Red Spider Nebula (NGC 6537)

NGC 6537
NGC 6537: Image taken with Hubble Space Telescope. © 2021, ESA & Garrelt Mellema (Leiden University, the Netherlands) [578]

History

The planetary Nebula NGC 6537 was discovered on 15 July 1882 by the American astronomer Edward Pickering using visual spectroscopy with the 15 inch refractor of Harvard College Observatory. [277] The description by J. L. E. Dreyer reads «planetary, bright, small, stellar». [313]

Physical Properties

NGC 6537 is a «butterfly» or bipolar (two-lobed) planetary nebula. The S-shaped symmetry of the lobes in the image is believed to be due to the presence of a companion to the hot central star. The waves are generated by supersonic shocks formed when the local gas is compressed and heated in front of the rapidly expanding lobes. They reach peaks 100 billion kilometres high and must have been produced by a powerful wind blowing with a speed of 2000-4500 km/s. The waves themselves move outwards at a slower rate of 300 km/s. The temperature of the gas waves is about 10'000 K. The process appears to have been underway long enough to make the edges of the lobe walls look as if they have started to fracture into wave crests. Investigations have shown that the central white dwarf must have a temperature of at least half a million degrees, making it one of the hottest stars known, emitting primarily X-rays. Distance is estimated to 3000 light-years. [578]

Apparent magnitudes, measured in different spectral bands: V=13.58, J=10.548, H=10.176, K=9.172 [145]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
DesignationsPN G010.1+00.7: NGC 6537, PK 10+00.1, ARO 52, ESO 590-01, He 2- 340, My 115, Sa 2-294, VV 147, VV' 339
Right Ascension (J2000.0)18h 05m 13s
Declination (J2000.0)-19° 50' 14"
Dimensions 10." (optical), > 9." (radio)
Distance 2.4 kpc
Radial Velocity-16.0 km/s ± 3.0 km/s
Expansion Velocity 18.0 km/s (O-III)
C-Star DesignationsAG82 284, CSI -19 -18023, GCRV 10524, HD 312582
C-Star Magnitude>19.8 mag (B filter), >18.8 mag (V filter)
DiscovererPICKERING 1882

Finder Chart

The planetary nebula NGC 6537 is located in the star rich region of constellation Sagittarius. The best time for observation is in the months May through September.

Chart Red Spider Nebula (NGC 6537)
Red Spider Nebula (NGC 6537) in constellation Sagittarius. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
313«A New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars, being the Catalogue of the late Sir John F.W. Herschel, Bart., revised, corrected, and enlarged» Dreyer, J. L. E. (1888); Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society. 49: 1–237; Bibcode:1888MmRAS..49....1D
578heic0109 — Photo Release: Surfing in Sagittarius - not for the faint-hearted!; esahubble.org/news/heic0109 (2023-01-16)

Roter Spinnennebel (NGC 6537)

NGC 6537
NGC 6537: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © 2021, ESA & Garrelt Mellema (Leiden University, the Netherlands) [578]

Geschichte

Der planetarische Nebel NGC 6537 wurde am 15. Juli 1882 von dem amerikanischen Astronomen Edward Pickering durch visuelle Spektroskopie mit dem 15-Zoll-Refraktor des Harvard College Observatory entdeckt. [277] Die Beschreibung von J. L. E. Dreyer lautet «planetarisch, hell, klein, stellar». [313]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

NGC 6537 ist ein «Schmetterlingsnebel» oder bipolarer (zweilappiger) planetarischer Nebel. Man nimmt an, dass die S-förmige Symmetrie der Lappen auf dem Bild auf die Anwesenheit eines Begleiters des heißen Zentralsterns zurückzuführen ist. Die Wellen werden durch Überschallstöße erzeugt, die entstehen, wenn das lokale Gas vor den sich schnell ausdehnenden Lappen komprimiert und erhitzt wird. Sie erreichen Spitzen von 100 Milliarden Kilometern Höhe und müssen von einem starken Wind mit einer Geschwindigkeit von 2000 bis 4500 km/s erzeugt worden sein. Die Wellen selbst bewegen sich mit einer langsameren Geschwindigkeit von 300 km/s nach außen. Die Temperatur der Gaswellen beträgt etwa 10'000 K. Der Prozess scheint lange genug gedauert zu haben, um die Ränder der Lappenwände so aussehen zu lassen, als ob sie begonnen hätten, in Wellenkämme zu zerbrechen. Untersuchungen haben ergeben, dass der zentrale Weiße Zwerg eine Temperatur von mindestens einer halben Million Grad haben muss, was ihn zu einem der heißesten bekannten Sterne macht, der hauptsächlich Röntgenstrahlung aussendet. Die Entfernung wird auf 3000 Lichtjahre geschätzt. [578]

Scheinbare Helligkeiten, gemessen in verschiedenen Spektralbändern: V=13.58, J=10.548, H=10.176, K=9.172 [145]

«Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker et al., 1992 [141]
BezeichnungenPN G010.1+00.7: NGC 6537, PK 10+00.1, ARO 52, ESO 590-01, He 2- 340, My 115, Sa 2-294, VV 147, VV' 339
Rektaszension (J2000.0)18h 05m 13s
Deklination (J2000.0)-19° 50' 14"
Abmessungen 10." (optisch), > 9." (radio)
Entfernung 2.4 kpc
Radialgeschwindigkeit-16.0 km/s ± 3.0 km/s
Expansionsgeschwindigkeit 18.0 km/s (O-III)
Z-Stern BezeichnungenAG82 284, CSI -19 -18023, GCRV 10524, HD 312582
Z-Stern Magnitude>19.8 mag (B filter), >18.8 mag (V filter)
EntdeckerPICKERING 1882

Auffindkarte

Der planetarische Nebel NGC 6537 befindet sich in der sternreichen Region des Sternbildes Sagittarius. Die beste Zeit für die Beobachtung ist in den Monaten Mai bis September.

Karte Roter Spinnennebel (NGC 6537)
Roter Spinnennebel (NGC 6537) im Sternbild Sagittarius. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

141Strasbourg-ESO Catalogue of Galactic Planetary Nebulae; A. Acker, F. Ochsenbein, B. Stenholm, R. Tylenda, J. Marcout, C. Schohn; European Southern Observatory; ISBN 3-923524-41-2 (1992); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/V/84 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
313«A New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars, being the Catalogue of the late Sir John F.W. Herschel, Bart., revised, corrected, and enlarged» Dreyer, J. L. E. (1888); Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society. 49: 1–237; Bibcode:1888MmRAS..49....1D
578heic0109 — Photo Release: Surfing in Sagittarius - not for the faint-hearted!; esahubble.org/news/heic0109 (2023-01-16)