Open Cluster NGC 6633

NGC 6633
NGC 6633: Section of DSS2. Here could be your picture [147]

History

Swiss astronomer Philippe Loys de Chéseaux discovered this open cluster in the years 1745-46 using a small refractor. His discoveries were presented 1746 to the French Academy of Science, but seemed to be forgotten. In 1759 Le Gentil mentioned them in a private, but it wasn't until 1892 that Guillaume Bigourdan made them public. [196]

Using her 4.2-inch comet-sweeper Caroline Herschel rediscovered the cluster on 31 July 1783, along with IC 4665. She entered it as #8 in her discovery log and noted: «About halfway from S Serpentarii [72 Oph] towards Theta Serpentis, a cluster of large stars. I counted about 80. Messier has it not.» On 30 July 1788 William Herschel logged this cluster as VIII 72 and noted: «A coarsely scattered cluster of large stars. C. H. 1783» As Dreyer was not aware of de Chéseaux he credited Caroline Herschel with the discovery of NGC 6633. [313, 364, 464]

Physical Properties

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Designation NGC 6633
Type OCL (III2m)
Right Ascension (J2000.0) 18h 27m 15.1s
Declination (J2000.0) +06° 30' 30"
Diameter 20 arcmin
Visual magnitude 4.6 mag
Metric Distance 0.385 kpc
Identification, Remarks WH VIII 72; GC 4410; OCL 90

Finder Chart

The open cluster NGC 6633 is located in the constellation Ophiuchus. On 27 June it is in opposition to the Sun and hence culminates at local midnight. The best viewing time from Switzerland is in the months March to August.

Finder Chart Open Cluster NGC 6633
Open Cluster NGC 6633 in constellation Ophiuchus. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objects Within a Radius of 15°

References

Offener Sternhaufen NGC 6633

NGC 6633
NGC 6633: Ausschnitt aus DSS2. Hier könnte Dein Foto stehen. [147]

Geschichte

Der Schweizer Astronom Philippe Loys de Chéseaux entdeckte diesen offenen Sternhaufen in den Jahren 1745-46 mit einem kleinen Refraktor. Seine Entdeckungen wurden zwar 1746 der Französischen Akademie der Wissenschaften vorgestellt, schienen aber wieder vergessen worden zu sein. 1759 erwähnte sie zwar Le Gentil in einer privaten Notiz, aber erst 1892 machte Guillaume Bigourdan sie öffentlich. [196]

Mit ihrem 4.2-Zoll Kometensucher entdeckte Caroline Herschel den Sternhaufen am 31. Juli 1783 wieder, zusammen mit IC 4665. Sie trug ihn als Nummer 8 in ihr Entdeckungsprotokoll ein und notierte: «Etwa auf halbem Weg von S Serpentarii [72 Oph] in Richtung Theta Serpentis, ein Haufen großer Sterne. Ich zählte etwa 80. Messier hat ihn nicht.» Am 30. Juli 1788 vermerkte Wilhelm Herschel diesen Haufen als VIII 72 und notierte: «Ein grob verstreuter Haufen großer Sterne. C. H. 1783» Da Dreyer von de Chéseaux nichts wusste, schrieb er Caroline Herschel die Entdeckung von NGC 6633 zu. [313, 364, 464]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Bezeichnung NGC 6633
Typ OCL (III2m)
Rektaszension (J2000.0) 18h 27m 15.1s
Deklination (J2000.0) +06° 30' 30"
Durchmesser 20 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit 4.6 mag
Metrische Entfernung 0.385 kpc
Identifikation, Anmerkungen WH VIII 72; GC 4410; OCL 90

Auffindkarte

Der offene Sternhaufen NGC 6633 befindet sich im Sternbild Ophiuchus. Am 27. Juni steht er in Opposition zur Sonne und erreicht daher um Mitternacht seinen höchsten Punkt. Die beste Beobachtungszeit von der Schweiz aus ist in den Monaten März bis August.

Auffindkarte Offener Sternhaufen NGC 6633
Offener Sternhaufen NGC 6633 im Sternbild Ophiuchus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objekte innerhalb eines Radius von 15°

Quellenangaben