Constellation Canis Minor (Lesser Dog)

Canis Minor
Canis Minor: IAU Constellation Map [150]

Properties

Canis Minor doesn't look like much as a constellation. It is relatively small at 183 square degrees and is located east of Orion, about the same height as its left shoulder star Betelgeuse. With the naked eye, however, only the two brightest stars Procyon and Gomeisa are striking in Canis Minor. The star Procyon forms together with Castor (α Geminorum), Pollux (β Geminorum), Capella (α Aurigae), Aldebaran (α Tauri), Rigel (β Orionis) and Sirius (α Canis Majoris) the winter hexagon. The center of the constellation culminates at midnight on around August 5th.[9, 15]

Stars with Proper Names [154]
α CMi Procyon, Elgomaisa, Algomeysa, Antecanis
β CMi Gomeisa, Algomeyla, Gomelza
Data for constellation Canis Minor [150]
IAU NameCanis Minor
IAU GenitiveCanis Minoris
IAU Abbr.CMi
English NameLesser Dog
Opposition12 January
Season (47° N)October … April
Right Ascension07h 06m 39s … 08h 11m 41s
Declination+00° 22' 10" … +13° 13' 26"
Area183 deg2
Neighbours (N↻)Gem, Mon, Hya, Cnc

Deep-Sky Object Descriptions

Catalogues

Mythology and History

The Greeks in ancient Greece thought Canis Minor was the smaller of the two dogs that followed the hunter Orion. According to another legend, the two dogs should belong to Diana, the goddess of the hunt or the woman of legendary beauty, Helen of Troy. [78]

Constellation Canis Minor
Constellation Canis Minor: Illustration from «Uranometria» by Johann Bayer, copper engraving by Alexander Mair, 1603 [28]

Another story tells of the Erigone's dog. She was the daughter of a simple Athenian farmer named Ikarios. Dionysus, the Greek god of fertility, wine and intoxication, had taught Ikarios how to press wine. Ikarios offered a sample of his art to a group of shepherds who, uncontrollably, drank the wine undiluted in large quantities until they thought they were enchanted because they saw some things twice. In their intoxication, they killed Ikarios because they thought he had poisoned them. After they had slept off their intoxication, they buried him under a fir tree and carefully covered all traces so that their deed would not be known. Ikarios' daughter Erigone did not know where her father was until her dog Maria dragged her by a corner of her robe to the place where her father had been buried by the murderers. Erigone was desperate and hanged herself from the Christmas tree that stood by her father's grave. The Delphic Oracle solved the crime and the guilty shepherds were punished. The dog Maria (Canis Minor) was transferred to heaven, Ikarios was turned into a boat (ox driver) who drives his winery (big wagon) and Erigone dies as a virgin.

The Greek name for this constellation was transcribed by the Romans to Procyon. This name means that the constellation - at least in northern latitudes - rises earlier in the east than the Big Dog. Cicero called it Antecanis, the constellation was also called Antecedens Canis, Antecursor, Praecanis, Procanis, Catellus (puppy), Icarium Astrum, Erigonius and Canis virgineus. After the Christianization of heaven, the little dog started wool and always bleated as an Easter lamb on Easter. [20]

References

  • [9] «Drehbare Sternkarte SIRIUS» von H. Suter-Haug; Hallwag-Verlag, Bern
  • [15] «Hartung's Astronomical Objects for Southern Telescopes» by David Malin and David J. Frew; Melbourne University Press 1995; ISBN 0-522-84553-3
  • [20] «Sternbilder und ihre Mythen» von Gerhard Fasching; Zweite, verbesserte Auflage; Springer Verlag Wien, New York; ISBN 3-211-82552-5 (Wien); ISBN 0-387-82552-5 (New York)
  • [28] «Uranometria omnium asterismorum continens schemata, nova methodo delineata aereis laminis expressa» Johann Bayer, Augsburg, 1603; DOI:10.3931/e-rara-309
  • [78] The Starry Sky: Canis Minor by Deborah Byrd; Astronomy 2/95, p.63
  • [150] IAU: The Constellations, 11. Oktober 2020; iau.org/public/themes/constellations
  • [154] Yale Bright Star Catalog, 15. Oktober 2020; tdc-www.harvard.edu/catalogs/bsc5.html

IAU Sternbildkarte
IAU NameCanis Minor
IAU GenitivCanis Minoris
IAU KürzelCMi
Deutscher NameKleiner Hund
Englischer NameLesser Dog
Saison (47°N)Nov … Apr
Rektaszension7h 06m 40s
8h 11m 42s
Deklination+0° 22' 10"
+13° 13' 26"
Fläche183°2
Nachbarn (N↻)Gem, Mon, Hya, Cnc

Sternbild Canis Minor

Canis Minor gibt als Sternbild nicht viel her. Es ist mit 183 Quadratgrad relativ klein und befindet sich östlich von Orion, etwa auf gleicher Höhe wie dessen linker Schulterstern Betelgeuse. Mit blossem Auge sind in Canis Minor jedoch nur die beiden hellsten Sterne Procyon und Gomeisa markant. Der Stern Procyon bildet zusammen mit Castor (α Geminorum), Pollux (β Geminorum), Capella (α Aurigae), Aldebaran (α Tauri), Rigel (β Orionis) und Sirius (α Canis Majoris) das Wintersechseck. Das Zentrum des Sternbilds kulminiert um Mitternacht jeweils etwa am 5. August. [9,15]

Sterne mit Eigennamen:

  • α Canis Minoris: Procyon, Elgomaisa, Algomeysa, Antecanis
  • β Canis Minoris: Gomeisa, Algomeyla, Gomelza

Mythologie und Geschichte

Die Griechen im antiken Griechenland hielten Canis Minor für den kleineren der beiden Hunde, welche dem Jäger Orion folgten. Einer anderen Legende nach sollten die beiden Hunde zu Diana, der Göttin der Jagd oder der Frau mit der legendären Schönheit, Helen von Troy, gehören. [78]

Eine andere Erzählung berichtet vom Hund der Erigone. Sie war die Tochter eines einfachen athenischen Bauern namens Ikarios. Dionysos, der griechische Gott der Fruchtbarkeit, des Weines und des Rausches, hatte Ikarios das Keltern des Weines gelehrt. Ikarios hat eine Probe seiner Kunst einer Gruppe von Schafhirten angeboten, die den Wein unbeherrscht in grosser Menge unverdünnt getrunken haben, bis sie sich verzaubert glaubten, weil sie manches doppelt sahen. In ihrem Rausch töteten sie Ikarios, weil sie meinten, er hätte sie vergiftet. Nachdem sie ihren Rausch ausgeschlafen hatten, begruben sie ihn unter einem Tannenbaum und verwischten alle Spuren sorgfältig, damit ihre Tat nicht bekannt würde. Ikarios' Tochter Erigone wusste nicht wo ihr Vater geblieben war, bis ihr Hund Maria sie an einem Zipfel ihres Gewandes zu jener Stelle zerrte, wo ihr Vater von den Mördern verscharrt worden war. Verzweifelt war Erigone und erhängte sich an dem Tannenbaum, der beim Grab ihres Vaters stand. Das Delphische Orakel klärte das Verbrechen auf und die schuldigen Hirten wurden bestraft. Der Hund Maria (Canis Minor) wurde an den Himmel versetzt, Ikarios wurde als Bootes (Ochsentreiber), der seinen Winzerwagen (Grosser Wagen) führt und Erigone als Jungfrau verstirnt.

Die griechische Bezeichnung für dieses Sternbild wurde von den Römern transkibiert zu Procyon. Dieser Name meint, dass das Sternbild - zumindest in nördlichen Breitengraden - früher im Osten aufgeht als der Grosse Hund. Cicero hat ihn Antecanis genannt, es wurde das Sternbild auch Antecedens Canis, Antecursor, Praecanis, Procanis, Catellus (Hündchen), Icarium Astrum, Erigonius und Canis virgineus bezeichnet. Nach der Christianisierung des Himmels setzte das Hündchen Wolle an und blökte immer an Ostern als Osterlamm. [20]

Kataloge


Yale Bright Star Catalogue, 5th Revised Ed. (Hoffleit+, 1991) [154] Koordinaten in J2000.0
HR B F RA [hms] Dec [dms] vMag Spektraltyp dMag Sep ["]
2820107 24 58.2+11 40 115.30 A5IV
2828ε207 25 38.9+09 16 344.99 G6.5IIb
2845β307 27 09.0+08 17 222.90 B8Ve 7.8138.7
2851η507 28 02.1+06 56 315.25 F0III 5.24.0
2854γ407 28 09.8+08 55 324.32 K3-IIIFe-0.5 5.9130.
2864607 29 47.8+12 00 244.54 K1+IIIBa0.4
2880δ1707 32 05.9+01 54 525.25 F0III
2887δ2807 33 11.6+03 17 255.59 F2V
2901δ3907 34 15.8+03 22 175.81 A0Vnn 5.290.0
2943α1007 39 18.1+05 13 300.38 F5IV-V 10.44.6
30081107 46 16.2+10 46 065.30 A1Vnn
3059ζ1307 51 42.0+01 46 015.14 B8II
31101407 58 20.6+02 13 295.29 K0III 3.088.6
NGC 2000.0, The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters by J.L.E. Dreyer [142]. Koordinaten in B2000.0
Name Typ RA [hm] Dec [dm] ⌀ ['] vMag Beschreibung
NGC 2350Gx07 13.2+12 1514.eF, eS, iR
IC 218907 25.0+08 55PN stell
NGC 2394-07 28.6+07 02Cl, L, P, vlC, st L
NGC 2399***07 29.9-00 131st of 2 F neb (vS clusters?)
NGC 2400***07 30.0-00 132nd of 2 F neb (vS clusters?)
NGC 2402Gx07 30.8+09 3915.eF, S, R, lbM, * inv
NGC 2412-07 34.4+08 33vF, *8 f 59s , 1'.5 s, *13 s 10"
NGC 2416Gx07 35.7+11 3714.eF, S
IC 47307 42.4+09 15neb *14, 2433 nf
NGC 2433Gx07 43.0+09 19eF, *15, 90" sp
NGC 245907 52.0+09 33only a couple of F st
NGC 2470Gx07 54.3+04 272.214.eF, S, lE, bet 2 st
NGC 2485Gx07 56.7+07 2913.neb *12
NGC 2491Gx07 58.4+07 5915.only a few st 14, v diffic, *10 p
NGC 2496Gx07 58.6+08 0215.vF, pS, R, lbM, *11 3s p
NGC 2499Gx07 58.8+07 3015.eF, pS, iR
IC 221607 59.5+05 36vF, eS, sbM
NGC 2504Gx07 59.8+05 3714.vF, S, R
NGC 2508Gx08 02.0+08 3414.F, vS, vlE, 2 st p
NGC 2510Gx08 02.2+09 2914.no description
NGC 2511Gx08 02.3+09 2415.eF, 2513 nf
IC 494Gx08 06.4+01 021.414.vF, pS, bM
IC 498Gx08 09.4+05 161.415.F, pS, R
IC 2231Gx08 11.0+05 052.015.F, vS, R, dif, *14 att
NGC 2538Gx08 11.4+03 3714.vF, vS, R, mbM

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.