Constellation Bootes (Herdsman)

Bootes
Bootes: IAU Constellation Map [150]

Properties

The constellation Bootes is a typical spring constellation and is relatively easy to find, although at first glance it is not particularly noticeable in the sky. It is far from the band of the Milky Way, southeast of Ursa Maior. Follow the curve of the drawbar of the Big Dipper to Arcturus and on to Spica (alpha Virginis). The shape of the constellation Bootes is very memorable. Some see a paper kite in it, others an upside-down tie or a cornet (an ice cream cone). To the east of Bootes is the striking constellation Corona Borealis. Bootes has an area of 907 square degrees and the constellation center culminates around midnight on April 30th. [9, 15]

Stars with Proper Names [154]
α Boo Arcturus, Haris-El-Sema
β Boo Nekkar, Merez, Meres
γ Boo Seginus, Ceginus
ε Boo Izar, Mirac, Mirak, Mirach, Mizar, Pulcherrima
η Boo Mufrid, Muphrid, Mufride, Muphride
θ Boo Asellus Primus
ι Boo Asellus Secondus
κ2 Boo Asellus Tertius
μ1 Boo Alkalurops, Inkalunis, Icalurus, Clava, Venabulum
38 Boo Merga, Marrha, El Mara El Musalsela, Falx Italica
Data for constellation Bootes [150]
IAU NameBootes
IAU GenitiveBoötis
IAU Abbr.Boo
English NameHerdsman
Opposition2 May
Season (47° N)December … September
Right Ascension13h 35m 49s … 15h 49m 28s
Declination+07° 21' 38" … +55° 02' 42"
Area907 deg2
Neighbours (N↻)Dra, UMa, CVn, Com, Vir, Ser, CrB, Her

Deep-Sky Object Descriptions

Catalogues

Mythology and History

Bootes is a very old constellation and there are many stories to be told about it, some of which are even contradictory.

The name appeared over 3000 years ago. He is the shepherd or bear keeper and destined to herd in the vicinity of the great bear. Another interpretation sees it as the ox driver, because the big wagon in Ursa Maior was seen as an ox cart. The Egyptians considered Ursa Maior malicious and Bootes was supposed to guard him. The Egyptian name for bear guardian is hippopotamus. [58] In addition, in many of the depictions he is holding the leash of the hunting dogs.

Constellation Bootes
Constellation Bootes: Illustration from «Uranometria» by Johann Bayer, copper engraving by Alexander Mair, 1603 [28]

In Greek mythology, Bootes is Ikarios. He learned from Dionysus, the god of fertility, wine and intoxication, the art of wine growing and pressing. Ikarios offered a sample of his art to a group of shepherds who, uncontrollably, drank the wine undiluted in large quantities until they thought they were enchanted because they saw some things twice. In their intoxication, they killed Ikarios because they thought he had poisoned them. After they had slept off their intoxication, they buried him under a fir tree and carefully covered all traces so that their deed would not be known. Ikarios' daughter Erigone did not know where her father was until her dog Maria dragged her by a corner of her robe to the place where her father had been buried by the murderers. Erigone was desperate and hanged herself from the Christmas tree that stood by her father's grave. The dog, troubled by their deaths, threw himself into a nearby well.

When Dionysus heard this terrible news, he was so furious that he cast a curse on the maidens in Athens, which caused them to hang themselves from trees. The citizens of Athens were so terrified that they consulted an oracle. The oracle said that the death of the virgins could only be stopped if Ikarios' murderers were found and punished. It was done quickly. Later the Athenians celebrated the death of Icarius and Erigone every year at the grape harvest festival. Drink offerings are made to Ikarios and Erigone and girls rock on ropes in the branches of trees, standing on small boards.

Dionysus gave Ikarios, his daughter and her dog a place under the stars. Ikarios became Bootes, Erigone became Virgo, and the dog became Canis Minor. [20, 58]

Constellations Coma Berenices, Bootes and Corona
Constellations Coma Berenices, Bootes and Corona: Illustration from «Prodromus Astronomiae» by Johannes Hevelius, 1690. Mirrored view from «outside of the celestial sphere» [19]

According to a story by Eratosthenes, however, the constellation represents Arkas, who is the son of Zeus, the father of the gods, and Callisto, the daughter of King Lykaon of Arcadia. One day Zeus was invited to dinner in the palace of the Lykaon. In order to check whether the guest really was the mighty Zeus, the king of the gods, Lykaon cut up his grandson Arkas and served him as a meal for Zeus. However, Zeus immediately recognized the flesh of his poor son and, in a furious rage, knocked over the table, killed Lycaon's sons with a lightning bolt, and turned Lykaon himself into a wolf. Then Zeus put the parts of his son back together and handed him over to the Pleiade Maia, who raised him.

In the meantime Callisto had been transformed into a bear by Zeus' jealous wife, Hera. When Arkas had grown up into a youth, one day he met the she-bear while hunting. Callisto recognized her son, but could only greet him with a grunt. Arkas did not understand this hum as maternal affection and then chased the she-bear, who fled to the temple of Zeus. This was a forbidden place and entering it was punishable by death. Zeus seized both of them and placed them in the sky as constellations.

According to one interpretation, the designation Bootes means the driver or coachman of a harvest wagon or Plaustri Cutos (guardian of the wagon). Others associate this name with the leader of the two dogs Chara and Asterion, which we now call hunting dogs and which we see in the immediate vicinity of the boat. The two are chasing the Big Bear around the pole and the boat rushes after them. Apparently Bootes makes a loud shouting to cheer the dogs on, because the designation Vociferator, Vociferans, Clamans, Clamator and Plorans means someone who raises his voice loudly, calls and screams. But he has also been called shepherd and bear guard. Cicero (106-43 BC) reports that he was also called Arctophylax (Arctophylax, vulgo qui dicitur esse Bootes). But it has also been called Arcturus, Portitor Ursae, Custos Arcti, Custor Erymanthidos Ursae and Arcturi Custos; all these names mean a guardian of the bear. Venator Ursae, the bear hunter, has been another common name. [20, 27, 60]

References

  • [9] «Drehbare Sternkarte SIRIUS» von H. Suter-Haug; Hallwag-Verlag, Bern
  • [15] «Hartung's Astronomical Objects for Southern Telescopes» by David Malin and David J. Frew; Melbourne University Press 1995; ISBN 0-522-84553-3
  • [19] «Prodromus Astronomiae» Johannes Hevelius, 1690; DOI:10.3931/e-rara-456
  • [20] «Sternbilder und ihre Mythen» von Gerhard Fasching; Zweite, verbesserte Auflage; Springer Verlag Wien, New York; ISBN 3-211-82552-5 (Wien); ISBN 0-387-82552-5 (New York)
  • [27] Nord- und Südhimmel: Bootes, Star Observer 5/94, S.43
  • [28] «Uranometria omnium asterismorum continens schemata, nova methodo delineata aereis laminis expressa» Johann Bayer, Augsburg, 1603; DOI:10.3931/e-rara-309
  • [58] Eye On The Sky: Bootes by Deborah Byrd; Astronomy 4/93, p.48
  • [60] Beautiful Bootes by Alister Ling; Astronomy 5/93, p.56
  • [150] IAU: The Constellations, 11. Oktober 2020; iau.org/public/themes/constellations
  • [154] Yale Bright Star Catalog, 15. Oktober 2020; tdc-www.harvard.edu/catalogs/bsc5.html

IAU Sternbildkarte
IAU NameBootes
IAU GenitivBoötis
IAU KürzelBoo
Deutscher NameBärenhüter
Englischer NameHerdsman
Saison (47°N)Feb … Aug
Rektaszension13h 35m 49s
15h 49m 28s
Deklination+7° 21' 39"
+55° 02' 42"
Fläche907°2
Nachbarn (N↻)Dra, UMa, CVn, Com, Vir, Ser, CrB, Her

Sternbild Bootes (Bärenhüter)

Das Sternbild Bootes ist ein typisches Frühlingssternbild und relativ einfach zu finden, obwohl es auf den ersten Blick nicht stark am Himmel auffällt. Es liegt weitab vom Band der Milchstrasse, südöstlich von Ursa Maior. Folge dem Bogen der Deichsel des Grossen Wagens zu Arcturus und weiter bis zur Spica (alpha Virginis). Die Form der Konstellation Bootes ist sehr einprägsam. Einige sehen darin einen Papierdrachen, andere eine auf den Kopf gestellte Krawatte oder ein Cornet (eine Eiswaffel). Östlich von Bootes steht das markante Sternbild Corona Borealis. Bootes hat eine Fläche von 907 Quadratgrad und das Sternbildzentrum kulminiert jeweils etwa am 30. April um Mitternacht. [9, 15]

Sterne mit Eigennamen:

  • α Boötis: Arcturus, Haris-El-Sema
  • β Boötis: Nekkar, Merez, Meres
  • γ Boötis: Seginus, Ceginus
  • ε Boötis: Izar, Mirac, Mirak, Mirach, Mizar, Pulcherrima
  • η Boötis: Mufrid, Muphrid, Mufride, Muphride
  • θ Boötis: Asellus Primus
  • ι Boötis: Asellus Secondus
  • κ2 Boötis: Asellus Tertius
  • μ1 Boötis: Alkalurops, Inkalunis, Icalurus, Clava, Venabulum
  • 38 Boötis: Merga, Marrha, El Mara El Musalsela, Falx Italica

Mythologie und Geschichte

Bootes ist ein sehr altes Sternbild und man weiss viele Geschichten darüber zu erzählen, die teilweise sogar widersprüchlich sind.

Der Name tauchte schon vor über 3000 Jahren auf. Er ist der Hirte oder Bärenhüter und dazu bestimmt in der Nähe des Grossen Bären zu hüten. Eine andere Interpretation sieht darin den Ochsentreiber, denn der Grosse Wagen in Ursa Maior wurde als Ochsenkarren gesehen. Die Ägypter betrachteten Ursa Maior als böswillig und Bootes sollte ihn bewachen. Der ägyptische Name für Bärenwächter ist Hippopotamus. [58] Auf vielen Darstellungen hält er darüber hinaus die Leine der Jagdhunde.

In der griechischen Mythologie ist Bootes Ikarios. Er lernte von Dionysos, dem Gott der Fruchtbarkeit, des Weines und des Rausches, die Kunst des Weinanbaus und der Kelterei. Ikarios hat eine Probe seiner Kunst einer Gruppe von Schafhirten angeboten, die den Wein unbeherrscht in grosser Menge unverdünnt getrunken haben, bis sie sich verzaubert glaubten, weil sie manches doppelt sahen. In ihrem Rausch töteten sie Ikarios, weil sie meinten, er hätte sie vergiftet. Nachdem sie ihren Rausch ausgeschlafen hatten, begruben sie ihn unter einem Tannenbaum und verwischten alle Spuren sorgfältig, damit ihre Tat nicht bekannt würde. Ikarios' Tochter Erigone wusste nicht wo ihr Vater geblieben war, bis ihr Hund Maria sie an einem Zipfel ihres Gewandes zu jener Stelle zerrte, wo ihr Vater von den Mördern verscharrt worden war. Verzweifelt war Erigone und erhängte sich an dem Tannenbaum, der beim Grab ihres Vaters stand. Der Hund, bekümmert über den Tod der beiden, stürzte sich in einen nahegelegenen Brunnen.

Als Dionysos diese schreckliche Neuigkeit vernahm war er so ausser sich vor Zorn, dass er einen Fluch über die Jungfrauen in Athen aussprach, der sie dazu veranlasste, sich selbst an Bäumen aufzuhängen. Die Bürger von Athen waren so erschreckt, dass sie ein Orakel konsultierten. Das Orakel sprach, dass der Tod der Jungfrauen nur gestoppt werden könne, wenn Ikarios' Mörder gefunden und bestraft würden. Das war schnell geschehen. Später zelebrierten die Athenier jedes Jahr beim Weinlesefest den Tod des Ikarios und der Erigone. Trinkopfer werden dem Ikarios und der Erigone dargebracht und Mädchen schaukeln, auf kleinen Brettern stehend, an Seilen im Baumgeäst.

Dionysos schenkte Ikarios, dessen Tochter und ihrem Hund einen Platz unter den Sternen. Ikarios wurde zu Bootes, Erigone wurde zum Sternbild Virgo und der Hund wurde zum Sternbild Canis Minor. [20, 58]

Nach einer Erzählung von Eratosthenes stellt das das Sternbild jedoch Arkas dar, welcher der Sohn des Göttervaters Zeus und Kallisto, der Tochter des Königs Lykaon von Arkadien. Eines Tages war Zeus im Palast des Lykaon zum Essen eingeladen. Um zu prüfen, ob der Gast tatsächlich der mächtige Zeus, der König der Götter, sei, zerstückelte Lykaon seinen Enkel Arkas und setzte ihn Zeus als Mahlzeit vor. Zeus erkannte jedoch sofort das Fleisch seines armen Sohnes und warf in rasendem Zorn den Tisch um, tötete Lykaons Söhne mit einem Blitz und verwandelte Lykaon selbst in einen Wolf. Dann fügte Zeus die Teile seines Sohnes wieder zusammen und übergab ihn der Pleiade Maia, die ihn aufzog.

Mittlerweile war Kallisto von der eifersüchtigen Gattin des Zeus, Hera, in eine Bärin verwandelt worden. Als Arkas zu einem Jüngling herangewachsen war, begegnete er eines Tages auf der Jagd der Bärin. Kallisto erkannte ihren Sohn, konnte ihn aber nur mit einem Brummen begrüssen. Arkas verstand dieses Brummen nicht als mütterliche Zuneigung und jagte sodann die Bärin, die in den Tempel des Zeus flüchtete. Dies war ein verbotener Ort und dessen Betreten wurde mit dem Tode bestraft. Zeus ergriff beide und versetzte sie als Sternbilder an den Himmel.

Nach einer Interpretation meint die Bezeichnung Bootes Fuhrmann oder Kutscher eines Erntewagens oder auch Plaustri Cutos (Wächter des Wagens). Andere verbinden diesen Namen mit dem Führer der beiden Hunde Chara und Asterion, die wir heute Jagdhunde nennen und in unmittelbarer Nähe beim Bootes sehen. Die beiden verfolgen nämlich den Grossen Bären rund um den Pol und der Bootes eilt hinter ihnen her. Offenbar macht Bootes dabei ein lautes Geschrei um die Hunde anzufeuern, denn die Bezeichnung Vociferator, Vociferans, Clamans, Clamator und Plorans meint jemanden, der laut die Stimme erhebt, ruft und schreit. Aber auch Hirte und Bärenwächter hat man ihn genannt. Cicero (106-43 v.Chr.) berichtet, dass man ihn auch Arctophylax nannte (Arctophylax, vulgo qui dicitur esse Bootes). Aber auch Arcturus, Portitor Ursae, Custos Arcti, Custor Erymanthidos Ursae und Arcturi Custos hat man ihn bezeichnet; alle diese Namen meinen einen Wächter des Bären. Venator Ursae, der Bärenjäger, ist eine andere übliche Bezeichnung gewesen. [20, 60, 136]

Beschriebene Deep-Sky Objekte

Kataloge

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.