Constellation Carina (Keel)

Carina: IAU Constellation Map [150]

Properties

The band of the Milky Way runs through the eastern part of Carina and so you can find many star clouds and clusters with binoculars. The stars iota and epsilon Carinae together with kappa and delta Velorum form the false cross, which is often mistaken for the cross of the south further east. In contrast to the real one, the false cross does not point towards the south celestial pole. Carina encloses an area of 494 square degrees in the sky. The center culminates around midnight on January 30th. [9, 15]

Stars with Proper Names [154]
α CarCanopus, Suhel, Suhail
β CarMiaplacidus
ε CarAvior
ι CarTurais, Tureis, Scutulum, Aspidiske
Data for constellation Carina [150]
IAU NameCarina
IAU GenitiveCarinae
IAU Abbr.Car
English NameKeel
Season (47° N)Not visible
Right Ascension06h 02m 46s … 11h 20m 37s
Declination-75° 41' 02" … -50° 45' 16"
Area494 deg2
Neighbours (N↻)Vel, Pup, Pic, Vol, Cha, Mus, Cen

Catalogues

Constellation Argo Navis: Illustration from «Uranometria» by Johann Bayer, copper engraving by Alexander Mair, 1603 [28]

Mythology and History

Carina, the ship's keel, is the southernmost part of what was once the magnificent, sprawling constellation of Argo Navis, the legendary ship of Jason and his Argonauts, who set out in search of the Golden Fleece of Aries. In the middle of the 17th century, however, the French astronomer Nicolas Louis de Lacaille tore it apart into four parts - Carina, Puppis (aft deck), Pyxis (ship's compass) and Vela (ship's sails). The brightest stars of the four sub-constellations of Argo Navis still have a continuous designation with Greek letters, as Johann Bayer had already included the constellation in his uranometria earlier. [7]

An interesting example where language, myth and modern science intersect: the most recent celestial navigators use Carina's brightest star, Canopus, to keep their space probes on a stable course through the solar system. Canopus is not only suitable for this task because of its brightness (the second brightest fixed star), but it is also almost normal to the plane of the solar system, i.e. close to the southern ecliptic pole. [87]

References

  • [7] «Der grosse Kosmos-Himmelsführer» von Ian Ridpath und Wil Tirion; Kosmos Verlag; ISBN 3-440-05787-9
  • [9] «Drehbare Sternkarte SIRIUS» von H. Suter-Haug; Hallwag-Verlag, Bern
  • [15] «Hartung's Astronomical Objects for Southern Telescopes» by David Malin and David J. Frew; Melbourne University Press 1995; ISBN 0-522-84553-3
  • [28] «Uranometria omnium asterismorum continens schemata, nova methodo delineata aereis laminis expressa» Johann Bayer, Augsburg, 1603; DOI:10.3931/e-rara-309
  • [87] The Starry Sky: Canopus and Carina the Keel by Deborah Byrd; Astronomy 2/96, p.64
  • [150] IAU: The Constellations, 11. Oktober 2020; iau.org/public/themes/constellations
  • [154] Yale Bright Star Catalog, 15. Oktober 2020; tdc-www.harvard.edu/catalogs/bsc5.html

IAU Sternbildkarte
IAU NameCarina
IAU GenitivCarinae
IAU KürzelCar
Deutscher NameKiel des Schiffes
Englischer NameKeel
Saison (47°N)Nicht sichtbar
Rektaszension6h 02m 47s
11h 20m 38s
Deklination-75° 41' 03"
-50° 45' 17"
Fläche494°2
Nachbarn (N↻)Vel, Pup, Pic, Vol, Cha, Mus, Cen

Sternbild Carina (Kiel des Schiffes)

Das Band der Milchstrasse verläuft durch den östlichen Teil von Carina und so findet man mit einem Fernglas viele Sternwolken und -haufen. Die Sterne iota und epsilon Carinae bilden zusammen mit kappa und delta Velorum das Falsche Kreuz, das oft für das Kreuz des Südens weiter östlich gehalten wird. Im Gegensatz zum echten zeigt das Falsche Kreuz nicht in Richtung südlichen Himmelspol. Carina schliesst am Himmel eine Fläche von 494 Quadratgrad ein. Das Zentrum kulminiert jeweils etwa am 30. Januar um Mitternacht. [9, 15]

Sterne mit Eigennamen:

  • α Carinae: Canopus, Suhel, Suhail
  • β Carinae: Miaplacidus
  • ε Carinae: Avior
  • ι Carinae: Turais, Tureis, Scutulum, Aspidiske

Mythologie und Geschichte

Carina, der Schiffskiel, ist der südlichste Teil dessen, was früher einmal das prächtige, ausgedehnte Sternbild Argo Navis war, dem legendären Schiff von Jason und seinen Argonauten, die auszogen, das Goldene Vlies des Widders zu suchen. Mitte des 17. Jahrhundert wurde es aber vom französischen Astronomen Nicolas Louis de Lacaille in vier Teile auseinandergerissen - Carina, Puppis (Achterdeck), Pyxis (Schiffskompass) und Vela (Schiffssegel). Die hellsten Sterne der vier Teil-Sternbilder des Argo Navis besitzen immer noch eine durchgehende Bezeichnung mit griechischen Buchstaben, da Johann Bayer das Sternbild schon früher in seine Uranometria aufgenommen hatte. [7]

Ein interessantes Beispiel wo Sprache, Mythos und moderne Wissenschaft sich überschneiden: Himmelsnavigatoren der neusten Zeit verwenden Carinas hellsten Stern, Canopus, um ihre Raumsonden auf einem stabilen Kurs durch das Sonnensystem zu halten. Canopus eignet sich nicht nur wegen seiner Helligkeit (der zweithellste Fixstern) für diese Aufgabe, sondern er liegt auch nahezu auf der Normalen zur Ebene des Sonnensystems, d.h. nahe am südlichen Ekliptikpol. [87]

Kataloge

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.