Pinwheel Cluster Messier 36 + Holoea (IRAS 05327+3404)

Messier 36
Messier 36: Section of the STScI Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Messier 36

M 36 is the first of the three bright Messier star clusters in the constellation Auriga. The other two are M 37 and M 38. It was discovered in 1654 by Giovanni Hodierna and then again in 1749 by Guillaume Le Gentil. [4] Charles Messier noted on 2 September 1764: «Cluster of stars in Auriga, near the star φ: with an ordinary telescope of 3 and a half feet, it is difficult to distinguish the stars, the cluster shows no nebulosity. Its position is determined by φ.» [281]

The star cluster is of the Trumpler type II3m and contains about 60 stars from 9th to 14th magnitude. The center with the brightest stars measures about 10 arc minutes in diameter and contains the binary star Struve 737 (Σ 737, ADS 4194, distance 10.7"). M 36 is one of the younger star clusters with bright B-type stars and no red giants. Measured distances range from 1200 up to 1318 pc. [4, 145]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Designation NGC 1960
Type OCL (II3m)
Right Ascension (J2000.0) 05h 36m 17.7s
Declination (J2000.0) +34° 08' 27"
Diameter 10 arcmin
Visual magnitude 6.0 mag
Metric Distance 1.318 kpc
Dreyer Description Cl, B, vL, vRi, lC, st 9…11 sc
Identification, Remarks M 36, OCL 445
Holoea (IRAS 05327+3404)
Holoea (IRAS 05327+3404): Same sections from different photographic surveys: DSS2 (red+blue), Panstarrs DR1 (z+g), GLIMPSE360 (Spitzer Infrared), 2MASS (J+H+K) [147]

Holoea (IRAS 05327+3404)

This object was first detected using IRAS (Infrared Astronomical Satellite). Launched on 25 January 1983 for a ten month mission, IRAS was the first space observatory to perform an all-sky survey at infrared wavelengths. Based on the IRAS data Wouterloot and Brand used in May/June 1988 the 30m IRAM radio telecope at Pico Veleta in Spain for a CO emission survey, searching for star forming regions along the of the galactic plane. The object is there referred as WB89 663. [646]

In 1995 Magnier et al. used the Michigan-Dartmouth-MIT (MDM) Observatory at Kitt Peak and have discovered an object in the field of M 36 which exhibits a nebulous tail-like structure and a high velocity outflow. The position showed to to be coincident with the infrared source IRAS 05327+3404. Further studies conducted that this is a young stellar object (YSO), surrounded by large amounts of circumstellar material. The central star is directly visible and of spectral type K2. It is a T Tauri star in transition from a protostar (class I) to a pre-main-sequence star (class II). The star is probably not associated with the open cluster M 36 and may be a far-flung member of the star forming region Sh 2-235 circa 2° to the north east of it. The outflow was nicknamed «Holoea» («holo ea» meaning «flowing gas» in Hawaiian) because of the unusually powerful ionized outflow. [647, 648]

The apparent magnitudes through different filters are: V 18.62; J 13.4; H 11.975; K 10.487. [145]

Further infos at CDS: IRAS 05327+3404

Thanks to Casper le Fantôme for the object hint.

Finder Chart

The open star cluster is located within the pentagon in the constellation Auriga (Charioteer) and is visible to the naked eye on a dark night. The best observation time is September to April.

Finder Chart Pinwheel Cluster Messier 36 + Holoea (IRAS 05327+3404)
Pinwheel Cluster Messier 36 + Holoea (IRAS 05327+3404) in constellation Auriga. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

400 mm Aperture: In the 21 mm Ethos eyepiece M 36 appears as a loose open cluster, consisting of white stars only. It is conspicuous but not very impressive. After some orientation the exact position of Holoea in the little circlet of small stars could be determined, however remained hidden even with averted vision and some patience, even when switching to higher magnification. Holoea is too dim. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Hasliberg, SQM 21.0, 3. 2. 2023, Bernd Nies

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

  • [4] «Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0; archive.org/details/burnhams-celestial-handbook-3
  • [145] SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
  • [147] Aladin Lite; aladin.unistra.fr/AladinLite
  • [149] SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
  • [160] The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
  • [277] «Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
  • [281] «Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)
  • [646] «IRAS sources beyond the solar circle. I. CO observations.» Wouterloot, J. G. A.; Brand, J.; Astronomy and Astrophysics, Suppl. Ser., Vol. 80, p. 149-187 (1989); Bibcode:1993A&AS...98..589W
  • [647] «A bipolar-outflow object in the field of M 36» Magnier, E. A.; Waters, L. B. F. M.; Kuan, Y.-J.; Chu, Y.-H.; Taylor, A. R. ; Matthews, H. E. ; Martin, E. L.; Astronomy and Astrophysics, v.305, p.936, January 1996; Bibcode:1996A&A...305..936M
  • [648] «The circumstellar environment of IRAS 05327+3404» Magnier, E. A.; Waters, L. B. F. M.; Groot, P. J.; van den Ancker, M. E.; Kuan, Y. -J. ; Martín, E. L.; Astronomy and Astrophysics, v.346, p.441-452 (1999); Bibcode:1999A&A...346..441M

Pinwheel-Haufen Messier 36 + Holoea (IRAS 05327+3404)

Messier 36
Messier 36: Ausschnitt aus dem STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Hier könnte Dein Foto stehen. [147]

Messier 36

M 36 ist der erste der drei hellen Messier-Sternhaufen im Sternbild Auriga (Fuhrmann). Die anderen beiden sind M 37 und M 38. Er wurde 1654 von Giovanni Hodierna und danach nochmals 1749 von Guillaume Le Gentil. [4] Charles Messier notierte am 2. September 1764: «Sternhaufen im Fuhrmann, in der Nähe des Sterns φ: Mit einem gewöhnlichen Teleskop von 3 Fuß und einer halben Länge ist es schwer, die Sterne zu unterscheiden; der Haufen zeigt keine Nebelbildung. Seine Position wurde durch φ bestimmt.» [281]

Der Sternhaufen ist vom Trumpler-Typ II3m und enthält etwa 60 Sterne von 9. bis 14. Größenklasse. Das Zentrum mit den hellsten Sternen misst etwa 10 Bogenminuten im Durchmesser und enthält den Doppelstern Struve 737 (Σ 737, ADS 4194, Abstand 10.7"). M 36 ist einer der jüngeren Sternhaufen mit hellen B-Typ Sternen und keinen roten Riesen. Gemessene Entfernungen reichen von 1200 pc bis 1318 pc. [4, 145]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Bezeichnung NGC 1960
Typ OCL (II3m)
Rektaszension (J2000.0) 05h 36m 17.7s
Deklination (J2000.0) +34° 08' 27"
Durchmesser 10 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit 6.0 mag
Metrische Entfernung 1.318 kpc
Identifikation, Anmerkungen h 358; GC 1166; M 36; OCL 445
Holoea (IRAS 05327+3404)
Holoea (IRAS 05327+3404): Gleiche Ausschnitte in verschiedenen fotografischen Durchmusterungen: DSS2 (rot+blau), Panstarrs DR1 (z+g), GLIMPSE360 (Spitzer Infrarot), 2MASS (J+H+K) [147]

Holoea (IRAS 05327+3404)

Dieses Objekt wurde erstmals mithilfe des Infrarotastronomiesatelliten (IRAS) entdeckt. IRAS wurde am 25. Januar 1983 für eine zehnmonatige Mission gestartet und war das erste Weltraumobservatorium, das eine Himmelsdurchmusterung im Infrarotbereich für den gesamten Himmel durchführte. Basierend auf den IRAS-Daten, die Wouterloot und Brand im Mai/Juni 1988 verwendet haben, wurde das 30 m-IRAM-Radioteleskop auf dem Pico Veleta in Spanien für eine Kohlenstoffmonoxid-Emissionsdurchmusterung eingesetzt, um nach sich bildenden Sternen entlang der galaktischen Ebene zu suchen. Das Objekt wird dort als WB89 663 bezeichnet. [646]

Im Jahr 1995 entdeckten Magnier et al. mit dem Michigan-Dartmouth-MIT (MDM) Observatorium auf Kitt Peak ein Objekt im Bereich von M 36, das eine nebelartige, schweifähnliche Struktur und einen schnellen Gasausfluss aufwies. Die Position stimmte mit der Infrarotquelle IRAS 05327+3404 überein. Weiterführende Studien ergaben, dass es sich um ein junges stellares Objekt (YSO) handelt, das von großen Mengen zirkumstellarem Material umgeben ist. Der zentrale Stern ist direkt sichtbar und gehört dem spektralen Typ K2 an. Es handelt sich um einen T-Tauri Stern, der sich im Übergang von einem Protostern (Klasse I) zu einem vormainsequence-Stern (Klasse II) befindet. Der Stern ist wahrscheinlich nicht mit dem offenen Sternhaufen M 36 assoziiert und könnte ein weit entferntes Mitglied der Sternentstehungsregion Sh 2-235 etwa 2° nordöstlich davon sein. Der Gasausfluss erhielt aufgrund seiner ungewöhnlich starken ionisierten Strömung den Spitznamen «Holoea» («holo ea» bedeutet auf Hawaiianisch «fließendes Gas»). [647, 648]

Die scheinbare Helligkeit in verschiedenen Filtern beträgt: V 18.62; J 13.4; H 11.975; K 10.487. [145]

Weitere Infos bei CDS: IRAS 05327+3404

Danke Casper le Fantôme für den Hinweis zu diesem Objekt.

Auffindkarte

Der offene Sternhaufen befindet sich innerhalb des Pentagons im Sternbild Auriga (Fuhrmann) und ist in einer dunklen Nacht von bloßem Auge sichtbar. Beste Beobachtungszeit ist September bis April.

Auffindkarte Pinwheel-Haufen Messier 36 + Holoea (IRAS 05327+3404)
Pinwheel-Haufen Messier 36 + Holoea (IRAS 05327+3404) im Sternbild Auriga. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. Grenzgrößen: Sternbildkarte ~6.5 mag, DSS2-Ausschnitte ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

400 mm Öffnung: Im 21-mm Ethos Okular erscheint M 36 als lockerer offener Sternhaufen, der nur aus weißen Sternen besteht. Er ist auffällig, aber nicht sehr beeindruckend. Nach einiger Orientierung konnte die genaue Position von Holoea in dem kleinen Kreis aus Sternen bestimmt werden, blieb jedoch auch mit indirektem Blick und etwas Geduld verborgen, selbst mit höherer Vergrößerung. Holoea ist zu dunkel. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Hasliberg, SQM 21.0, 3. 2. 2024, Bernd Nies

Objekte innerhalb eines Radius von 15°

Quellenangaben

  • [4] «Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0; archive.org/details/burnhams-celestial-handbook-3
  • [145] SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
  • [147] Aladin Lite; aladin.unistra.fr/AladinLite
  • [149] SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
  • [160] The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
  • [277] «Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
  • [281] «Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)
  • [646] «IRAS sources beyond the solar circle. I. CO observations.» Wouterloot, J. G. A.; Brand, J.; Astronomy and Astrophysics, Suppl. Ser., Vol. 80, p. 149-187 (1989); Bibcode:1993A&AS...98..589W
  • [647] «A bipolar-outflow object in the field of M 36» Magnier, E. A.; Waters, L. B. F. M.; Kuan, Y.-J.; Chu, Y.-H.; Taylor, A. R. ; Matthews, H. E. ; Martin, E. L.; Astronomy and Astrophysics, v.305, p.936, January 1996; Bibcode:1996A&A...305..936M
  • [648] «The circumstellar environment of IRAS 05327+3404» Magnier, E. A.; Waters, L. B. F. M.; Groot, P. J.; van den Ancker, M. E.; Kuan, Y. -J. ; Martín, E. L.; Astronomy and Astrophysics, v.346, p.441-452 (1999); Bibcode:1999A&A...346..441M