Eta Carinae Nebula (NGC 3372)

NGC 3372
NGC 3372: Eta Carinae Nebula; Takahashi FSQ-106ED f/5.0; SBIG STL-11000M; Astro-Physics 1200GTO; 30x5 min -20 °C; Namibia, Tivoli Southern Sky Guest Farm, 1360 m ASL; © 30.5. + 8. 6. 2011 Manuel Jung [45]

History

During his expedition to the Cape of Good Hope French astronomer Nicolas-Louis de Lacaille discovered in 1751-1752 the cluster and nebula NGC 3372 (Lac III-6) using his small ½-inch telescope with 8x magnification. He recorded a «Large group of a great number of small stars, little compressed, and filling out the space of a kind of a semi-circle of 15 to 20 minutes in diameter; with a slight nebulosity spreading in that space.» The nebula and embedded clusters are visible by naked eye and were probably known before by sky watchers on the southern hemisphere. [364]

Scottish astronomer James Dunlop observed NGC 3372 (D 309) with his 9-inch reflector at least 13 times beginning on 30 March 1826 from Parramatta in New South Wales, Australia. He summarized his observations as follows: «(Eta Roboris Caroli, Bode) is a bright star of the 3rd magnitude, surrounded by a multitude of small stars, and pretty strong nebulosity; very similar in its nature to that in Orion, but not so bright... I can count twelve or fourteen extremely minute stars surrounding Eta in the space of about 1'; several of them appear close to the disk: there is a pretty bright small star about the 10th magnitude north following. the Eta, and distant about 1'. The nebulosity is pretty strongly marked; that on the south side is very unequal in brightness, and the different portions of the nebulosity are completely detached, as represented in the figure [plate III, figure 14]. There is much nebulosity in this place, and very much extensive nebulosity throughout the Robur Caroli, which is also very rich in small stars.» [50]

John Herschel observed «η Argus and the great Nebula surrounding it» (h3295) at least three times between 14 March 1834 and 4 February 1835 using his 18½-inch reflector at Feldhausen on the Cape of Good Hope in South Africa. On plate IX he made a detailed sketch of the nebula and dedicated several pages of description, which begins with: «There is perhaps no other siderial object which unites more points of interest than this. Its situation is very remarkable, being in the midst of one of those rich and brilliant masses, a successsion of which curiously contrasted with dark adjacent spaces (called by the old navigators coal-sacks), constitute the milky way in that portion of its course which lies between the Centaur and the main body of Argo. In all this region the stars of the milky way are well separated, and, except within the limits of the nebula, on a perfectly dark ground, and on an average, of larger magnitudes than im ost other regions.»

Eta Carinae + Homunculus Nebula
Eta Carinae + Homunculus Nebula: Combination of images taken with Hubble Space Telescope. © NASA, ESA, Hubble, Judy Schmidt [165]

Herschel also noticed that the star η Argus (today η Carinae) had increased in brightness. From 4th magnitude in Halley's catalogue of 1677 to second magnitude in Lacaille's catalogue. When he first observed it in 1834 it appeared to be a very large star of second magnitude. The star drastically increased in brightness and on 28 December 1837 it was superior to Rigel (β Orionis) and could be compared with α Centauri. [11] This observation marked the beginning of the great eruption 1837–56 which formed the Homunculus Nebula, discovered in 1944. [664, 665]

Physical Properties

The binary star system η (Eta) Carinae is one of the most massive and luminous binaries in our local galaxy. The two stars are locked in a highly eccentric orbit with a period of 5.5 years. The luminous variable primary star is orbited by a secondary that is a classical Wolf–Rayet star. The Great Eruption of 1837–56 that formed the Homunculus nebula was recently modelled to be the product of a binary merger in a triple system leading to the current orbit. [666] Eta Carinae is not only interesting because of its past, but also because of its future. It is one of the closest stars to Earth that is likely to explode in a supernova in the relatively near future (in astronomical timescales this could still be be a million years). When it does, expect an impressive view from Earth. [667]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Designation NGC 3372
Type EN
Right Ascension (J2000.0) 10h 45m 06.0s
Declination (J2000.0) -59° 52' 00"
Diameter 120 × 120 arcmin
Photographic (blue) magnitude 3.0 mag
Metric Distance 2.300 kpc
Identification, Remarks h 3295; GC 2197; ESO 128-EN13; Eta Car nebula

Finder Chart

The nebula NGC 3372 is located in the constellation Carina around the 6 mag bright star η Carinae. Unfortunately it is not visible from Europe. On 28 February it in opposition with the Sun and is therefore highest in the sky at local midnight.

Finder Chart Eta Carinae Nebula (NGC 3372)
Eta Carinae Nebula (NGC 3372) in constellation Carina. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objects Within a Radius of 15°

References

  • [11] «Results of astronomical observations made during the years 1834, 5, 6, 7, 8, at the Cape of Good Hope ... : being the completion of a telescopic survey of the whole surface of the visible heavens, commenced in 1825» Herschel, John F. W.; London : published by Smith, Elder and Co., 1847; DOI:10.3931/e-rara-22242
  • [45] Astro-, Landschafts- und Reisefotografie sowie Teleskopbau, Manuel Jung; sternklar.ch
  • [50] «VIII. A catalogue of nebulæ and clusters of stars in the southern hemisphere, observed at Paramatta in New South Wales, by James Dunlop, Esq. In a letter addressed to Sir Thomas Makdougall Brisbane, Bart. K. C. B. late Governor of New South Wales. Presented to the Royal Society by John Frederick William Herschel, Esq. Vice President» James Dunlop;Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, Volume 118, pages 113-151, published 1 January 1828; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1828.0010
  • [149] SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
  • [160] The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
  • [165] Flickr: Judy Schmidt; flickr.com/people/geckzilla (2021-01-02)
  • [277] «Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
  • [364] Steve Gottlieb's NGC Notes; astronomy-mall.com/Adventures.In.Deep.Space/steve.ngc.htm
  • [664] «The Historical Record of η Carinae I. The Visual Light Curve, 1595-2000» Frew, David J.; The Journal of Astronomical Data, Vol. 10, 2004; Bibcode:2004JAD....10....6F
  • [665] «Eta Carinae. I. The Nebulosity.» Gaviola, E.; Astrophysical Journal, vol. 111, p.408; March 1950; DOI:10.1086/145274; Bibcode:1950ApJ...111..408G
  • [666] «The orbital kinematics of η Carinae over three periastra with a possible detection of the elusive secondary’s motion» Emily Strawn, Noel D Richardson, Anthony F J Moffat, Nour Ibrahim, Alexis Lane, Connor Pickett, André-Nicolas Chené, Michael F Corcoran, Augusto Damineli, Theodore R Gull, D John Hillier, Patrick Morris, Herbert Pablo, Joshua D Thomas, Ian R Stevens, Mairan Teodoro, Gerd Weigelt; Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, Volume 519, Issue 4, March 2023, Pages 5882–5892; DOI:10.1093/mnras/stad018
  • [667] Preview of a forthcoming supernova; esahubble.org/images/potw1208a (2024-05-26)

Eta Carinae-Nebel (NGC 3372)

NGC 3372
NGC 3372: Eta Carinae Nebel; Takahashi FSQ-106ED f/5.0; SBIG STL-11000M; Astro-Physics 1200GTO; 30x5 min -20 °C; Namibia, Tivoli Southern Sky Guest Farm, 1360 m ü. M.; © 30.5. + 8. 6. 2011 Manuel Jung [45]

Geschichte

Während seiner Expedition zum Kap der Guten Hoffnung entdeckte der französische Astronom Nicolas-Louis de Lacaille in den Jahren 1751-1752 mit seinem kleinen ½-Zoll-Teleskop mit 8-facher Vergrößerung den Nebel NGC 3372 (Lac III-6) . Er notierte eine «große Gruppe einer großen Anzahl kleiner Sterne, wenig komprimiert und den Raum eines Halbkreises von 15 bis 20 Bogenminuten im Durchmesser ausfüllend; mit einer leichten Nebulosität, die sich in diesem Raum ausbreitet.» Der Nebel und die eingebetteten Sternhaufen sind mit bloßem Auge sichtbar und waren wahrscheinlich bereits zuvor von Himmelsbeobachtern auf der Südhalbkugel bekannt. [364]

Der schottische Astronom James Dunlop beobachtete NGC 3372 (D 309) mit seinem 9-Zoll-Reflektor mindestens 13 Mal, beginnend am 30. März 1826, von Parramatta in New South Wales, Australien. Er fasste seine Beobachtungen wie folgt zusammen: «(Eta Roboris Caroli, Bode) ist ein heller Stern 3. Größe, umgeben von einer Vielzahl kleiner Sterne und ziemlich starker Nebulosität; in seiner Natur dem Orionnebel sehr ähnlich, aber nicht so hell... Ich kann zwölf oder vierzehn extrem kleine Sterne zählen, die Eta im Raum von etwa 1' umgeben; mehrere von ihnen erscheinen nahe der Scheibe: Es gibt einen ziemlich hellen kleinen Stern etwa 10. Größe nördlich folgend von Eta, und etwa 1' entfernt. Die Nebulosität ist ziemlich stark ausgeprägt; die auf der Südseite ist sehr ungleich in der Helligkeit, und die verschiedenen Teile der Nebulosität sind vollständig getrennt, wie in der Abbildung [Tafel III, Figur 14] dargestellt. Es gibt viel Nebulosität an diesem Ort und sehr viel ausgedehnte Nebulosität im gesamten Robur Caroli, das auch sehr reich an kleinen Sternen ist.» [50]

John Herschel beobachtete «η Argus und den großen umgebenden Nebel» (h3295) mindestens dreimal zwischen dem 14. März 1834 und dem 4. Februar 1835 mit seinem 18½-Zoll-Reflektor in Feldhausen am Kap der Guten Hoffnung in Südafrika. Auf Tafel IX fertigte er eine detaillierte Skizze des Nebels an und widmete mehrere Seiten der Beschreibung, die mit folgenden Worten beginnt: «Es gibt vielleicht kein anderes Himmelsobjekt, das mehr interessante Aspekte vereint als dieses. Seine Lage ist sehr bemerkenswert, da es sich mitten in einer jener reichen und brillanten Massen befindet, deren Abfolge, die in auffälligem Kontrast zu den angrenzenden dunklen Bereichen (von den alten Seefahrern Kohlenbecken genannt) steht, die Milchstraße in dem Abschnitt ihres Verlaufs bildet, der zwischen dem Centaur und dem Hauptkörper des Argo liegt. In dieser gesamten Region sind die Sterne der Milchstraße gut getrennt und, außer innerhalb der Grenzen des Nebels, auf einem vollkommen dunklen Hintergrund, und im Durchschnitt von größerer Helligkeit als in den meisten anderen Regionen.» [11]

Eta Carinae + Homunculus Nebel
Eta Carinae + Homunculus Nebel: Kombination von Aufnahmen mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © NASA, ESA, Hubble, Judy Schmidt [165]

Herschel bemerkte auch, dass der Stern η Argus (heute η Carinae) an Helligkeit zugenommen hatte. Von der 4. Größenklasse im Katalog von Halley aus dem Jahr 1677 zur 2. Größenklasse im Katalog von Lacaille. Als er ihn 1834 zum ersten Mal beobachtete, erschien er als ein sehr großer Stern der 2. Größenklasse. Der Stern nahm drastisch an Helligkeit zu, und am 28. Dezember 1837 war er heller als Rigel (β Orionis) und konnte mit α Centauri verglichen werden. Diese Beobachtung markierte den Beginn der großen Eruption von 1837–56, welche den 1944 entdeckten Homunkulusnebel hervorbrachte. [664, 665]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Das Doppelsternsystem η (Eta) Carinae ist eines der massereichsten und leuchtkräftigsten Doppelsternsysteme in unserer lokalen Galaxie. Die beiden Sterne befinden sich in einer stark exzentrischen Umlaufbahn mit einer Periode von 5.5 Jahren. Der leuchtkräftige variable Hauptstern wird von einem Sekundärstern umkreist, der ein klassischer Wolf-Rayet-Stern ist. Die Große Eruption von 1837–56, die den Homunkulusnebel bildete, wurde kürzlich als das Ergebnis einer Verschmelzung von Doppelsternen in einem Dreifachsystem modelliert, was zur aktuellen Umlaufbahn führte. Eta Carinae ist nicht nur wegen seiner Vergangenheit interessant, sondern auch wegen seiner Zukunft. Es ist einer der nächsten Sterne zur Erde, die voraussichtlich in naher Zukunft (in astronomischen Zeitskalen kann dies immer noch eine Million Jahre bedeuten) in einer Supernova explodieren werden. Wenn dies geschieht, kann man von der Erde aus eine beeindruckende Aussicht erwarten. [667]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Bezeichnung NGC 3372
Typ EN
Rektaszension (J2000.0) 10h 45m 06.0s
Deklination (J2000.0) -59° 52' 00"
Durchmesser 120 × 120 arcmin
Fotografische (blaue) Helligkeit 3.0 mag
Metrische Entfernung 2.300 kpc
Identifikation, Anmerkungen h 3295; GC 2197; ESO 128-EN13; Eta Car nebula

Auffindkarte

Der Nebel NGC 3372 befindet sich im Sternbild Carina um den 6 Mag hellen Stern η Carinae. Es ist von Europa aus nicht sichtbar. Am 28. Februar steht er in Opposition zur Sonne und dann bei lokaler Mitternacht am höchsten am Himmel.

Auffindkarte Eta Carinae-Nebel (NGC 3372)
Eta Carinae-Nebel (NGC 3372) im Sternbild Carina. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Objekte innerhalb eines Radius von 15°

Quellenangaben

  • [11] «Results of astronomical observations made during the years 1834, 5, 6, 7, 8, at the Cape of Good Hope ... : being the completion of a telescopic survey of the whole surface of the visible heavens, commenced in 1825» Herschel, John F. W.; London : published by Smith, Elder and Co., 1847; DOI:10.3931/e-rara-22242
  • [45] Astro-, Landschafts- und Reisefotografie sowie Teleskopbau, Manuel Jung; sternklar.ch
  • [50] «VIII. A catalogue of nebulæ and clusters of stars in the southern hemisphere, observed at Paramatta in New South Wales, by James Dunlop, Esq. In a letter addressed to Sir Thomas Makdougall Brisbane, Bart. K. C. B. late Governor of New South Wales. Presented to the Royal Society by John Frederick William Herschel, Esq. Vice President» James Dunlop;Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, Volume 118, pages 113-151, published 1 January 1828; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1828.0010
  • [149] SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
  • [160] The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
  • [165] Flickr: Judy Schmidt; flickr.com/people/geckzilla (2021-01-02)
  • [277] «Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
  • [364] Steve Gottlieb's NGC Notes; astronomy-mall.com/Adventures.In.Deep.Space/steve.ngc.htm
  • [664] «The Historical Record of η Carinae I. The Visual Light Curve, 1595-2000» Frew, David J.; The Journal of Astronomical Data, Vol. 10, 2004; Bibcode:2004JAD....10....6F
  • [665] «Eta Carinae. I. The Nebulosity.» Gaviola, E.; Astrophysical Journal, vol. 111, p.408; March 1950; DOI:10.1086/145274; Bibcode:1950ApJ...111..408G
  • [667] Preview of a forthcoming supernova; esahubble.org/images/potw1208a (2024-05-26)