Pazmino's Cluster (Stock 23)

Stock 23
Stock 23: Section of DSS2 [147]

History

This star cluster was discovered in the second half of the 1950s by the German astronomer Jürgen Stock and first appeared in the first edition of the «Catalogue of Star Clusters and Associations» in 1958. [570] Jürgen Stock was later responsible for selecting the sites of the observatories on Cerro Tololo and La Silla in Chile. [571]

Sometimes you will also find the term «Pazmino's Cluster», which goes back to an article by John Pazmino in the March 1978 issue of «Sky & Telescope».

Physical Properties

Some sources refer to Stock 23 as an asterism and not a true cluster, as the brighter stars have different parallaxes and proper motions (see table 1). However, a study of the 3D morphology using Gaia EDR3 data revealed that Stock 23 is an open cluster with a filamentary structure. The distance is given as 606.7 pc and the cluster of 78 stars with about 106 solar masses is moving towards us at -18.57 km/s. The age of the cluster is estimated to be -18.57 km/s. The age of the cluster is estimated to be -18.57 km/s. The age of the cluster is estimated at 94 million years. [573] Most scientific sources referenced in Simbad refer to an open cluster. Simbad gives an extent of 90 arcminutes for Stock 23, with the centre about 15 arcminutes north of the conspicuous V-shaped asterism. [145]

The one 9 mag star (HD 237090), which is conspicuously further away at 1136 parsecs, has a high radial velocity of 128.8 km/s away from us. Presumably it was ejected from the cluster due to gravitational interaction.

Data from Simbad, distances and proper motions based on Gaia EDR3 [145]
Name RA [hms] Dec [dms] vMag spType PM RA [mas/y] PM Dec [mas/y] RV [km/s] PLX [mas] Dist [pc]
HD 20040 03 16 10.818 +60 06 57.41 7.54 G2III -13.398 -1.686 -34.5 2.5105 398
HD 20053 03 16 17.370 +60 02 7.10 OB- -28
HD 20095 03 16 41.919 +59 59 26.70 8.12 A0V 17.640 -17.383 1 4.1324 242
HD 20134 03 16 59.751 +60 04 2.97 7.47 B2.5IV-V -4.377 -1.021 -12.50 1.6648 601
HD 237090 03 15 10.928 +59 54 42.80 9.03 B0.5IV:nn 1.263 -0.807 128.80 0.8799 1136
HD 237091 03 15 16.751 +59 54 49.18 9.3 B1:V:nnep -0.200 -2.857 7.60 5.1230
HD 237097 03 15 58.799 +60 12 1.71 9.03 F6IV 53.002 -101.384 -5.40 7.1175 140
HD 237104 03 16 45.559 +60 05 6.76 9.05 F6IV -25.629 9.943 -14 6.3699 157
HD 237106 03 16 55.226 +60 04 41.92 9.81 A0 -4.137 1.939 1.973 507

The cluster is embedded in a faint H-II region (Sh 2-202, LBN 676), crossed by some dark clouds (LDN 1383, 1385). About three degrees west is the well-known Soul Nebula (IC 1848), which together with Heart Nebula (IC 1805) is a popular target for astrophotographers.

Further infos at CDS: Stock 23

Finder Chart

Stock 23 is located in the constellation Camelopardalis, close to the two fourth magnitude stars CE and CS Camelopardalis. The IAU boundary line to the constellation Cassiopeia runs right through the middle of this asterism. The best observation time is from September to March, when the constellation, which is circumpolar in Central Europe, is highest in the sky.

Chart Pazmino's Cluster (Stock 23)
Pazmino's Cluster (Stock 23) in constellation Camelopardalis. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±15°)

References

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
570«Catalogue of star clusters and associations» Alter, G. ; Ruprecht, J. ; Vanýsek, V.; Prague, Pub. House of the Czechoslavak Academy of Sciences, 1958.; Bibcode:1958csca.book.....A
571«Wer kennt Jürgen Stock?» von Florian Freistetter, 5. April 2011; scienceblogs.de/astrodicticum-simplex/2011/04/05/wer-kennt-jurgen-stock (2022-12-21)
573«3D Morphology of Open Clusters in the Solar Neighborhood with Gaia EDR 3. II. Hierarchical Star Formation Revealed by Spatial and Kinematic Substructures» Xiaoying Pang, Shih-Yun Tang, Yuqian Li, Zeqiu Yu, Long Wang, Jiayu Li, Yezhang Li, Yifan Wang, Yanshu Wang, Teng Zhang, Mario Pasquato, and M. B. N. Kouwenhoven; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 931, Number 2, 2022; DOI:10.3847/1538-4357/ac674e

Pazminos Haufen (Stock 23)

Stock 23
Stock 23: Ausschnitt aus DSS2 [147]

Geschichte

Dieser Sternhaufen wurde in der zweiten Hälfte der 1950er Jahre vom deutschen Astronomen Jürgen Stock entdeckt und erschien erstmals 1958 in der ersten Ausgabe des «Catalogue of Star Clusters and Associations». [570] Jürgen Stock war später für die Auswahl der Standorte der Sternwarten auf dem Cerro Tololo und La Silla in Chile verantwortlich. [571]

Manchmal findet man auch die Bezeichnung «Pazminos Haufen», welche auf einen Artikel von John Pazmino in der März 1978 Ausgabe von «Sky & Telescope» zurück geht.

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Manche Quellen sprechen von Stock 23 als Asterismus und keinem echten Sternhaufen, da die helleren Sterne unterschiedliche Parallaxen und Eigenbewegungen aufweisen (siehe Tabelle 1). Eine Studie der 3D Morphologie anhand von Gaia EDR3 Daten ergab jedoch, dass es sich bei Stock 23 einen offenen Sternhaufen mit einer filamentartigen Struktur handelt. Die Entfernung wird mit 606.7 pc angegeben und der 78 Sternen umfassende Haufen mit etwa 106 Sonnenmassen bewegt sich mit mit −18.57 km/s auf uns zu. Das Alter des Haufens wird auf 94 Millionen Jahre geschätzt. [573] Die meisten in Simbad referenzierten wissenschaftlichen Quellen verweisen auf einen offenen Sternhaufen. Simbad gibt für Stock 23 eine Ausdehnung von 90 Bogenminuten mit dem Zentrum etwa 15 Bogenminuten nördlich des auffälligen V-förmigen Asterismus an. [145]

Der eine Stern neunter Grösse (HD 237090), welcher sich mit 1136 Parsec auffällig weiter entfernt befindet, weist eine hohe Radialgeschwindigkeit von 128.8 km/s von uns weg auf. Vermutlich wurde er aufgrund gravitativer Wechselwirkung aus dem Haufen herausgeschleudert.

Daten aus Simbad, Distanzen und Eigenbewegungen basierend auf Gaia EDR3 [145]
Name RA [hms] Dec [dms] vMag spType PM RA [mas/y] PM Dec [mas/y] RV [km/s] PLX [mas] Dist [pc]
HD 20040 03 16 10.818 +60 06 57.41 7.54 G2III -13.398 -1.686 -34.5 2.5105 398
HD 20053 03 16 17.370 +60 02 7.10 OB- -28
HD 20095 03 16 41.919 +59 59 26.70 8.12 A0V 17.640 -17.383 1 4.1324 242
HD 20134 03 16 59.751 +60 04 2.97 7.47 B2.5IV-V -4.377 -1.021 -12.50 1.6648 601
HD 237090 03 15 10.928 +59 54 42.80 9.03 B0.5IV:nn 1.263 -0.807 128.80 0.8799 1136
HD 237091 03 15 16.751 +59 54 49.18 9.3 B1:V:nnep -0.200 -2.857 7.60 5.1230
HD 237097 03 15 58.799 +60 12 1.71 9.03 F6IV 53.002 -101.384 -5.40 7.1175 140
HD 237104 03 16 45.559 +60 05 6.76 9.05 F6IV -25.629 9.943 -14 6.3699 157
HD 237106 03 16 55.226 +60 04 41.92 9.81 A0 -4.137 1.939 1.973 507

Der Sternhaufen ist in eine schwache H-II Region (Sh 2-202, LBN 676) eingebettet, durchzogen von einigen Dunkelwolken (LDN 1383, 1385). Etwa drei Grad westlich befindet sich der bekannte Seelennebel (IC 1848), der zusammen mit dem Herznebel (IC 1805) ein beliebtes Ziel für Astrofotografen ist.

Weitere Infos bei CDS: Stock 23

Auffindkarte

Stock 23 befindet sich im Sternbild Camelopardalis, nahe bei den beiden Sternen vierter Größe CE und CS Camelopardalis. Die IAU Grenzlinie zum Sternbild Cassiopeia verläuft mitten durch diesen Asterismus. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist in den Monaten September bis März, wenn das in Mitteleuropa zirkumpolare Sternbild am höchsten am Himmel steht.

Karte Pazminos Haufen (Stock 23)
Pazminos Haufen (Stock 23) im Sternbild Camelopardalis. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±15°)

Quellenangaben

145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
570«Catalogue of star clusters and associations» Alter, G. ; Ruprecht, J. ; Vanýsek, V.; Prague, Pub. House of the Czechoslavak Academy of Sciences, 1958.; Bibcode:1958csca.book.....A
571«Wer kennt Jürgen Stock?» von Florian Freistetter, 5. April 2011; scienceblogs.de/astrodicticum-simplex/2011/04/05/wer-kennt-jurgen-stock (2022-12-21)
573«3D Morphology of Open Clusters in the Solar Neighborhood with Gaia EDR 3. II. Hierarchical Star Formation Revealed by Spatial and Kinematic Substructures» Xiaoying Pang, Shih-Yun Tang, Yuqian Li, Zeqiu Yu, Long Wang, Jiayu Li, Yezhang Li, Yifan Wang, Yanshu Wang, Teng Zhang, Mario Pasquato, and M. B. N. Kouwenhoven; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 931, Number 2, 2022; DOI:10.3847/1538-4357/ac674e