Cluster Roslund 4 + Nebula IC 4954/5

Object Description

Roslund 4 is a Trümpler II 3 m n open star cluster and about 6.3 million years old. Translated this means: a cluster with a medium number of member stars (m=medium), which stands out from the environment and shows a slight concentration (II) and has a rather uneven distribution of brightness among the cluster members (3="bright and faint stars in the cluster"). The "n" stands for a nebula involved in the star cluster.

Roslund 4 + IC 4954/5
Roslund 4 + IC 4954/5: Open cluster Roslund 4 with nebula IC 4954/5; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 240+50+50+50 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2015 Radek Chromik
Roslund 4 + IC 4954/5
Roslund 4 + IC 4954/5: Open cluster Roslund 4 with nebula IC 4954/5; Takahashi Mewlon 250 CR (f=2500 mm / f10), SBIG ST-8300; 11L x 1200 sec 1×1, 13R, 11G, 13B 2×2 x 600 sec; Bernese Highlands; © 2016 Bernhard Blank, Dragan Mihajlovic

IC 4954 and IC 4955 is an emission and reflection nebula about 330 arcseconds in size in which Roslund 4 is embedded. The nebula exhibits strong variations in brightness and therefore breaks up into three regions, labeled Ced 175a, Ced 175b, and Ced 175c. These go back to a work by Sven Cederblad at the Lund Observatory in Sweden (1946).

— 1998, Frank H. Leiter

Name  : Roslund 4
R.A.  : 20h 05m 00s
Dec.  : +29° 11' 59"
v Mag.: -
Diam. : 5'
No.*  : 30
Br.*  : <11.5

Further infos at CDS: Roslund 4

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypeBmagVmagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification
IC 4954 20 04 45.0+29 15 12RN3.00 × 3.0D neb *, iF, * 11 closeLBN 153, CED 175
IC 4955 20 04 53.0+29 11 24RN5.00 × 5.0Fine neb * 12LBN 153, CED 175

How to find Roslund 4?

Star cluster Roslund 4 is located in the constellation Vulpecula, which lies between Sagitta and Cygnus. This is favorable for observation in the months of May to October. Originating from 15 Vulpeculae, a 4.6 mag star, 50 arc minutes north-northeast is a 13 arc minute wide pair of 7th magnitude stars HD 190167 and southerly HD 190228 . Beyond the more northerly of the two stars, the connecting line 15 Vul - pair is extended by a further 50 arc minutes.

Chart Roslund 4
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

Because the Roslund Catalog star clusters were found spectroscopically, they are considered difficult for the visual observer. Despite the Trümpler classification mentioned above, this also applies to Roslund 4. However, the bright nebula IC 4954 simplifies the observation considerably.

200 mm aperture: Even in a moderate sky you can see the brightest parts of it from about 20 cm aperture and about a dozen stars can be found around this nebula. However, one can hardly speak of «detached».

Roslund 4, IC 4954, IC 4955
Roslund 4, IC 4954, IC 4955: Pencil drawing; 400 mm f/5 Newton, 9 mm eyepiece; © 14. 8. 1998 Frank H. Leiter

400 mm aperture: At 40 cm aperture, Roslund 4 remains an inconspicuous star cluster barely visible against the background; however, the number of faint (fainter 12th magnitude) stars increases significantly. For the visual observer, IC 4954 breaks up into three bright nebulae, which are clearly visible in the 9 mm eyepiece at 400 mm f/5. High magnification should be used for Ced 175c, the northernmost part, as it is small and very close to a 10th magnitude star. In the drawing, the faintest members of the open star cluster have been omitted and the brightest clouds of nebula IC 4954 are shown. No filter was used; the drawn region is about 5x7.5 arc minutes.

— 1998, Frank H. Leiter

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Sternhaufen Roslund 4 + Nebel IC 4954/5

Objektbeschreibung

Roslund 4 + 4954/5
Sternhaufen Roslund 4 mit Gasnebel IC 4954/5: 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 240+50+50+50 min LRGB; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2015 Radek Chromik

Roslund 4 ist ein etwa 6,3 Millionen Jahre alter offener Sternhaufen mit der Trümpler-Klassifizierung II 3 m n.

Übersetzt heisst das: ein Haufen mit mittlerer Zahl von Mitgliedssternen (m=medium), der sich von der Umgebung abhebt und eine leichte Konzentration aufweist (II) und eine recht ungleichmässe Helligkeitsverteilung unter den Haufenmitgliedern hat (3="bright and faint stars in the cluster"). Das "n" steht für einen im Sternhaufen involvierten Nebel.

IC 4954 und IC 4955 ist ein etwa 330 Bogensekunden grosser Emission- und Reflexionsnebel, in den Roslund 4 eingebettet ist. Der Nebel weist starke Helligkeitsvariationen auf und zerfällt daher in drei Gebiete, die die Bezeichnungen Ced 175a, Ced 175b und Ced 175c tragen. Diese gehen auf eine Arbeit von Sven Cederblad am Lund-Observatorium in Schweden (1946) zurück.

— 1998, Frank H. Leiter

Name  : Roslund 4
R.A.  : 20h 05m 00s
Dec.  : +29° 11' 59"
v Mag.: -
Diam. : 5'
No.*  : 30
Br.*  : <11.5

Weitere Infos bei CDS: Roslund 4

«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» von J.L.E. Dreyer, nachbearbeitet 1988 von Roger W. Sinnott [142]. Koordinaten in B2000.0.
Name Typ RA [hm] Dec [dm] Const ⌀ ['] vMag Beschreibung
IC 4954Nb20 04.8+29 15Vul25.D neb*, iF, *11 close
IC 495520 04.9+29 11Vulfine neb *12

Wie findet man Roslund 4?

Der Sternhaufen Roslund 4 befindet sich im Sternbild Vulpecula (Füchschen), welches sich zwischen Sagitta (Pfeil) und Cygnus (Schwan) befindet. Dieses steht in den Monaten Mai bis Oktober günstig für die Beobachtung. Ausgehend von 15 Vulpeculae, einem 4.6 mag Stern, findet man 50 Bogenminuten nord-nord-östlich ein 13 Bogenminuten weites Paar von Sternen 7. Grösse: HD 190167 und südlicher HD 190228 . Über den nördlicheren der beiden Sterne verlängert hinaus man die Verbindungslinie 15 Vul - Paar um weitere 50 Bogenminuten.

Roslund 4 Karte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

Da die Sternhaufen des Roslund-Katalogs auf spektroskopischem Wege gefunden wurden, gelten sie für den visuellen Beobachter als schwierig. Trotz der oben genannten Trümpler-Klassifizierung trifft dies auch auf Roslund 4 zu. Allerdings vereinfacht der helle Nebel IC 4954 die Beobachtung erheblich.

200 mm Öffnung: Schon bei mässigem Himmel kann man die hellsten Teile von ihm ab etwa 20 cm Öffnung erkennen und findet um diesen Nebel herum etwa ein gutes Dutzend Sterne. Allerdings kann von "detached" kaum die Rede sein.

Roslund 4 Zeichnung
Zeichnung: 400 mm f/5 Newton, 9mm Okular, 14.8. 1998 Frank H. Leiter

400 mm Öffnung: Bei 40cm Öffnung bleibt Roslund 4 ein unscheinbarer, kaum gegen den Hintergrund abgesetzter Sternhaufen; allerdings steigt die Anzahl schwacher (schwächer 12. Grösse) Sterne deutlich an. IC 4954 zerfällt für den visuellen Beobachter in drei helle Nebelgebiete, die am 400 mm f/5 im 9 mm Okular eindeutig sichtbar sind. Für Ced 175c, den nördlichsten Teil, sollte man hohe Vergrösserung verwenden, da er klein ist und sehr dicht an einem Stern 10ter Grösse steht. In der Zeichnung wurden die schächsten Mitglieder des offenen Sternhaufens weggelassen und die hellsten Wolken des Nebels IC 4954 dargestellt. Es wurde kein Filter verwendet; die gezeichnete Region ist etwa 5x7.5 Bogenminuten gross.

— 1998, Frank H. Leiter

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.