Cluster with Nebula NGC 1931

Object Description

NGC 1931
NGC 1931: Section of the Digitized Sky Survey. © STScI [147]

NGC 1931 was discovered by Wilhelm Herschel on 4 February 1793. It is a young star cluster, surrounded by a nebula of gas and dust and has partly amorphous, but partly also a filament-like structure. The dust nebula surrounds a small cluster of faint stars. It resembles a miniature version of the Orion Nebula and is located in a spiral arm of the Milky Way, which is probably an extension of the Perseus arm. Distances vary from 1.8 pkc to 2.16 kpc (5870 to 7050 light years). The nebula has an angular dimension of 4'x4 'and an integrated brightness of 11.3 mag. [196, 219]

NGC 1931
NGC 1931: Infrarot image of the surrounding area (allWISE color) [147]

As can be seen on the infrared image of the Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorer (WISE) in Fig. 2, NGC 1931 belongs to a larger, loosely connected complex of H-II clouds in the constellation Auriga, to which IC 405, IC 410 (with open star cluster NGC 1893), as well as from the Sharpless catalog Sh 2-231, Sh 2-232, Sh 2-233 and Sh 2-235 belong. However, these are so faint that they cannot be captured visually, but only photographically.

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
DesignationNGC 1931
TypeEN+OCL
Right Ascension05h 31m 25.7s
Declination+34° 14' 42"
Visual magnitude10.1 mag
Metric Distance3.086 kpc
Dreyer DescriptionvB, L, R, B *** in M
Identification, RemarksLBN 810, OCL 441

Finder Chart

Approximately between the two stars ι Aurigae (Hassaleh) and θ Aurigae is NGC 1931 in the immediate vicinity of the two beautiful open star clusters Messier 36 and Messier 38 and the smaller NGC 1907. About one degree to the west of NGC 1931 is the 5.1 mag bright Star φ Aurigae, which can still be recognized by the eye. This object can be easily observed from September to April.

Chart Cluster with Nebula NGC 1931
Cluster with Nebula NGC 1931 in constellation Auriga. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
219«Photometry of open cluster NGC 1931»; Pandey, A. K.; Mahra, H. S.; Astrophysics and Space Science, Volume 120, Issue 1, pp.107-113; Pub Date: March 1986;; DOI:10.1007/BF00653902; Bibcode:1986Ap&SS.120..107P
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Sternhaufen mit Nebel NGC 1931

Objektbeschreibung

NGC 1931
NGC 1931: Ausschnitt aus dem Digitized Sky Survey. © STScI [147]

NGC 1931 wurde am 4. Februar 1793 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt. Es handelt sich um einen jungen Sternhaufen, umgeben von einem Nebel aus Gas und Staub und besitzt teils amorphe, teils aber auch eine filamentartige Struktur. Der Staubnebel umgibt eine kleine Gruppe von schwachen Sternen. Er gleicht einer Miniaturausgabe des Orionnebels und befindet sich im einem Spiralarm der Milchstrasse, welcher vermutlich eine Verlängerung des Perseus-Arms ist. Distanzangaben variieren von 1.8 pkc bis 2.16 kpc (5870 bis 7050 Lichtjahre). Der Nebel hat eine Winkelausdehnung von 4'x4' und einer integrierten Helligkeit von 11.3 mag. [196, 219]

NGC 1931
NGC 1931: Infrarot-Aufnahme des umliegenden Gebietes (allWISE color) [147]

Wie auf der Infrarot-Aufnahme des Wide-field Infrared Survey Explorers (WISE) in Abb. 2 ersichtlich ist, gehört NGC 1931 zu einem grösseren, locker zusammenhängenden Komplex aus H-II Wolken im Sternbild Fuhrmann (Auriga), zu welchen IC 405, IC 410 (mit offenem Sternhaufen NGC 1893), sowie aus dem Sharpless-Katalog Sh 2-231, Sh 2-232, Sh 2-233 und Sh 2-235 gehören. Diese sind aber so lichtschwach, dass sie nicht visuell, sondern nur nur fotografisch zu erfassen sind.

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
BezeichnungNGC 1931
TypEN+OCL
Rektaszension05h 31m 25.7s
Deklination+34° 14' 42"
Visuelle Helligkeit10.1 mag
Metrische Entfernung3.086 kpc
Dreyer BeschreibungvB, L, R, B *** in M
Identifikation, AnmerkungenLBN 810, OCL 441

Auffindtipp für NGC 1931

Ungefähr zwischen den beiden Sternen ι Aurigae (Hassaleh) und θ Aurigae liegt NGC 1931 in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft der beiden schönen offenen Sternhaufen Messier 36 und Messier 38 und dem kleineren NGC 1907. Etwa ein Grad in westlicher Richtung von NGC 1931 befindet sich der 5.1 mag helle Stern φ Aurigae, welcher von Auge noch erkannt werden kann. In den Monaten September bis April kann dieses Objekt gut beobachtet werden.

Karte Sternhaufen mit Nebel NGC 1931
Sternhaufen mit Nebel NGC 1931 im Sternbild Auriga. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
219«Photometry of open cluster NGC 1931»; Pandey, A. K.; Mahra, H. S.; Astrophysics and Space Science, Volume 120, Issue 1, pp.107-113; Pub Date: March 1986;; DOI:10.1007/BF00653902; Bibcode:1986Ap&SS.120..107P
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)