Galaxy Group Hickson 44

Hickson 44
Hickson 44: Galaxy group in Leo; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 120+30+30+30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik

History

The galaxy group Hickson 44 has four members: NGC 3190 and NGC 3193 are the two brightest galaxies in the group and were discovered on March 12, 1784 by Wilhelm Herschel discovered with his 18.7 inch reflector telescope and cataloged as II 44 and II 45. He noted for both: «Two. both faint, extended, a little brighter much in the middle, resolvable» [463]

In January 1850, the Irish astronomer and physicist George Stoney, in Birr Castle, Ireland, pointed the huge 72-inch reflector «Leviathan» of his employer William Parsons, 3rd Earl of Rosse, at this region of the sky and discovered three other galaxies: NGC 3185, NGC 3187 and NGC 3189. The following description of the latter can be found in John L. E. Dreyer's NGC catalog: "very very faint, much extended, parallel to h 692" (h 692 = NGC 3190). Presumably he was irritated by the dust band of this galaxy. [313]

Physical Properties

With a Hubble constant of 75 km/s/Mpc, the group is about 60 million light years away. The other galaxies of this cluster can already be seen in one and the same field of view in medium to large amateur telescopes.

The galaxy NGC 3185 has a bar structure with an outer ring. So it looks a bit like a large Greek theta (Θ). In the group of the four galaxies, it is the second weakest member with a visual brightness of 12.2 mag and a surface brightness of 12.8 mag. In terms of dimensions, however, it is the smallest. Its axis of rotation is inclined by 56 degrees against the line of sight and it moves away from the center of the local group at a speed of about 1100 km/s. With a Hubble constant of 75 km/s/Mpc, NGC 3185 is about 48 million light years away. [134]

NGC 3187 is a distinctive barred spiral galaxy in shape and looks a bit like an integral sign. It has a visual brightness of 13.4 mag and a surface brightness of 14.9 mag. Thus it is the weakest member of this group of galaxies. The axis of rotation is inclined at 69 degrees. [134]

NGC 3190 is a spiral galaxy of the Hubble type Sa, i. e. the spiral arms are wound relatively tightly around the large central area. We don't see the galaxy from the very edge, around 8 degrees are missing. Astronomers on one of the planets in this distant star system would be looking at the 50-degree inclined disk of our Milky Way. In this group of galaxies it is the second brightest galaxy with a visual brightness of 11.2 mag, but has the largest angular extent with 4.1x1.6 arc minutes. The axis of rotation is inclined by 75 degrees. [134]

The galaxy NGC 3193 is an elliptical galaxy with an almost spherical shape. It has a visual, integrated brightness of 10.9 mag and a surface brightness of 12.7 mag. It appears to us with an angular extension of 2.5 arc minutes. The angle between its axis of rotation and our line of sight is about 32 degrees and it is about the same distance from us as NGC 3190. [134]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 3185, HICK 44C10 17 38.6+21 41 19SBRM2.1 x 1.412.91231130
NGC 3187, HICK 44D10 17 47.5+21 52 24SB M2.9 x 1.213.61579
NGC 3190, NGC 3189, HICK 44A10 18 05.6+21 49 59S M4.0 x 1.512.01334125
NGC 3193, HICK 44B10 18 25.0+21 53 42E M2.9 x 2.811.81379

Finder Chart

The galaxy group lies in the head of Leo, between the well-known double star Gamma Leonis (Algieba) and the 3.4 mag star Zeta Leonis (Aldhafera). So it's extremely easy to find!

Chart Hickson 44
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

Hickson 44
Hickson 44: Pencil drawing; 200mm SCT, 135x; © 1996 Philipp Reza Heck

200 mm Aperture: The galaxy group looks most beautiful in an eyepiece with medium magnification and a relatively large field of view. The brightest star in the field of view is SAO 81276 with 7.8 mag, the second brightest SAO 81279 with about 9 mag.

Of the three visible of the four galaxies, NGC 3185 is the faintest. It could almost only be seen indirectly and therefore showed no structures. Even in the 10 inch telescope, the view of this galaxy is about the same. It is not entered in the drawing.

A few arc minutes south of the 7.8 mag star you come across the elongated galaxy NGC 3190. At first glance, it looks almost like an edge-on galaxy. You think you can see the dust band as a thin line. But it is not as clear as that of the galaxy NGC 891 in Andromeda for example. The brightness distribution appears relatively even, except that the center makes a stellar impression. NGC 3190 is the most pronounced, if only the second brightest of the visible trio.

NGC 3193 is only 50 arc seconds south of the 9 mag star. It is the brightest galaxy in this cluster, but it does not show much structure and appears more like a round blob. The star-shaped core is also striking here. As it should be for an elliptical galaxy, the brightness is mainly concentrated in the inner area and then continuously decreases towards the outside.

Bruno Bleiker, Philipp Reza Heck

References

134Lyon-Meudon Extragalactic Database (LEDA); leda.univ-lyon1.fr
144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
313«A New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars, being the Catalogue of the late Sir John F.W. Herschel, Bart., revised, corrected, and enlarged» Dreyer, J. L. E. (1888); Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society. 49: 1–237; Bibcode:1888MmRAS..49....1D
463«Catalogue of one thousand new nebulae and clusters of stars» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1786; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1786.0027

Galaxiengruppe Hickson 44

Hickson 44
Hickson 44: Galaxiengruppe in Leo; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 120+30+30+30 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Die Galaxiengruppe Hickson 44 zählt vier Mitglieder: NGC 3190 und NGC 3193 sind die beiden hellsten Galaxien der Gruppe und wurden bereits am 12. März 1784 von Wilhelm Herschel mit seinem 18.7 Zoll Spiegelteleskop entdeckt und als II 44 und II 45 katalogisiert. Er notierte zu beiden: «Zwei. beide schwach, ausgedehnt, etwas heller in der Mitte, auflösbar» [463]

Im Januar 1850 richtete der irische Astronom und Physiker George Stoney im irischen Birr Castle das riesige 72 Zoll Spiegelteleskop «Leviathan» seines Arbeitgebers William Parsons, dem 3. Earl von Rosse, auf diese Region des Himmels und entdeckte drei weitere Galaxien: NGC 3185, NGC 3187 und NGC 3189. Zu letzteren findet man in John L. E. Dreyers NGC-Katalog folgende Beschreibung: «sehr sehr schwach, stark gestreckt, parallel zu h 692» (h 692 = NGC 3190). Vermutlich ließ er sich vom Staubband dieser Galaxie irritieren. [313]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Bei einer Hubble-Konstanten von 75 km/s/Mpc befindet sich die Gruppe in ungefähr 60 Millionen Lichtjahren Entfernung. Bereits in mittleren bis größeren Amateurteleskopen können die anderen Galaxien dieses Haufens in ein und demselben Gesichtsfeld gesehen werden.

Die Galaxie NGC 3185 hat eine Balkenstruktur mit einem äußeren Ring. Sie gleicht somit dem Aussehen nach ein wenig einem großen griechischen Theta (Θ). In der Gruppe der vier Galaxien ist sie mit einer visuellen Helligkeit von 12.2 mag und einer Oberflächenhelligkeit von 12.8 mag das zweitschwächste Mitglied. Den Abmessungen nach ist sie jedoch die kleinste. Ihre Rotationsachse ist um 56 Grad gegen die Blickrichtung geneigt und sie entfernt sich mit einer Geschwindigkeit von etwa 1100 km/s vom Zentrum der Lokalen Gruppe. Bei einer Hubble-Konstanten von 75 km/s/Mpc ist NGC 3185 etwa 48 Mio. Lichtjahre entfernt. [134]

NGC 3187 ist von der Form her eine markante Balkenspiralgalaxie und gleicht dem Aussehen ein wenig einem Integralzeichen. Sie besitzt eine visuelle Helligkeit von 13.4 mag und eine Oberflächenhelligkeit von 14.9 mag. Somit ist sie das lichtschwächste Mitglied dieser Galaxiengruppe. Die Rotationsachse ist um 69 Grad geneigt. [134]

NGC 3190 ist eine Spiralgalaxie vom Hubble-Typ Sa, d.h. die Spiralarme sind relativ eng um den großen Zentralbereich gewunden. Wir sehen die Galaxie nicht ganz von der Kante, rund 8 Grad fehlen dazu. Astronomen auf einem der Planeten in diesem entfernten Sternsystem würden auf die 50 Grad geneigte Scheibe unserer Milchstraße blicken. In dieser Galaxiengruppe ist sie mit einer visuellen Helligkeit von 11.2 mag die zweithellste Galaxie, besitzt aber mit 4.1' x 1.6' die größte Winkelausdehnung. Die Rotationsachse ist um 75 Grad geneigt. [134]

Bei der Galaxie NGC 3193 handelt es sich um eine elliptische Galaxie von nahezu kugelförmiger Gestalt. Sie besitzt eine visuelle, integrierte Helligkeit von 10.9 mag und eine Oberflächenhelligkeit von 12.7 mag. Sie erscheint uns mit einer Winkelausdehnung von 2.5 Bogenminuten. Der Winkel von ihrer Rotationsachse und unserer Blickrichtung beträgt etwa 32 Grad und sie ist etwa gleich weit von uns entfernt wie NGC 3190. [134]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 3185, HICK 44C10 17 38.6+21 41 19SBRM2.1 x 1.412.91231130
NGC 3187, HICK 44D10 17 47.5+21 52 24SB M2.9 x 1.213.61579
NGC 3190, NGC 3189, HICK 44A10 18 05.6+21 49 59S M4.0 x 1.512.01334125
NGC 3193, HICK 44B10 18 25.0+21 53 42E M2.9 x 2.811.81379

Wie findet man Hicksons Nummer 44?

Die Galaxiengruppe liegt im Kopf des Löwen, zwischen dem bekannten Doppelstern Gamma Leonis (Algieba) und dem 3.4 mag Stern Zeta Leonis (Aldhafera). Sie ist also ausserordentlich leicht zu finden!

Karte Hickson 44
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

Hickson 44
Hickson 44: Zeichnung; 200mm SCT, 135x; © 1996 Philipp Reza Heck

200 mm Öffnung: Am schönsten wirkt das Galaxienfeld in einem Okular mit mittlerer Vergrösserung und einem relativ grossen Gesichtfeld. Der hellste Stern im Gesichtsfeld ist SAO 81276 mit 7.8 mag, der zweithellste SAO 81279 mit etwa 9 mag.

Von den drei sichtbaren der vier Galaxien ist NGC 3185 die schwächste. Sie konnte beinahe nur indirekt gesehen werden und zeigte deshalb auch keine Strukturen. Selbst im 10" Teleskop ist der Anblick dieser Galaxie noch etwa gleich. Auf der Zeichnung ist sie nicht eingetragen.

Ein paar Bogenminuten südlich vom 7.8 mag Stern stösst man auf die längliche Galaxie NGC 3190. Auf den ersten Blick sieht sie fast so aus wie eine Edge-On-Galaxie. Das Staubband glaubt man als dünne Linie zu erkennen. Es ist aber nicht so deutlich wie z. B. das der Galaxie NGC 891 in Andromeda. Die Helligkeitsverteilung erscheint relativ gleichmässig, ausser dass das Zentrum einen stellaren Eindruck macht. NGC 3190 ist die ausgeprägteste, wenn auch nur zweithellste des sichtbaren Trios.

NGC 3193 ist nur 50 Bogensekunden in südliche Richtung vom 9 mag Stern entfernt. Sie ist die hellste Galaxie dieses Haufens, zeigt aber nicht viel Struktur und erscheint eher wie ein runder Klecks. Auffallend ist auch hier der sternförmige Kern. Wie es sich für eine elliptische Galaxie gehört, ist die Helligkeit vor allem im inneren Bereich konzentriert und fällt dann gegen aussen kontinuierlich ab.

Bruno Bleiker, Philipp Reza Heck

Quellenangaben

134Lyon-Meudon Extragalactic Database (LEDA); leda.univ-lyon1.fr
144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
313«A New General Catalogue of Nebulae and Clusters of Stars, being the Catalogue of the late Sir John F.W. Herschel, Bart., revised, corrected, and enlarged» Dreyer, J. L. E. (1888); Memoirs of the Royal Astronomical Society. 49: 1–237; Bibcode:1888MmRAS..49....1D
463«Catalogue of one thousand new nebulae and clusters of stars» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1786; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1786.0027