Globular Cluster NGC 5466

Object Description

NGC 5466
NGC 5466: Globular cluster in Bootes; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 175+3*30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2015 Radek Chromik

The globular cluster NGC 5466 was discovered on May 17, 1784 by the German-British astronomer Wilhelm Herschel. It is a loose globular cluster of concentration class XII. [196]

Like most globular clusters, NGC 5466 consists of very metal-poor stars, indicating a very high age, estimated at 12.88 billion years. Incidentally, in astrophysics all elements heavier than helium are considered «metals». The globular cluster is located in the galactic halo of our Milky Way, about 16 kpc (about 52'000 light years) from Earth.

In 2005, a tidal tail was discovered emanating from NGC 5466 and extending about 45° across the sky. The orientation of the tidal tail agrees well with the highly elliptical orbit of the globular cluster, which is 6.4 kpc (about 21'000 light-years) at the pericenter and 43 kpc (about 140'000 light-years) at the apocenter from the galactic center. While the inner portion of the globular cluster appears normal, the outer portions are severely deformed, stretching to either side. The brightness of the tidal tail is about 11% of the globular cluster. There is also evidence that the globular cluster had interacted with the galactic disk and lost mass. [212, 335]

NGC 5466
NGC 5466: Proper motion of NGC 5466 over 10 years compared to background galaxies. Images taken with the Hubble Space Telescope. © ESA/Hubble & NASA [210]

Behind the globular cluster is a distant cluster of galaxies. Based on this, recordings from ten years ago could be compared with recordings from the Hubble Space Telescope in order to precisely determine the proper motion of the globular star cluster NGC 5466. This precise measurement combined with other data showed that our Milky Way must have about 1.5 trillion (1.5·1012) solar masses. Only a very small part of this comes from the approximately 200 billion (200·109) stars. Most of the rest is invisible «dark matter». [210]

«Revised NGC/IC», «Historic NGC/IC», Version 2022-09-01, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
DesignationNGC 5466
TypeGCL (XII)
Right Ascension14h 05m 27.3s
Declination+28° 32' 06"
Diameter9 arcmin
Visual magnitude9.2 mag
Metric Distance16.000 Mpc
Dreyer DescriptionCl, L, vRi, vmC, st 11…
Identification, RemarksGCL 27

Finder Chart

The globular cluster NGC 5466 is located in the constellation of Bootes, somewhat in the shadow of the magnificent globular cluster M 3 in Canes Venatici. The best viewing time is December to September.

Bootes: NGC 5466
Chart NGC 5466
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

400 mm Aperture: In the 21 mm Ethos eyepiece (85x) NGC 5466 presents itself as a very loose globular cluster with many small stars irregularly distributed, which appears as an oval, washed-out spot when seen indirectly. The bright orange star really dazzles here. With increasing magnification (16 mm Nagler, 112x) the disturbing star comes to lie outside the field of view and the fine stars in the globular cluster appear more prominent. In the 11 mm DeLite eyepiece (163x) the view is most brilliant. The globular cluster then looks somewhat like a crab with upstretched claws. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Glaubenberg, SQM 21.34, a bit windy, Sahara dust and hazy, 22. 5. 2022, 00:00, Bernd Nies

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
210NGC 5466 Visualization; hubblesite.org/video/1200/news
212«Fossils of the distant Galaxy: NGC 5466 and its stellar stream» Jaclyn Jensen, University of Victoria, 2020; dspace.library.uvic.ca/handle/1828/12440 (2021-05-19)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
335«The Discovery of Tidal Tails around the Globular Cluster NGC 5466» Belokurov, V.; Evans, N. W.; Irwin, M. J.; Hewett, P. C.; Wilkinson, M. I.; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 637, Issue 1, pp. L29-L32. January 2006; DOI:10.1086/500362; Bibcode:2006ApJ...637L..29B

Kugelsternhaufen NGC 5466

Objektbeschreibung

NGC 5466
NGC 5466: Kugelsternhaufen in Bootes; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 175+3*30 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2015 Radek Chromik

Der Kugelsternhaufen NGC 5466 wurde am 17. Mai 1784 vom deutsch-britischen Astronomen Wilhelm Herschel entdeckt. Es handelt sich um einen lockeren Kugelsternhaufen der Konzentrationsklasse XII. [196]

Wie die meisten Kugelsternhaufen so besteht auch NGC 5466 aus sehr metallarmen Sternen, was auf ein sehr hohes Alter hinweist, welches auf 12.88 Milliarden Jahre geschätzt wird. In der Astrophysik gelten übrigens alle Elemente schwerer als Helium als «Metalle». Der Kugelsternhaufen befindet sich im galaktischen Halo unserer Milchstrasse, etwa 16 kpc (ca. 52'000 Lichtjahre) von der Erde entfernt.

Im Jahre 2005 wurde ein Gezeitenschweif entdeckt, der von NGC 5466 ausgeht und sich etwa 45° über den Himmel erstreckt. Die Orientierung des Gezeitenschweifs stimmt mit der stark elliptischen Umlaufbahn des Kugelsternhaufens gut überein, welche im Perizentrum 6.4 kpc (ca. 21'000 Lichtjahre) und im Apozentrum 43 kpc (ca. 140'000 Lichtjahre) vom galaktischen Zentrum entfernt ist. Während der innere Teil des Kugelsternhaufens normal erscheint, sind die äusseren Bereiche stark deformiert und erstrecken sich zu beiden Seiten. Die Helligkeit des Gezeitenschweifs beträgt etwa 11 % des Kugelsternhaufens. Es gibt auch Anzeichen dafür, dass der Kugelsternhaufen mit der galaktischen Scheibe interagiert und Masse verloren hatte. [212, 335]

NGC 5466
NGC 5466: Eigenbewegung von NGC 5466 im Zeitraum von 10 Jahren im Vergleich zu Hintergrundgalaxien. Aufnahmen mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop [210]

Hinter dem Kugelsternhaufen befindet sich ein weit entfernter Galaxienhaufen. Anhand diesem konnte mit Aufnahmen des Hubble Weltraumteleskopen Aufnahmen von zehn Jahren verglichen werden, um so die Eigenbewegung des Kugelsternhaufens NGC 5466 exakt zu bestimmen. Diese präzise Messung kombiniert mit anderen Daten zeigte, dass unsere Milchstrasse etwa 1.5 Billionen (1.5·1012) Sonnenmassen besitzen muss. Ein nur sehr geringer Anteil dessen stammt von den etwa 200 Milliarden (200·109) Sternen. Der grösste Teil des Restes ist unsichtbare «dunkle Materie». [210]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
BezeichnungNGC 5466
TypGCL (XII)
Rektaszension14h 05m 27.3s
Deklination+28° 32' 06"
Durchmesser9.00 arcmin
Visuelle Helligkeit9.2 mag
Dreyer BeschreibungCl, L, vRi, vmC, st 11…
IdentifikationGCL 27

Auffindkarte

Der Kugelsternhaufen NGC 5466 befindet sich im Sternbild Bootes, etwas im Schatten vom nur 5° westlich gelegenen prächtigen Kugelsternhaufen M 3 in Canes Venatici. Die beste Beoachtungszeit ist Dezember bis September.

Karte NGC 5466
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

400 mm Öffnung: Im 21 mm Ethos Okular (85x) präsentiert sich NGC 5466 als sehr lockerer Kugelsternhaufen mit vielen kleinen Sternchen unregelmässig verteilt, welcher bei indirektem Sehen als ovaler, verwaschner Fleck erscheint. Der helle, orangefarbene Stern blendet hier richtig. Bei zunehmender Vergrößerung (16 mm Nagler, 112x) kommt der störende Stern außerhalb des Bildfeldes zu liegen und die feinen Sternchen im Kugelsternhaufen treten deutlicher hervor. Im 11 mm DeLite Okular (163x) ist der Anblick am brilliantesten. Der Kugelsternhaufen sieht dann etwas wie eine Krabbe mit hochgestreckten Scheren aus. — 400 mm f/4.5 Taurus Dobsonian, Glaubenberg, SQM 21.34, etwas windig, Saharastaub und dunstig, 22. 5. 2022, 00:00, Bernd Nies

Quellenangaben

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
210NGC 5466 Visualization; hubblesite.org/video/1200/news
212«Fossils of the distant Galaxy: NGC 5466 and its stellar stream» Jaclyn Jensen, University of Victoria, 2020; dspace.library.uvic.ca/handle/1828/12440 (2021-05-19)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
335«The Discovery of Tidal Tails around the Globular Cluster NGC 5466» Belokurov, V.; Evans, N. W.; Irwin, M. J.; Hewett, P. C.; Wilkinson, M. I.; The Astrophysical Journal, Volume 637, Issue 1, pp. L29-L32. January 2006; DOI:10.1086/500362; Bibcode:2006ApJ...637L..29B