Star, Aschere
  • β Canis Majoris: Murzim, Mirzam, Mirza
  • γ Canis Majoris: Muliphen, Muliphein, Isis, Mirza
  • δ Canis Majoris: Wezen, Alwazn, Wesen, Al Wazor
  • ε Canis Majoris: Adara, Adhara
  • ζ Canis Majoris: Furud, Phurud
  • η Canis Majoris: Aludra

Mythologie und Geschichte

Canis Maior ist ein altes Sternbild, das einen der Hunde darstellt, die dem Himmelsjäger Orion auf den Fersen folgen. Der andere Hund ist Canis Minor. [7, 10, 20, 21, 25]

Eine andere, etwas fragwürdige Interpretation ist die vom Höllenhund Kerberos: Echidne und Typhon waren die Eltern des Kerberos. Echidnes Körper war zur Hälfte eine schöne Frau, die andere Hälfte war eine fleckige, widerliche Schlange; sie lebte in einer tiefen Höhle und ass nur süsses Menschenfleisch. Typhon war überhaupt das ärgste Ungeheuer, das man sich vorstellen kann; seine Beine waren sich windende Schlangen, seine Arme trugen Schlangenköpfe anstelle der Hände, ein grässliches Eselshaupt war sein Kopf und rauchende Lava brach aus seinem Mund, wenn er ihn öffnete. Echidne und Typhon zeugten mehrere Kinder, unter anderem den Kerberos, der einige körperliche Sonderheiten seiner Eltern erbte. Zumeist beschreibt man ihn als dreiköpfig und mehrere Stiche stellen ihn lebensnah dar. Aus seinem Rücken wuchsen Schlangenköpfe und sein stacheliger Schwanz, den er peitschend bewegen konnte, war eine gefährliche Waffe. Dieser Kerberos lebte in der Unterwelt und seine Aufgabe war es, jeden zu verschlingen, der aus der Unterwelt zu entkommen suchte, und keinen lebendigen Sterblichen je die Unterwelt betreten zu lassen. Herakles aber gelang es - es war dies seine zwölfte Aufgabe, die ihm Eurysteus übertrug - den Kerberos mit diamantharten Ketten zu fesseln und aus der Unterwelt zu zerren. Wild bellte die Bestie, sobald sie ans Tageslicht gebracht wurde, und aus allen Mäulern spritzte ekelhafter Geifer auf Wiesen und Felder und eine giftige Pflanze - der blaue Eisenhut war es - wuchs aus jedem Tropfen des verseuchten Speichels. Die Welt war froh, als Herkules diese Bestie wieder zum Hades zurückbrachte. [20]

Das Sternbild wurde Canis, Canis Syrius (nach seinem Hauptstern Sirius) und Canis Australior (wegen seiner Lage südlich des Himmelsäquators) genannt, aber auch Kerberos und Ianitor Lethaeus (Türhüter der Unterwelt). Auch diesem Sternbild wurde versucht, ihm eine biblische Deutung zu geben, die sich aber nie durchgesetzt hat. Der Jagdhund des Orion oder der blutrünstige Kerberos wurde zum zahmen Hund des Tobias oder auch komplett zum Heiligen David umgedeutet. [20]

Beschriebene Deep-Sky Objekte

Kataloge

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.