Quasar 3C 273

Object Description

Quasar 3C 273
Quasar 3C 273: Detail of the jet with the Canada-France-Hawaii (left) and the Hubble Space Telescope (right) [106]

3C 273 is the brightest known example of a «quasi-stellar radio source» or in short: Quasar. It is a strong radio source that looks like a faint star in the telescope. The spectrum shows an enormous redshift of z = 0.158, which indicates that this object is moving away from us at around 47'400 km/s or 15.8% of the speed of light. With a Hubble constant of 75 km/s/Mpc, the quasar is about two billion light years away from us.

In 1963 3C 273 was covered by the moon. Since then it has been known that this is a dual radio source and that the two radio components can be identified with optically visible details. The star-like component is the main component, but about 90% of the radio energy comes from the foggy streak or «jet» southwest of the object. The jet starts about 11" from the bright center and continues about another 10" and is about 1" to 2" wide. If the distance from the quasar is correct, then this jet is about 300'000 light years long.

Quasar 3C 273
Quasar 3C 273: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope, 2003 [213]

The stellar component of 3C 273 has a radio core about 0.5" in diameter and is surrounded by a 3" halo. Assuming the distance is correct, the diameter of the radio core should be around 7'500 light years. The enormous energy output of such a relatively small object is difficult to explain. But a new problem arises: The stellar component shows fluctuations in brightness of around 0.5 magnitudes with half a period of around 13 years, but also sudden increases for a week or so. It is difficult to understand how an object of galactic dimensions can exhibit such rapid changes in brightness when it takes centuries for light to cross the object. This suggests that the true source must have a diameter of a few light months. [70, 90, 92, 95, 106, 111, 124]

Quasar: 3C 273, PGC 41121, GSC 282:202
R.A.  : 12h 29m 6.6s
Dec.  : +02° 03' 08"
v Mag.: 12.3m-12.8m
z     : 0.158

The term «3C» refers to the number in the Third Cambridge Catalog of Radio Sources, published in 1959 by the Royal Astronomical Society in London. The quasar is also listed under the designation PGC 41121 in the «Principal Galaxies Catalog».

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
DesignationsPGC 41121:
Right Ascension (J2000.0)12h 29m 06.8s
Declination (J2000.0)+02° 03' 07"
Morphological Type
Dimensions' x '
Visual Magnitude mag
Radial Velocity (HRV)47367 km/s
Position Angle°

How do you find the Quasar?

The map below shows the position of quasar 3C 273 in the constellation Virgo. Once you are in the correct section of the sky, the 1° and 15' excerpts from the STScI Digitized Sky Survey help with the precise identification of the quasar, as it does not differ visually from the surrounding stars.

Chart 3C 273
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

300 mm Aperture: This really extremely exotic deep-sky object is much easier to track down and view than it appears at first glance - the sight of a 12.3 to 12.8 bright little star is all the more frustrating, which is why no sketch was made. Nothing can be recognized from the said jet, which seems to be asking a lot. The quasar is very clearly visible with an aperture of 300 mm, probably even down to an aperture of 150 mm. — 1996, Bernd Nies

References

70Tracking Down A Quasar by Phil Harrington; Astronomy 6/94, p.56
90Hunt Down A Quasar; Astronomy 4/96, p.64
92Have Astronomers Solved The Quasar Enigma? by Ken Croswell; Astronomy 2/93, p.28
95Objekte der Saison: 3C 273 von Klaus Veit; Interstellarum2/96, S.50
106Resolving a Quasar's Jet; S&T 3/94, p.12
111A Catalog of Quasars Near and Far by Geoffrey Burbidge and Adelaide Hewitt; S&T 12/94, p.32
124Quasar 3C 273 im Achtzöller von Michael Grosse; SuW 4/88, S.246
144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
213Quasar 3C 273; esahubble.org/images/opo0303c (2020-12-31)

Quasar 3C 273

Objektbeschreibung

Quasar 3C 273
Quasar 3C 273: Detailaufnahme des Jets mit dem Canada-France-Hawaii (links) und dem Hubble Space Telescope (rechts) [106]

3C 273 ist das hellste bekannte Exemplar einer «quasi-stellaren Radioquelle» oder kurz: Quasar. Es handelt sich dabei um eine starke Radioquelle, die im Fernrohr dem Anblick eines schwachen Sterns ähnelt. Das Spektrum zeigt eine enorme Rotverschiebung von z = 0.158, was darauf hindeutet, dass sich dieses Objekt mit etwa 47'400 km/s oder 15.8 % der Lichtgeschwindigkeit von uns entfernt. Bei einer Hubble-Konstante von 75 km/s/Mpc ist der Quasar etwa zwei Milliarden Lichtjahre von uns entfernt.

Im Jahre 1963 wurde 3C 273 vom Mond bedeckt. Seitdem ist bekannt, dass es sich dabei um eine Doppel-Radioquelle handelt und dass die beiden Radiokomponenten mit optisch sichtbaren Details identifiziert werden können. Die sternähnliche Komponente ist die Hauptkomponente, doch etwa 90% der Radioenergie stammt von dem nebligen Streifen oder «Jet» südwestlich vom Objekt. Der Jet beginnt etwa 11" vom hellen Zentrum und setzt sich etwa weitere 10" fort und ist etwa 1" bis 2" breit. Wenn die vorher angegebene Entfernung des Quasars stimmt, dann ist dieser Jet etwa 300'000 Lichtjahre lang.

Quasar 3C 273
Quasar 3C 273: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop, 2003 [213]

Die stellare Komponente von 3C 273 besitzt einen Radiokern von etwa 0.5" im Durchmesser und ist von einem Halo mit 3" umgeben. Angenommen die Entfernung sei korrekt, dann müsste der Durchmesser des Radiokerns etwa 7'500 Lichtjahre betragen. Der enorme Energieausstoß eines solch relativ kleinen Objekts ist schwierig zu erklären. Doch ein neues Problem taucht auf: Die stellare Komponente zeigt Helligkeitsschwankungen von etwa 0.5 Magnituden mit einer halben Periode von etwa 13 Jahren, aber auch plötzliche Anstiege für eine Woche oder so. Es ist schwierig zu verstehen, wie ein Objekt mit galaktischen Dimensionen solch schnelle Helligkeitsveränderungen zeigen kann, wo doch das Licht selbst Jahrhunderte benötigt um das Objekt zu durchqueren. Das lässt darauf schließen, dass die wahre Quelle wenige Lichtmonate Durchmesser haben muss. [70, 90, 92, 95, 106, 111, 124]

Quasar: 3C 273, PGC 41121, GSC 282:202
R.A.  : 12h 29m 6.6s
Dec.  : +02° 03' 08"
v Mag.: 12.3m-12.8m
z     : 0.158

Die Bezeichnung «3C» bezieht sich auf die Nummer im Third Cambridge Catalogue of Radio Sources, 1959 veröffentlicht von der Royal Astronomical Society in London. Der Quasar ist auch unter der Bezeichnung PGC 41121 im «Principal Galaxies Catalogue» aufgeführt.

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
BezeichnungenPGC 41121:
Rektaszension (J2000.0)12h 29m 06.8s
Deklination (J2000.0)+02° 03' 07"
Morphologischer Typ
Abmessungen' x '
Visuelle Helligkeit mag
Radialgeschwindigkeit (HRV)47367 km/s
Positionswinkel°

Wie findet man den Quasar?

Untenstehende Karte gibt die Position des Quasars 3C 273 im Sternbild Virgo wieder. Befindet man sich erst einmal im richtigen Himmelsabschnitt, so helfen die 1° und 15' Ausschnitte aus dem STScI Digitized Sky Survey bei der genauen Identifikation des Quasars, da sich dieser rein visuell nicht von den Umgebungssternen unterscheidet.

Karte 3C 273
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

300 mm Öffnung: Dieses wirklich äußerst exotische Deep-Sky Objekt ist wesentlich einfacher aufzuspüren und zu sichten, als es auf den ersten Eindruck erscheint - umso frustrierender ist dann der Anblick eines 12.3 bis 12.8 hellen kleinen Sternchens, weshalb auch keine Skizze angefertigt wurde. Vom besagten Jet kann nichts erkannt werden, was auch etwas viel verlangt zu sein scheint. Der Quasar ist mit 300 mm Öffnung sehr gut sichtbar, vermutlich auch noch bis hinunter zu 150 mm Öffnung. — 1996, Bernd Nies

Quellenangaben

70Tracking Down A Quasar by Phil Harrington; Astronomy 6/94, p.56
90Hunt Down A Quasar; Astronomy 4/96, p.64
92Have Astronomers Solved The Quasar Enigma? by Ken Croswell; Astronomy 2/93, p.28
95Objekte der Saison: 3C 273 von Klaus Veit; Interstellarum2/96, S.50
106Resolving a Quasar's Jet; S&T 3/94, p.12
111A Catalog of Quasars Near and Far by Geoffrey Burbidge and Adelaide Hewitt; S&T 12/94, p.32
124Quasar 3C 273 im Achtzöller von Michael Grosse; SuW 4/88, S.246
144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
213Quasar 3C 273; esahubble.org/images/opo0303c (2020-12-31)