Galaxies Messier 105, NGC 3384 & NGC 3389

M 105
M 105: Galaxy M 105 in Leo; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 70+30+30+30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2011 Radek Chromik [32]

History

Pierre Méchain discovered the galaxy M 105 on 24 March 1781, just four or five days later thanM 95 and M 96, which are only about 1° away. For unknown reasons, this discovery did not make it into the original Messier catalog, which appeared in the 1784 «Connoissance des Temps». Independently of this, William Herschel came across this galaxy on 11 March 1784, which Dreyer later included in the «New General Catalogue» as NGC 3379. Since Méchain's discovery was in the same period as the discovery of the last objects in the Messier catalog, it was added in 1947 by Helen Sawyer Hogg as M 105 together with M 106 and M 107. [217]

Physical Properties

M 105 is an elliptical galaxy and a member of the approximately 40 million light-years distant Leo I group of galaxies, which contains M 95, M 96 and other weaker galaxies. Like most elliptical galaxies, M 105 appears to be fairly structureless and inactive, but observations with the Hubble Space Telescope have shown that new stars are still emerging in the galaxy believed to be dead. Measurements of the star movements in the center revealed a supermassive black hole of about 200 million solar masses. Measurements of the redshift over the past 20 years show a heliocentric velocity of 874 km/s to 911 km/s and a distance of 8 Mpc to 17 Mpc (26 to 55 million light years). [145, 215]

The galaxy NGC 3384 was discovered by Wilhelm Herschel on 11 March 1784. At NED one finds a morphological type according to de Vaucouleurs of SB0^-(s), which is a lenticular galaxy in transition to a bar spiral. According to Zimbab, measured heliocentric speeds are in the range from 563 km/s to 735 km/s and distances from 8 Mpc to 11 Mpc (26 to 35 million light years). The galaxy is therefore closer than M 105. [145, 194, 196]

At a distance of 19 Mpc to 21 Mpc (62 to 69 million light years), the spiral galaxy NGC 3389 is slightly further away than the other two. It is of the morphological type SA(s)c and was also discovered by Wilhelm Herschel on 11 March 1784. [145, 194, 196]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC Version 22/9, © 2022 Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
Name RA Dec Type bMag vMag B-V SB Dim PA z D(z) MD Dreyer Description Identification, Remarks
NGC 3379 10 47 49.5 +12 34 52 Gx (E1) 10.2 9.3 0.9 12.8 5.3 × 4.8 71 0.003039 12.84 10.390 vB, cL, R, psbM, r M 105, UGC 5902, MCG 2-28-11, CGCG 66-18
NGC 3384 10 48 16.7 +12 37 43 Gx (E/SB0) 10.9 9.9 1.0 12.7 5.4 × 2.7 53 0.002348 9.92 11.590 vB, L, R, psmbM, 2nd of 3 NGC 3371, UGC 5911, MCG 2-28-12, CGCG 66-21, PRC C-34
NGC 3389 10 48 28.0 +12 31 59 Gx (Sc) 12.4 11.9 0.5 13.2 2.9 × 1.3 112 0.004364 18.43 21.290 F, L, E pf, vglbM, 3rd of 3 NGC 3373, UGC 5914, MCG 2-28-13, CGCG 66-22

Finder Chart

The three galaxies are located in the constellation Leo, roughly in the middle between the stars Chertan (θ Leonis) and Regulus (α Leonis), only about 1° northeast of M 95/96. The best observation time is in the months of January to May.

Finder Chart Galaxies Messier 105, NGC 3384 & NGC 3389
Galaxies Messier 105, NGC 3384 & NGC 3389 in constellation Leo. Charts created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. Limiting magnitudes: Constellation chart ~6.5 mag, DSS2 close-ups ~20 mag. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

400 mm Aperture: Even at higher magnification (9 mm Nagler, 200x), all three galaxies appear only as featureless ovals, of which M 105 and NGC 3384 show a bright core. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Hasliberg, SQM 21.2, 3. 2. 2023, Bernd Nies

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

Galaxien Messier 105, NGC 3384 & NGC 3389

M 105
M 105: Galaxie M 105 in Leo; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 70+30+30+30 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2011 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Pierre Méchain entdeckte die Galaxie M 105 am 24. März 1781, nur vier oder fünf Tage später als M 95 und M 96, die sich nur etwa 1° davon entfernt befinden. Aus unbekannten Gründen schaffte es diese Entdeckung nicht in den originalen Messier-Katalog, der in der «Connoissance des Temps» von 1784 erschien. Wilhelm Herschel stiess am 11. März 1784 unabhängig davon auf diese Galaxie, welche später von Dreyer als NGC 3379 in den «New General Catalogue» aufgenommen wurde. Da Méchains Entdeckung in den gleichen Zeitraum wie die Entdeckung der letzten Objekte des Messier-Katalogs lag, wurde sie 1947 von Helen Sawyer Hogg als M 105 zusammen mit M 106 und M 107 hinzugefügt. [217]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

M 105 ist eine elliptische Galaxie und Mitglied der rund 40 Millionen Lichtjahre entfernten Leo I Galaxiengruppe, welche M 95, M 96 und weitere schwächere Galaxien enthält. Wie die meisten elliptischen Galaxien erscheint M 105 ziemlich strukturlos und inaktiv, doch zeigten Beobachtungen mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop, dass in der totgeglaubten Galaxie entstehen immer noch neue Sterne entstehen. Messungen der Sternbewegungen im Zentrum enthüllten ein supermassives Schwarzes Loch von etwa 200 Millionen Sonnenmassen. Messungen der Rotverschiebung der letzten 20 Jahre ergeben eine heliozentrische Geschwindigkeit von 874 km/s bis 911 km/s und eine Entfernung von 8 Mpc bis 17 Mpc (26 bis 55 Millionen Lichtjahre). [145, 215]

Die Galaxie NGC 3384 wurde am 11. März 1784 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt. Bei NED findet man einen morphologischen Typ nach de Vaucouleurs von SB0^-(s), was eine linsenförmige Galaxie im Übergang zu einer Balkenspirale ist. Gemäss Simbab liegen gemessene heliozentrische Geschwindigkeiten im Bereich von 563 km/s bis 735 km/s und Distanzen von 8 Mpc bis 11 Mpc (26 bis 35 Millionen Lichtjahre). Die Galaxie liegt somit näher als M 105. [145, 194, 196]

Mit einer Entfernung von 19 Mpc bis 21 Mpc (62 bis 69 Millionen Lichtjahre) befindet sich die Spiralgalaxie NGC 3389 etwas weiter entfernt als die anderen beiden. Sie ist vom morphologischen Typ SA(s)c und wurde ebenfalls am 11. März 1784 von Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt. [145, 194, 196]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypbMagvMagDimDreyer BeschreibungIdentifikation, Anmerkungen
NGC 337910 47 49.5+12 34 52Gx (E1)10.29.35.3 × 4.8vB, cL, R, psbM, rM 105, UGC 5902, MCG 2-28-11, CGCG 66-18
NGC 338410 48 16.7+12 37 43Gx (E/SB0)10.99.95.4 × 2.7vB, L, R, psmbM, 2nd of 3NGC 3371, UGC 5911, MCG 2-28-12, CGCG 66-21, PRC C-34
NGC 338910 48 28.0+12 31 59Gx (Sc)12.411.92.9 × 1.3F, L, E pf, vglbM, 3rd of 3NGC 3373, UGC 5914, MCG 2-28-13, CGCG 66-22

Auffindkarte

Die drei Galaxien befinden sich im Sternbild Leo (Löwe) etwa in der Mitte zwischen den Sternen Chertan (θ Leonis) und Regulus (α Leonis), nur etwa 1° nordöstlich von M 95/96. In den Monaten Januar bis Mai liegt die beste Beobachtungszeit.

Karte Galaxien Messier 105, NGC 3384 & NGC 3389
Galaxien Messier 105, NGC 3384 & NGC 3389 im Sternbild Leo. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
194NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED); ned.ipac.caltech.edu (2020-12-27)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
217The Messier Catalog (SEDS); messier.seds.org (2021-01-01)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)