Abell 21, Medusa Nebula

Abell 21
Abell 21: Medusa Nebula; 500 mm Cassegrain f=5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 120+20+20+20 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2005 Radek Chromik

History

The Medusa Nebula was discovered by George O. Abell on the «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey» (POSS) photo plates at the beginning of the 1950s and listed as the 21st item in his catalog. A few months later, H. M. Johnson tracked him down independently of Abell during his «Survey of Symmetric Galactic Nebulae». Since the appearance of this nebula resembles a jellyfish with winding, fine filaments, it was named «Medusa».

Physical Properties

At first, the nebula was understandably identified as a supernova remnant (SNR) because of its size and low luminosity. Its appearance, especially the filament-like structure of the apparent half-shell, looks very similar to an SNR, which is why it was not included in Perek & Kohoutek's "Catalog of Galactic Planetary Nebulae" at first. However, a measurement of the expansion speed of the nebula showed a value that was too low for an SNR, but which corresponded more to that of a PN. In addition, no postsupernova, a neutron star, was found. The chemical composition, which was obtained on the basis of a spectral analysis of the emitted light, and the physical conditions in the nebula also indicated a PN. An interpretation of the analyzed measurements showed that the nebula probably emerged from a massive star around 6'800 years ago. The distance is about 790 light years. The spectrum of the nebula shows a weaker emission in the O-III than usual, because H-alpha is about 1.7 times as strong. [94]

The Medusa Nebula is a large planetary nebula about a third of the full moon diameter. The visual brightness is 10.3 and the surface brightness is 15.3 magnitudes. The central star is very weak with almost 16 mag.

Further infos at CDS: PN A66 21

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G205.1+14.2: A 21, PK 205+14.1, A55 16, A 21, ARO 388, Sh 2-274, YM 29
Right Ascension (J2000.0)7h 29m 03s
Declination (J2000.0)13° 14' 30"
Dimensions 615." (optical)
Expansion Velocity 64. km/s (O-III), 90. km/s (N-II)
C-Star DesignationsAG82 82, CSI +13 -07262, UBV 7228
C-Star Magnitude14.41 mag (U filter), 15.67 mag (B filter), 15.99 mag (V filter)
DiscovererJOHNSON et al 1971

NGC 2395

NGC 2395
NGC 2395: 30' x 30' Crop from the STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160]

NGC 2395 is a small open star cluster and, with 30 stars counted, relatively poor. It is only noticeable because of its slightly higher star density compared to its surroundings. The diameter of this compression is about 12 arc minutes and the brightest stars reach 9.96 magnitudes. It was discovered by William Herschel on March 16, 1784 and noted as VIII 11. [277]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 2395
TypeOCL (III1p)
Right Ascension07h 27m 12.8s
Declination+13° 36' 30"
Diameter15.00 arcmin
Visual magnitude8.0 mag
Dreyer DescriptionCl, pRi, C
IdentificationOCL 502

Finder Chart

The Medusa Nebula is located between the constellations Canis Minor and Gemini. It can best be observed in the months of October to April. There are two simple ways to find the Medusa Nebula. For both, an O-III filter and an eyepiece with at least one degree of field of view are advantageous.

The first method is with the Telrad finder, which is used to align the telescope using the illustration below. The Medusa Nebula is about half a degree southeast of the small open star cluster NGC 2395.

The second method only works with equatorially positioned telescopes. The star Gomeisa (β CMa) is adjusted so that it comes to lie on the western edge of the field of view. Then you lock the hour axis and move the telescope about five degrees to the north in declination. Either you come across the Medusa Nebula first or the open star cluster NGC 2395. The Medusa Nebula has exactly the same right ascension as the star Gomeisa about four minutes further to the east.

Chart Abell 21
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

94Objekte der Saison: PK 205+14.1 von Ronald C. Stoyan; Interstellarum1/96, S.54
141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Abell 21, Medusanebel

Objektbeschreibung

Abell 21
Abell 21: 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 120+20+20+20 min LRGB; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2005 Radek Chromik

Der Medusanebel wurde anfangs der 50er-Jahre von George O. Abell auf den POSS-Fotoplatten entdeckt und als 21. Objekt in seinem Katalog verzeichnet. Wenige Monate später spürte ihn H. M. Johnson unabhängig von Abell während seiner «Survey of Symmetric Galactic Nebulae» auf. Da das Aussehen dieses Nebels einer Qualle mit schlängelnden, feinen Filamenten ähnelt, erhielt er den Namen «Medusa».

Zuerst wurde der Nebel wegen seiner Ausdehnung und geringen Leuchtkraft verständlicherweise als Supernova-Überrest (SNR) identifiziert. Sein Aussehen, besonders die filamentartige Struktur der scheinbaren Halbschale, sieht einem SNR sehr ähnlich, weshalb er zuerst gar nicht in Perek & Kohouteks «Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» aufgenommen wurde. Eine Messung der Expansionsgeschwindigkeit des Nebels ergab jedoch einen für einen SNR zu niedrigen Wert, welcher aber eher dem eines PN entsprach. Ausserdem wurde auch keine Postsupernova, ein Neutronenstern, gefunden. Die chemische Zusammensetzung, welche aufgrund einer Spektralanalyse des emittierten Lichts gewonnen wurde und die physikalischen Bedingungen im Nebel liessen ebenfalls auf einen PN schliessen. Eine Interpretation der analysierten Messungen ergab, dass der Nebel vermutlich vor rund 6800 Jahren aus einem massiven Stern entstand. Die Entfernung beträgt etwa 790 Lichtjahre. Das Spektrum des Nebels zeigt eine schwächere Emission im O-III als gewöhnlich, denn H-alpha ist etwa 1.7-mal so stark. [94]

Der Medusanebel ist ein grosser planetarischer Nebel von etwa einem drittel Vollmonddurchmesser. Die visuelle Helligkeit beträgt 10.3 und die Oberflächenhelligkeit 15.3 Magnituden. Der Zentralstern ist mit knapp 16 mag sehr schwach.

— 1996, Bernd Nies

Weitere Infos bei CDS: PN A66 21

Daten für Abell 21, zusammengefasst aus unterschiedlichen Katalogen.
BezeichnungenA 21, A55 16, ARO 388, PK 205+14 1, PNG 205.1+14.2, Sh 2-274, YM 29
RA / Dec (B1950.0)07h 26m 14.50s / +13° 20' 44.0'' [141]
Abmessungen 615." (optisch) [141]
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 64. km/s (O-III), 90. km/s (N-II) [141]
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG82 82, CSI +13 -07262, UBV 7228 [141]
Z-Stern Magnitude14.41 mag (U filter), 15.67 mag (B filter), 15.99 mag (V filter) [141]
EntdeckerJOHNSON et al 1971 [141]

NGC 2395

NGC 2395
NGC 2395: 30' x 30 ' Ausschnitt aus dem STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160]

NGC 2395 ist ein kleiner offener Sternhaufen und mit 30 gezählten Sternen relativ arm. Er fällt nur durch seine geringfügig höhere Sterndichte gegenüber der Umgebung auf. Der Durchmesser dieser Verdichtung beträgt etwa 12 Bogenminuten und die hellsten Sterne erreichen 9.96 Magnituden.

Weitere Infos bei CDS: NGC 2395

Daten für NGC 2395, zusammengefasst aus unterschiedlichen Katalogen.
BezeichnungenNGC 2395
RA / Dec (B2000.0)07h 27.1m / +13° 35' [142]
SternbildGem [142]
Objekt KlasseOC [142]
Abmessungen 12.' [142]
Scheinbare Magnitude8.0 mag [142]
Beschreibung (Dreyer)Cl, pRi, C [142]

Wie findet man die kosmische Qualle?

Der Medusanebel befindet sich zwischen den Sternbildern Canis Minor und Gemini und kann in den Monaten Oktober bis April am besten beobachtet werden. Es gibt zwei einfache Methoden, den Medusanebel aufzufinden. Bei beiden ist ein O-III Filter und ein Okular mit mindestens einem Grad Gesichtsfeld von Vorteil.

Die erste Methode ist die mit dem Telrad-Finder, mit dessen das Teleskop anhand unten stehender Abbildung ausgerichtet wird. Der Medusanebel liegt etwa ein halbes Grad südöstlich vom kleinen offenen Sternhaufen NGC 2395.

Die zweite Methode funktioniert nur bei äquatorial aufgestellten Teleskopen. Man stellt den Stern Gomeisa (β CMa) ein, sodass dieser am westlichen Gesichtsfeldrand zu liegen kommt. Dann arretiert man die Stundenachse und bewegt das Teleskop etwa fünf Grad in Deklination nach Norden. Entweder stösst man zuerst auf den Medusanebel oder den offenen Sternhaufen NGC 2395. Der Medusanebel besitzt auf etwa vier Minuten weiter östlich genau die gleiche Rektaszension wie der Stern Gomeisa.

Auffindkarte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149,160]

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.