Sh 2-129 Flying Bat Nebula & Ou4 Squid Nebula

Sharpless 2-129 + Ou4
Sharpless 2-129 + Ou4: H-II region with possible PN in Auriga; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; 6 hours; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher

History

In the late 1950-ies the American astronomer Stewart Sharpless discovered the large nebula Sh 2-129 on the 48 inch Schmidt telescope photo plates of the «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey». In 1959 he published his discovery together with 313 H-II regions in a catalogue. He classified it as of irregular shape with 140 arc minutes diameter some amorphous to filamentary structure with intermediate brightness and noted «Part of I Cep association.» [310] The nebula later became known as «Flying Bat Nebula».

In May 2011 the French amateur astrophotographer Nicolas Outters decided to take a picture of Sh 2-129. He took several pictures, each with 30 minutes exposure in May and June using his FSQ-106 refractor and SBIG 6303e CCD camera and Hα, [S II] and [O III] filters, total 12.5 hours. After combining the images taken through the O-III filter he discovered a large structure that seemed to have no coherence with the nebula Sh 2-129. He called it «Le Calamar». The rare pictures of Sh 2-129 on the net he found did not show such a structure. He contacted the French astrophysicist Agnès Acker which did precise studies of this strange object and confirmed an important presence of Oxygen III. The nebula was given the designation Ou4, for the fourth nebula discovered by Outters. [508, 509]

Sharpless 2-129
Sharpless 2-129: Section of the STScI Digitized Sky Survey (red). Ou4 is not visible here [147]

Physical Properties

The morphology of Ou4 with a central, disc-like structure and two elongated opposite lobes looks like a bipolar planetary nebula. The spectrum is dominated by the green [O III] lines, whose total intensity is about 20 times larger than that of Hβ. Such a high excitation class is coherent with a very hot central star. The very bright star lying in the central part of the nebula is HR 8119, a triple system. It is of spectral type B0 II or B0 V. The star is thought to belong to the Cepheus OB2 massive stars association, the Sh2–129 H II region, or the Trumpler 37 cluster. It is variable (V=5.51 to 5.57). [509]

The apparent position of Ou4 and the properties leads to conclusion that Ou4 is located inside the Sh 2-129 H II region, suggesting that it was launched some 90'000 years ago by HR 8119. However, it cannot be rule out the alternative possibility that Ou4 is a bipolar planetary nebula or the result of an eruptive event on a massive AGB or post–AGB star not yet identified. [510]

Further infos at CDS: Sh2-129

Finder Chart

Sh2-155 is located in the southeastern part of the constellation Cepheus. It is circumpolar for central Europe. The best observing time is May to December.

Chart Sh 2-129
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
310«A Catalogue of H II Regions» Stewart Sharpless, US Naval Observatory, 1959; DOI:10.1086/190049; Bibcode:1959ApJS....4..257S
508Ou4: une découverte extraordinaire — Astronomie et CCD; outters.fr/wp/?page_id=1701 (2022-04-05)
509«Discovery of New Faint Northern Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker, A.; Boffin, H. M. J.; Outters, N.; Miszalski, B.; Sabin, L.; Le Dû, P.; Alves, F.; Revista Mexicana de Astronomía y Astrofísica Vol. 48, pp. 223-233 (2012); arXiv:1206.2477; Bibcode:2012RMxAA..48..223A
510«Gas physical conditions and kinematics of the giant outflow Ou4» Romano L. M. Corradi, Nicolas Grosso, Agnès Acker, Robert Greimel and Patrick Guillout; A&A Volume 570, October 2014; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361/201322718

Sh 2-129 Fliegende-Fledermaus-Nebel & Ou4 Tintenfisch-Nebel

Sharpless 2-129 + Ou4
Sharpless 2-129 + Ou4: H-II Region mit möglichem PN in Auriga; Celestron RASA 11" f/2.22; ZWO ASI6200 Pro; 6 Stunden; Tentlingen; © 2020 Peter Kocher

Geschichte

In den späten 1950-er Jahren entdeckte der amerikanische Astronom Stewart Sharpless den großen Nebel Sh 2-129 auf den 48 Zoll Schmidt-Teleskop Fotoplatten des «Palomar Observatory Sky Survey». Im Jahr 1959 veröffentlichte er seine Entdeckung zusammen mit 313 H-II-Regionen in einem Katalog. Er klassifizierte den Nebel als von unregelmäßiger Form mit 140 Bogenminuten Durchmesser, amorpher bis fadenförmiger Struktur und mittlerer Helligkeit und vermerkte: «Teil der I Cep Assoziation.» [310] Der Nebel wurde später als «Fliegende-Fledermaus-Nebel» (Flying Bat Nebula) bekannt.

Im Mai 2011 beschloss der französische Amateur-Astrofotograf Nicolas Outters, ein Bild von Sh 2-129 zu machen. Er belichtete mehrere Aufnahmen von jeweils 30 Minuten im Mai und Juni mit seinem FSQ-106 Refraktor und der SBIG 6303e CCD-Kamera und den Filtern Hα, [S II] und [O III], insgesamt 12.5 Stunden. Nachdem er die durch den O-III-Filter aufgenommenen Bilder kombiniert hatte, entdeckte er eine große Struktur, die in keinem Zusammenhang mit dem Nebel Sh 2-129 zu stehen schien. Er nannte sie «Le Calamar». Die seltenen Bilder von Sh 2-129, die er im Internet fand, zeigten keine solche Struktur. Er setzte sich mit der französischen Astrophysikerin Agnès Acker in Verbindung, welche dieses seltsame Objekt genau untersuchte und eine bedeutende Präsenz von [O III] bestätigte. Der Nebel erhielt die Bezeichnung Ou4, für den vierten von Outters entdeckten Nebel. [508, 509]

Sharpless 2-129
Sharpless 2-129: Ausschnitt aus dem STScI Digitized Sky Survey (rot). Ou4 ist hier nicht sichtbar. [147]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Die Morphologie von Ou4 mit einer zentralen, scheibenförmigen Struktur und zwei länglichen, gegenüberliegenden Lappen sieht aus wie ein bipolarer planetarischer Nebel. Das Spektrum wird von den grünen [O III]-Linien dominiert, deren Gesamtintensität etwa 20-mal größer ist als die von Hβ. Eine solch hohe Anregungsklasse steht im Einklang mit einem sehr heißen Zentralstern. Der sehr helle Stern, der im zentralen Teil des Nebels liegt, ist HR 8119, ein Dreifachsystem. Er ist vom Spektraltyp B0 II oder B0 V. Es wird vermutet, dass der Stern zur Cepheus OB2-Massivsterne-Assoziation, zur Sh2-129 H II-Region oder zum Trumpler 37-Haufen gehört. Er ist veränderlich (V=5.51 bis 5.57). [509]

Die scheinbare Position von Ou4 und die Eigenschaften lassen den Schluss zu, dass sich Ou4 innerhalb der Sh 2-129 H II-Region befindet, was darauf hindeutet, dass er vor etwa 90'000 Jahren von HR 8119 gestartet wurde. Es kann jedoch nicht ausgeschlossen werden, dass Ou4 ein bipolarer planetarischer Nebel oder das Ergebnis eines eruptiven Ereignisses auf einem massiven AGB- oder Post-AGB-Stern ist, der noch nicht identifiziert wurde. [510]

Weitere Infos bei CDS: Sh2-129

Auffindkarte

Sh2-155 befindet sich im südöstlichen Teil des Sternbilds Cepheus. Er ist für Mitteleuropa zirkumpolar. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Mai bis Dezember.

Karte Sh 2-129
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Quellenangaben

147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
310«A Catalogue of H II Regions» Stewart Sharpless, US Naval Observatory, 1959; DOI:10.1086/190049; Bibcode:1959ApJS....4..257S
508Ou4: une découverte extraordinaire — Astronomie et CCD; outters.fr/wp/?page_id=1701 (2022-04-05)
509«Discovery of New Faint Northern Galactic Planetary Nebulae» Acker, A.; Boffin, H. M. J.; Outters, N.; Miszalski, B.; Sabin, L.; Le Dû, P.; Alves, F.; Revista Mexicana de Astronomía y Astrofísica Vol. 48, pp. 223-233 (2012); arXiv:1206.2477; Bibcode:2012RMxAA..48..223A
510«Gas physical conditions and kinematics of the giant outflow Ou4» Romano L. M. Corradi, Nicolas Grosso, Agnès Acker, Robert Greimel and Patrick Guillout; A&A Volume 570, October 2014; DOI:10.1051/0004-6361/201322718