NGC 5394/5, Heron Galaxy

NGC 5394/5
NGC 5394/5: Pair of galaxies in Canes Venatici; 500 mm Cassegrain f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 420-60-60-60 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2014 Radek Chromik

History

The pair of galaxies NGC 5394/5 was discovered on May 16, 1787 by the German-British astronomer William Herschel with his self-made 18.7 inch f/12.8 reflecting telescope in Bath, England. He cataloged it as I 190 and I 191. He noted: «Two. The south considerably bright, considerably large. The north pretty bright, small. Distance 1.5'.» The same night he discovered NGC 5380 (II 698). [464]

His son John found NGC 5378 with his 18.3 inch telescope 11 March 1831. The small galaxy IC 4356 was discovered on 19 June 1897 by the French astronomer Stephane Javelle using the 76 cm refractor telescope at the Observatoire de Nice. [196, 277]

Heron
Heron: The namesake for this pair of galaxies; © Bernd Nies

The pair of galaxies NGC 5394/5 is listed as VV 48 in the «Atlas and Catalogue of Interacting Galaxies» [432] published by B. A. Vorontsov-Velyaminov in 1959. In Halton Arp's 1966 «Atlas of Peculiar Galaxies», the two interacting galaxies below Arp 84 are found as an example of a galaxy with a large companion of high surface brightness. [199]

Because of the appearance of this unusual pair of galaxies, which resembles a heron standing in wait, it was nicknamed the «Heron Galaxy».

NGC 5394/5
NGC 5394/5: Image taken with the Gemini 8-meter telescope on Maunakea [507]

Physical Properties

NGC 5395 is a Seyfert Type II spiral galaxy. It is interacting with the smaller companion NGC 5354 which shows two open tidal arms and also starburst activity in its center region. This could be the result of a past collision, which was shown with model calculations. Distances to the galaxy pair NGC 5394/5 range from 50 Mpc to 54 Mpc (163 bis 178 million light-years). The larger galaxy (NGC 5395) is 140'000 light-years across and the smaller one (NGC 5394) is 90'000 light-years across. [145, 506, 507]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 537813 56 50.5+37 48 00SBR2.7 x 2.213.4301790
NGC 538013 56 56.7+37 36 33L1.9 x 1.913.23178
NGC 539413 58 33.7+37 27 18SB M1.7 x .813.73427
NGC 539513 58 38.2+37 25 32C M2.7 x 1.312.53488167
IC 435613 58 44.5+37 30 26C x 16.2

Finder Chart

Although the pair of galaxies are in the constellation Canes Venatici, it is better to use the constellation Bootes for finding. Extend the line connecting the two stars Nekkar (β Boötis) and Seginus (γ Boötis) by the same amount and set the outermost Telrad circle north of it at right angles. The best observation time is January to July, when the constellation is at its highest at night.

Chart NGC 5395
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

320 mm Aperture: The galaxy pair NGC 5394/5 is said to represent a gray heron. Only it was upside down or astronomically correct. The two parts of the galaxy could be seen well, with the smaller galaxy only revealing the bright core. The beak or the fine spiral arm was not visible. — 12.5" f/4.5 Ninja-Dobsonian, Glaubenberg, 25. 3. 2022, Eduard von Bergen

400 mm Aperture: At low magnification (21 mm Tele Vue Ethos, 85x) the galaxy pair NGC 5394/5 can be easily missed as it appears dimmer than the DSS overview map suggests. It reveals itself here only as an elongated, irregular nebula. At higher magnification (9 mm Nagler, 200x) the pair of galaxies becomes more visible. From the head of the heron (galaxy NGC 5394), however, only the core area can be seen. No spirals. This requires much more aperture. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Glaubenberg, 25. March 2022, 22:50 CET, SQM-L 21.1, Bernd Nies

References

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
199Atlas Of Peculiar Galaxies, Halton Arp; ned.ipac.caltech.edu/level5/Arp/Arp_contents.html (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
432«The Atlas and Catalogue of Interacting Galaxies» B.A. Vorontsov-Velyaminov (Moscow 1959); ned.ipac.caltech.edu/level5/VV_Cat/frames.html (2021-09-25)
464«Catalogue of a second thousand of new nebulae and clusters of stars; with a few introductory remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1789; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1789.0021
506«The Interacting Galaxies NGC 5394/5395: A Post-Ocular Galaxy and Its Ring/Spiral Companion» Michele Kaufman, Elias Brinks, Bruce G. Elmegreen, Debra Meloy Elmegreen, Mario Klarić, Curtis Struck, Magnus Thomasson, and Stuart Vogel; The Astronomical Journal, Volume 118, Number 4, 1999; DOI:10.1086/301030
507noirlab1912 — Photo Release: A Galactic Dance; noirlab.edu/public/news/noirlab1912 (2022-03-29)

NGC 5394/5, Graureiher-Galaxie

NGC 5394/5
NGC 5394/5: Galaxienpaar in Canes Venatici; 500 mm Cassegrain f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 420-60-60-60 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2014 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Das Galaxienpaar NGC 5394/5 wurde am 16. Mai 1787 vom deutsch-britischen Astronomen Friedrich Wilhelm Herschel mit seinem selbstgebauten 18.7 Zoll f/12.8 Spiegelteleskop im englischen Slough entdeckt. Er katalogisierte sie als I 190 und I 191 und notierte: «Zwei. Der Süden ziemlich hell, ziemlich groß. Der Norden ziemlich hell, klein. Abstand 1,5'.» In derselben Nacht enteckte er noch die Galaxie NGC 5380 (II 698).

Sein Sohn John stieß mit seinem 18.3 Zoll Teleskop am 11. März 1831 auf NGC 5378. Die kleine Galaxie IC 4356 wurde am 19. Juni 1897 vom französischen Astronomen Stephane Javelle mit dem 76 cm Linsenfernrohr des Observatoire de Nice entdeckt. [196, 277]

Graureiher
Graureiher: Der Namenspate für dieses Galaxienpaar; © Bernd Nies

Das Galaxienpaar NGC 5394/5 ist als VV 48 im 1959 von B. A. Vorontsov-Velyaminov herausgegebenen «Atlas and Catalogue of Interacting Galaxies» [432] aufgeführt. In Halton Arps 1966 erschienenen «Atlas of Peculiar Galaxies» findet man die beiden interagierenden Galaxien unter Arp 84 als ein Beispiel für eine Galaxie mit einem großen Begleiter mit hoher Oberflächenhelligkeit. [199]

Wegen des Aussehens dieses ungewöhnlichen Galaxienpaars, welches einem stehenden Reiher auf der Lauer gleicht, erhielt sie den Spitznamen «Graureiher-Galaxie» (engl. Heron Galaxy).

NGC 5394/5
NGC 5394/5: Aufnahme mit dem Gemini 8-Meter Teleskop auf Maunakea [507]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

NGC 5395 ist eine Spiralgalaxie des Seyfert-Typs II. Sie interagiert mit der kleineren Begleitgalaxie NGC 5394, welche zwei offene Gezeitenarme und im Zentrum ebenfalls Starburst-Aktivität aufweist. Das könnte das Ergebnis einer vergangener Kollision sein, was mit Modellberechnungen nachgewiesen wurde. Entfernungsangaben zum Galaxienpaar NGC 5394/5 reichen von 50 Mpc bis 54 Mpc (163 bis 178 Millionen Lichtjahre). Die größere Galaxie (NGC 5395) misst 140'000 Lichtjahre im Durchmesser und die kleinere (NGC 5394) 90'000 Lichtjahre. [145, 506, 507]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 537813 56 50.5+37 48 00SBR2.7 x 2.213.4301790
NGC 538013 56 56.7+37 36 33L1.9 x 1.913.23178
NGC 539413 58 33.7+37 27 18SB M1.7 x .813.73427
NGC 539513 58 38.2+37 25 32C M2.7 x 1.312.53488167
IC 435613 58 44.5+37 30 26C x 16.2

Auffindkarte

Das Galaxienpaar befindet sich zwar im Sternbild Canes Venatici, doch orientiert man sich besser am Sternbild Bootes. Verlängere die Verbindungslinie der beiden Sterne Nekkar (β Boötis) und Seginus (γ Boötis) um denselben Betrag und setze den äußersten Telrad-Kreis rechtwinklig gen Norden davon. Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist Januar bis Juli, wenn das Sternbild nachts am höchsten steht.

Canes Venatici: NGC 5395
Karte NGC 5395
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

320 mm Öffnung: Das Galaxienpaar NGC 5394/5 soll einen Graureiher darstellen. Nur stand dieser Kopf bzw. astronomisch richtig. Die beiden Galaxienteile konnten gut wahrgenommen werden, wobei die kleinere Galaxie nur den hellen Kern offenbarte. Der Schnabel bzw. der feine Spiralarm war nicht ersichtlich. — 12.5" f/4.5 Ninja-Dobsonian, Glaubenberg, 25. 3.2022, Eduard von Bergen

400 mm Öffnung: Bei geringer Vergrößerung (21 mm Tele Vue Ethos, 85x) kann das Galaxienpaar NGC 5394/5 leicht übersehen werden, da es dunkler erscheint, als es die DSS-Übersichtskarte vermuten lässt. Sie verrät sich hier nur als längliches, unförmiges Nebelchen. Bei höherer Vergrößerung (9 mm Nagler, 200x) wird das Galaxienpaar deutlicher erkennbar. Vom Kopf des Reihers (Galaxie NGC 5394) ist allerdings nur der Kernbereich erkennbar. Keine Spiralen. Dazu bedarf es viel mehr Öffnung. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Glaubenberg, SQM-L 21.1, 25. März 2022, 22:50 CET, Bernd Nies

Quellenangaben

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
199Atlas Of Peculiar Galaxies, Halton Arp; ned.ipac.caltech.edu/level5/Arp/Arp_contents.html (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
432«The Atlas and Catalogue of Interacting Galaxies» B.A. Vorontsov-Velyaminov (Moscow 1959); ned.ipac.caltech.edu/level5/VV_Cat/frames.html (2021-09-25)
506«The Interacting Galaxies NGC 5394/5395: A Post-Ocular Galaxy and Its Ring/Spiral Companion» Michele Kaufman, Elias Brinks, Bruce G. Elmegreen, Debra Meloy Elmegreen, Mario Klarić, Curtis Struck, Magnus Thomasson, and Stuart Vogel; The Astronomical Journal, Volume 118, Number 4, 1999; DOI:10.1086/301030
507noirlab1912 — Photo Release: A Galactic Dance; noirlab.edu/public/news/noirlab1912 (2022-03-29)