UGC 3697, Integral Sign Galaxy

UGC 3697
UGC 3697: Images (bands L, W) with the VLA Schmidt in Chile from years 2000 and 2017 [492]

History

The «Integral Sign Galaxy» (GB 1) was found in 1967 by Geoffrey Burbidge in an idle perusal of the photo plates of the «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey». No other galaxies with that unusual form of an integral sign were known at that time. [490]

Physical Properties

UGC 3697 is a low-mass, Sd spiral galaxy. It shows a super thin disk morphology, that we see edge-on. It is warped like a potato chip or a music record that was too long in the sun. Some degree of warping is observed in a large fraction of galaxies, but only few are warped as much as UGC 3697. In contrast to normal edge-on spirals, where the brightest concentration of H-I is typically found near the central regions of the galaxy, UGC 3697 shows a bright blob of emission near its western edge. Gas filaments also extend from this location, reaching up to ∼7 kpc from the plane. Neither the filaments nor the bright midplane clump have any obvious optical counterparts.

UGC 3697 is part of a small galaxy group that includes the peculiar elliptical galaxy UGC 3714 and several dwarf galaxies. UGC 3714, at a projected distance of 39 kpc from UGC 3697, is the optically brightest group member, and has long been presumed to be responsible for exciting the warp of UGC 3697 via tidal effects. However, tides are rather inefficient warp drivers. New observations have revealed strong evidence that the galaxy recently had merged with a satellite dwarf galaxy. [491]

Apparent magnitudes in different filters are: B 13.1 mag, J 11,508 mag, H 10,822 mag, K 10,528 mag. The distance is given with 46.27 Mpc. [145]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
UGC 369707 11 21.3+71 50 06S3.3 x .213.3313776
UGC 371407 12 33.8+71 44 56S1.8 x 1.612.7305135
PGC 2041207 13 04.5+71 39 58.4 x .215.9

Finder Chart

The galaxy UGC 3697 is located in the constellation Camelopardalis. The best viewing time is September to March when it is highest at night.

Chart UGC 3697
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

UGC 3697, UGC 3714
UGC 3697, UGC 3714: Pencil drawing; 12.5" Ninja-Dobson f/4.5, TV-Radian 8 mm, 181x, 0.33°, D: 6.4 mag, L: ruhig Fön; Honegg 1460 m; © 26. 12. 2002, 23:15 Eduard von Bergen

320 mm aperture: Visually, no integral sign can be seen, but a narrow, elongated line. With a brightness of 14.5 mag, the galaxy is easily recognizable under dark, alpine skies. The two 6.4 mag and 7.0 mag bright stars and the prominent triangle with 11m stars are helpful for the search. The UGC 3714 with 12.7 mag indicates that you are in the right star field. A mag 14.7 star is right next to the integral sign galaxy we are looking for.

The faint galaxy PGC 20412 with 16.0 mag can be tried as an encore. Provided you have the best viewing conditions and a lens opening of more than 320 mm. [192]

12.5" Ninja-Dobson, F:4.5, TV-Radian 8 mm 181x, 0.33°
Eduard von Bergen

References

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
490«A Peculiar Galaxy that may be at a Young Evolutionary Stage» Burbidge, E. Margaret ; Burbidge, G. R. ; Shelton, J. W.; Astrophysical Journal, vol. 150, p.783, December 1967; DOI:10.1086/149381; Bibcode:2004bdmh.confE..70M
491«Clues on the Structure and Composition of Galactic Disks from Studies of 'Superthin' Spirals: the Case of UGC3697» Matthews, Lynn search by orcid ; Uson, Juan M.; Proceedings of Baryons in Dark Matter Halos. Novigrad, Croatia, 5-9 Oct 2004.; arXiv:arXiv:astro-ph/0412391; Bibcode:2004bdmh.confE..70M
492Warped Disk of Galaxy UGC 3697; public.nrao.edu/gallery/warped-disk-of-galaxy-ugc-3697-2 (2022-02-09)

UGC 3697, Integralzeichen-Galaxie

UGC 3697
UGC 3697: Aufnahmen (Bänder L, W) mit dem VLA Schmidt in Chile aus den Jahren 2000 und 2017 [492]

Geschichte

Die «Integralzeichen-Galaxie» (GB 1) wurde 1967 von Geoffrey Burbidge bei der Durchsicht der Fotoplatten des «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey» gefunden. Zu dieser Zeit waren keine anderen Galaxien mit dieser ungewöhnlichen Form eines Integralzeichens bekannt. [490]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

UGC 3697 ist eine massearme Sd-Spiralgalaxie. Sie zeigt eine superdünne Scheibenmorphologie, die wir von der Seite sehen. Die Galaxie ist verzogen wie ein Kartoffelchip oder eine Schallplatte, die zu lange in der Sonne gelegen hat. Ein gewisses Maß an Verkrümmung wird in einem großen Teil der Galaxien beobachtet, aber nur wenige sind so stark verkrümmt wie UGC 3697. Im Gegensatz zu normalen Edge-On Spiralgalaxien, bei denen die hellste Konzentration von H-I typischerweise in der Nähe der zentralen Regionen der Galaxie zu finden ist, zeigt UGC 3697 einen hellen Emissionsknoten nahe dem westlichen Rand. Von dieser Stelle aus erstrecken sich auch Gasfilamente, die bis zu 7 kpc aus der Ebene aus reichen. Weder die Filamente noch die helle Knoten in der Mittelebene haben offensichtliche optische Gegenstücke.

UGC 3697 ist Teil einer kleinen Galaxiengruppe, zu der die eigentümliche elliptische Galaxie UGC 3714 und mehrere Zwerggalaxien gehören. UGC 3714 liegt in einer projizierten Entfernung von 39 kpc von UGC 3697 und ist das optisch hellste Gruppenmitglied. Es wurde seit langem angenommen, dass sie für die Anregung des Warps von UGC 3697 durch Gezeiteneffekte verantwortlich sei. Gezeitenkräfte sind jedoch eher ineffiziente Warptreiber. Neue Beobachtungen haben starke Beweise dafür erbracht, dass die Galaxie kürzlich mit einer Satelliten-Zwerggalaxie verschmolzen ist. [491]

Scheinbare Helligkeiten in verschiedenen Filtern betragen: B 13.1 mag, J 11.508 mag, H 10.822 mag, K 10.528 mag. Die Entfernung wird mit 46.27 Mpc angegeben. [145]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
UGC 369707 11 21.3+71 50 06S3.3 x .213.3313776
UGC 371407 12 33.8+71 44 56S1.8 x 1.612.7305135
PGC 2041207 13 04.5+71 39 58.4 x .215.9

Auffindkarte

Die Galaxie UGC 3697 befindet sich im Sternbild Camelopardalis (Giraffe). Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist September bis März, wenn es nachts am höchsten steht.

Karte UGC 3697
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

UGC 3697, UGC 3714
UGC 3697, UGC 3714: Bleistiftskizze; 12.5" Ninja-Dobson f/4.5, TV-Radian 8 mm, 181x, 0.33°, D: 6.4 mag, L: ruhig Fön; Honegg 1460 m; © 26. 12. 2002, 23:15 Eduard von Bergen

320 mm Öffnung: Visuell ist zwar kein Integralzeichen zu erkennen, aber ein schmaler länglicher Strich. Mit einer Helligkeit von 14.5 mag ist die Galaxie unter dunklem, alpinem Himmel gut erkennbar. Hilfreich für die Aufsuche sind die beiden 6.4 mag und 7.0 mag hellen Sterne und das markante Dreieck mit 11m-Sternen. Die UGC 3714 mit 12.7 mag zeigt einem an, dass man im richtigen Sternenfeld liegt. Ein 14.7 mag heller Stern steht unmittelbar neben der gesuchten Integralzeichen-Galaxie.

Die schwache Galaxie PGC 20412 mit 16.0 mag kann man noch als Zugabe versuchen. Vorausgesetzt man trifft auf beste Durchsichtsbedingungen und hat eine Objektivöffnung über 320 mm zur Verfügung. [192]

12.5" Ninja-Dobson, F:4.5, TV-Radian 8 mm 181x, 0.33°
Eduard von Bergen

Quellenangaben

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
490«A Peculiar Galaxy that may be at a Young Evolutionary Stage» Burbidge, E. Margaret ; Burbidge, G. R. ; Shelton, J. W.; Astrophysical Journal, vol. 150, p.783, December 1967; DOI:10.1086/149381; Bibcode:2004bdmh.confE..70M
491«Clues on the Structure and Composition of Galactic Disks from Studies of 'Superthin' Spirals: the Case of UGC3697» Matthews, Lynn search by orcid ; Uson, Juan M.; Proceedings of Baryons in Dark Matter Halos. Novigrad, Croatia, 5-9 Oct 2004.; arXiv:arXiv:astro-ph/0412391; Bibcode:2004bdmh.confE..70M
492Warped Disk of Galaxy UGC 3697; public.nrao.edu/gallery/warped-disk-of-galaxy-ugc-3697-2 (2022-02-09)