NGC 2237+, Rosette Nebula

NGC 2237
NGC 2237: Rosette Nebula; TEC 140 ED with 0.9x flattner on a AOK Herkules V12 mount, Canon 6D (not modified); 45 x 10 min; Lü Stailas; © 9. 1. 2021 Stefan Berchten

History

The open star cluster in the Rosette Nebula was first recorded by British astronomer John Flamsteed on February 17, 1690. [277] William Herschel cataloged it on January 24, 1784 as VII 2, with the class VII representing «pretty much compressed clusters of large or small stars». He described it as follows: «A beautiful cluster of scattered stars chiefly of 2 sorts. The first large, the second arranged in winding lines. Contains the 12th Monoc.» [463] That star cluster was later listed as NGC 2244 in Dreyers «New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars». [313]

On March 4, 1830 Herschel's son John, rediscovered the same star cluster and cataloged it as h 392 (GC 1420) and described it as «stars of 8th magnitude in large pretty bright cluster» [467]. His discovery was later given the number NGC 2239 by Dreyer. [313]

On February 28, 1864 the German astronomer Albert Marth discovered «small stars in nebulosity». He was observing in Malta, using William Lassell's 48 inch reflector. His discover was later added as GC 5361 by John Herschel and then as NGC 2238 by Dreyer. [196]

NGC 2237
NGC 2237: Rosetta Nebula in Monoceros; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625mm / f7.2; SBIG STL11K; 120+30+30+30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

The American astronomer Lewis Swift was using the 16 inch refractor at Warner Observatory in 1865 and noticed a «pretty bright, very very large diffuse» nebula around the star cluster. His discovery was cataloged by Dreyer as NGC 2237 with the remark that it may be the same as GC 5361 (NGC 2238). On February 27, 1886 Swift looked again at the same spot and noticed another «most extremely faint, large, irregular round, extremely difficult» nebula, which was then addes as NGC 2246 by Dreyer. [196, 313]

The designation NGC 2239 is usually used for the Rosette Nebula, but this is not correct. Based on Dreyer's description, NGC 2239 is Herschel's star cluster and the designations related to the surrounding nebula are NGC 2237, NGC 2238 and NGC 2246.

Physical Properties

The Rosette Nebula is an H-II region, a star-forming region with clouds of gas and dust. At a distance of about 5000 to 5200 light-years and a diameter of 130 light-years, it appears relatively large in the sky, about 80 x 60 arc minutes. The mass of the nebula is estimated at around 10'000 solar masses. [196]

«Revised NGC/IC», «Historic NGC/IC», Version 2022-09-01, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypebMagvMagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification, Remarks
NGC 223706 30 54.6+05 02 52EN80 × 50pB, vvL, dif (? = 5361)w part of Rosette nebula
NGC 223806 30 40.3+05 00 47EN6.080 × 60S * in nebulosityLBN 948, knot in Rosette nebula
NGC 223906 32 19.0+04 51 24dup5.34.824* 8 in L, P, B ClNGC 2244, OCL 515, in Rosette nebula
NGC 224406 32 19.0+04 51 24OCL (II3p)5.34.824Cl, beautiful, st sc (12 Monoc)NGC 2239, OCL 515, in Rosette nebula
NGC 224606 32 33.7+05 07 42ENeeF, L, irrR, e difficLBN 948, part of Rosette nebula

Finder Chart

The open star cluster NGC 2239 with the Rosette Nebula around it is located in the constellation Monoceros, a rather inconspicuous constellation along with Orion in the Milky Way band. On clear, dark winter nights the star cluster NGC 2239 is visible to the naked eye, otherwise the two stars ε Monocerotis (4.4 mag) and 13 Monocerotis (4.51 mag) help position the Telrad.

Monoceros: NGC 2237
Chart NGC 2237
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

400 mm aperture: The huge nebula is about two times larger than the field of view of my 21 mm Ethos eyepiece (85x). Without filter only a grayish haze around the open cluster is detectable. With O-III filter the nebula pops out with high contrast and one can see structures init. A fine sight. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Bernd Nies, Glaubenberg Langis, February 28, 2022

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
313«A New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars, being the Catalogue of the late Sir John F.W. Herschel, Bart., revised, corrected, and enlarged» Dreyer, J. L. E. (1888); Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society. 49: 1–237; Bibcode:1888MmRAS..49....1D
463«Catalogue of one thousand new nebulae and clusters of stars» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1786; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1786.0027
467«Catalogue of nebulae and clusters of stars» John Frederick William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1864; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1864.0001

NGC 2237+, Rosettennebel

NGC 2237
NGC 2237: Rosettennebel; TEC 140 ED mit 0.9x Flattner auf einer AOK Herkules V12 Montierung, Canon 6D (nicht modifiziert); 45 x 10 min; Lü Stailas; © 9. 1. 2021 Stefan Berchten

Geschichte

Der offene Sternhaufen im Rosettennebel wurde erstmals am 17. Februar 1690 vom britischen Astronomen John Flamsteed aufgezeichnet. [277] Wilhelm Herschel katalogisierte ihn am 24. Januar 1784 als VII 2, wobei die Klasse VII für «ziemlich komprimierte Haufen von grossen oder kleinen Sternen» stand. Er beschrieb den Haufen wie folgt: «Eine wunderschöne Ansammlung verstreuter Sterne, hauptsächlich von 2 Arten. Die erste gross, die zweite in gewundenen Linien angeordnet. Enthält 12. Monoc.» [463] Dieser Sternhaufen wurde später als NGC 2244 in Dreyers «New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars» aufgenommen. [313]

Am 4. März 1830 entdeckte Herschels Sohn John denselben Sternhaufen wieder und katalogisierte ihn als h 392 (GC 1420). Er beschrieb ihn als «Sterne der 8. Grösse in einem grossen, ziemlich hellen Haufen». [467] Seine Entdeckung erhielt später von Dreyer die Nummer NGC 2239. [313]

Am 28. Februar 1864 entdeckte der deutsche Astronom Albert Marth «kleine Sterne im Nebel». Er beobachtete in Malta mit dem 48-Zoll-Reflektor von William Lassell. Seine Entdeckung wurde später von John Herschel als GC 5361 und dann von Dreyer als NGC 2238 hinzugefügt. [196, 313]

NGC 2237
NGC 2237: Rosettennebel in Monoceros; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625mm / f7.2; SBIG STL11K; 120+30+30+30 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Der amerikanische Astronom Lewis Swift benutzte 1865 den 16-Zoll-Refraktor am Warner Observatory und bemerkte einen «ziemlich hellen, sehr sehr großen diffusen» Nebel um den Sternhaufen. Seine Entdeckung wurde von Dreyer als NGC 2237 katalogisiert, mit der Bemerkung, dass es sich möglicherweise um dasselbe Objekt wie GC 5361 (NGC 2238) handelt. Am 27. Februar 1886 betrachtete Swift nochmals dieselbe Stelle und bemerkte einen weiteren «äusserst schwachen, großen, unregelmässig runden, äusserst schwierigen» Nebel, der dann von Dreyer als NGC 2246 hinzugefügt wurde. [196, 313]

Meist wird für den Rosettennebel die Bezeichnung NGC 2239 verwendet, was aber nicht korrekt ist. Anhand der Beschreibung von Dreyer geht hervor, dass NGC 2239 Herschels Sternhaufen ist und sich die Bezeichnungen NGC 2237, NGC 2238 und NGC 2246 auf den umgebenden Nebel beziehen.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Der Rosettennebel ist eine H-II Region, ein Sternentstehungsgebiet mit Wolken aus Gas und Staub. Bei einer Entfernung von etwa 5000 bis 5200 Lichtjahren und einem Durchmesser von 130 Lichtjahren erscheint er relativ gross am Himmel, etwa 80 x 60 Bogenminuten. Die Masse des Nebels wird auf etwa 10'000 Sonnenmassen geschätzt. [196]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypBmagVmagDimDreyer BeschreibungIdentifikation
NGC 2237 06 30 54.6+05 02 52EN80.00 × 50.0pB, vvL, dif (? = 5361)w part of Rosette nebula
NGC 2238 06 30 40.3+05 00 47EN6.080.00 × 60.0S * in nebulosityLBN 948, knot in Rosette nebula
NGC 2239 06 32 19.0+04 51 24II3p5.34.824.00* 8 in L, P, B ClNGC 2244, OCL 515, in Rosette nebula
NGC 2244 06 32 19.0+04 51 24OCL (II3p)5.34.824.00Cl, beautiful, st sc (12 Monoc)NGC 2239, OCL 515, in Rosette nebula
NGC 2246 06 32 33.7+05 07 42ENeeF, L, irrR, e difficLBN 948, part of Rosette nebula

Auffindkarte

Der offene Sternhaufen NGC 2239 mit Rosettennebel darum befindet sich im Sternbild Einhorn (Monoceros), einem nebst Orion eher unscheinbaren Sternbild im Milchstrassenband. In klaren, dunklen Winternächten ist der Sternhaufen NGC 2239 von blossem Auge sichtbar, ansonsten helfen die beiden Sterne ε Monocerotis (4.4 mag) und 13 Monocerotis (4.51 mag) bei der Positionierung des Telrads.

Karte NGC 2237
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

400 mm Öffnung: Der riesige Nebel ist etwa doppelt so groß wie das Gesichtsfeld meines 21 mm Ethos Okulars (85x). Ohne Filter ist nur ein gräulicher Schleier um den offenen Sternhaufen zu erkennen. Mit O-III Filter tritt der Nebel kontrastreich hervor und man kann darin Strukturen erkennen. Ein schöner Anblick. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Bernd Nies, Glaubenberg Langis, 28. Februar 28, 2022

Quellenangaben

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
313«A New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars, being the Catalogue of the late Sir John F.W. Herschel, Bart., revised, corrected, and enlarged» Dreyer, J. L. E. (1888); Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society. 49: 1–237; Bibcode:1888MmRAS..49....1D
463«Catalogue of one thousand new nebulae and clusters of stars» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1786; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1786.0027
467«Catalogue of nebulae and clusters of stars» John Frederick William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1864; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1864.0001