Messer 78 with Nebula Complex

History

This nebula was first sighted by Pierre Méchain in March 1780 and added by Charles Messier as object number 78 in his catalog of comet-like celestial objects on December 17 of the same year. He made a note of it. «A cluster of stars with a lot of nebula». The slightly weaker part NGC 2071 further north escaped him at that time. It was only discovered by Wilhelm Herschel on January 1, 1786. Admiral Smyth saw «two stars in a very thin nebula» and Lord Rosse believed he saw a spiral structure in them. At that time it was still believed that spiral nebulae (galaxies) were located within our galaxy. [4, 196]

Messier 78
Messier 78: Galactic nebula in Orion; Schmidt-Netwton 250 mm f/4, Canon EOS 20Da; ISO 1600, RGB: 70.5 min; Obwalden; © 2018 Eduard von Bergen
Messier 78
Messier 78: Galactic nebula in Orion; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 70+10+10+10 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2005 Radek Chromik

Physical Properties

Messier 78
Messier 78: Image in visible light (left) and infrared (right). Excerpt from SDSS9 Color and allWISE. [147]

As you can see on the infrared image in Fig. 3, M 78 is the brightest part of a nebula crossed by dark clouds, the brightest areas of which have been assigned the NGC numbers 2064, 2067, 2068 and 2071. These are mainly reflection nebulae, i. e. clouds of dust that reflect the light from stars and hardly shine themselves. With M 78 it is the two B-type stars (HD 38563 A and B) which illuminate the dust. Due to gravity, the cloud has accumulated in several «clumps». New stars are forming inside. The whole cloud belongs to the Orion Molecular Cloud Complex and is around 1,350 light years away. [196]

Further deep sky objects that belong to the Orion Molecular Cloud Complex:

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypeBmagVmagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification
NGC 2064 05 46 18.4+00 00 21RN1.00 × 1.0eF, vS, * 9·10 np 4'LBN 1627, part of M 78
NGC 2067 05 46 32.0+00 07 54RN8.00 × 3.0F, pL, M 78 sDG 79, part of M 78
NGC 2068 05 46 45.0+00 04 48RN8.08.00 × 6.0B, L, wisp, gmbN, 3 st inv, rM 78, DG 80
NGC 2071 05 47 07.2+00 17 39RN8.07.00 × 5.0D * (10 & 14 m) with vF, L chevLBN 938

Finder Chart

The reflection nebula M78 is positioned exactly on the celestial equator. It lies slightly above the left belt star Alnitak (ζ Orionis) of the constellation Orion. The reflection nebula is stated to be the brightest of its kind. Indeed, it is relatively easy to find and is quite noticeable with its brightness. [192] The constellation is best observed in the months of October to February.

Chart M 78
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

350 mm aperture: The shape is slightly U-shaped and resembles a comet's head. Two bright stars lying in the nebula disturb the picture or dazzle the viewer in detail. However, one perceives a few dark, black areas. The OIII filter was of no help with this item. Without a filter, the reflection nebula M78 was easier and better to view. [192]

14" PWO-Dobson, F:4.6 / TV-Nagler 13mm, 123x, 0.67° und TV-Radian 8mm, 200x, 0.3°, Eduard von Bergen

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Messier 78 mit Nebelkomplex

Geschichte

Dieser Nebel und wurde erstmals im März 1780 von Pierre Méchain gesichtet und am 17. Dezember desselben Jahres von Charles Messier als Objekt Nummer 78 in seinem Katalog kometenähnlicher Himmelsobjekte aufgenommen. Er notierte dazu. «Ein Haufen Sterne mit viel Nebel». Der geringfügig lichtschwächere Teil NGC 2071 weiter nördlich entging ihm damals. Er wurde erst von Wilhelm Herschel am 1. Januar 1786 entdeckt. Admiral Smyth sah «zwei Sterne in einem sehr dünnen Nebel» und Lord Rosse glaubte darin eine Spiralstruktur zu erkennen. Damals glaubte man noch, Spiralnebel (Galaxien) befänden sich innerhalb unserer Galaxie. [4, 196]

Messier 78
Messier 78: Galaktischer Nebel in Orion; Schmidt-Netwton 250 mm f/4, Canon EOS 20Da; ISO 1600, RGB: 70.5 min; Obwalden; © 2018 Eduard von Bergen
Messier 78
Messier 78: Galaktischer Nebel in Orion; 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 70+10+10+10 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2005 Radek Chromik

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Messier 78
Messier 78: Aufnahmen in sichtbarem Licht (links) und Infrarot (rechts). Ausschnitt aus SDSS9 Color und allWISE. [147]

Wie man auf der Infrarot-Aufnahme in Abb. 3 schön erkennt, M 78 ist der hellste Teil eines von Dunkelwolken durchzogenen Nebels, deren hellste Bereiche die NGC Nummern 2064, 2067, 2068 und 2071 zugewiesen bekamen. Es handelt sich dabei hauptsächlich um Reflexionsnebel, also Wolken aus Staub, welche das Licht von Sternen reflektieren und kaum selber leuchten. Bei M 78 sind es die zwei B-Typ Sterne (HD 38563 A und B) welche den Staub anstrahlen. Aufgrund der Schwerkraft, hat sich die Wolke zu mehreren "Klumpen" angehäuft. Im Inneren bilden sich neue Sterne. Die ganze Wolke gehört zum Orion Molekularwolken-Komplex und befindet sich in rund 1350 Lichtjahren Entfernung. [196]

Weitere Deep-Sky Objekte, welche zum Orion Molekularwolken-Komplex gehören:

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypBmagVmagDimDreyer BeschreibungIdentifikation
NGC 2064 05 46 18.4+00 00 21RN1.00 × 1.0eF, vS, * 9·10 np 4'LBN 1627, part of M 78
NGC 2067 05 46 32.0+00 07 54RN8.00 × 3.0F, pL, M 78 sDG 79, part of M 78
NGC 2068 05 46 45.0+00 04 48RN8.08.00 × 6.0B, L, wisp, gmbN, 3 st inv, rM 78, DG 80
NGC 2071 05 47 07.2+00 17 39RN8.07.00 × 5.0D * (10 & 14 m) with vF, L chevLBN 938

Auffindtipp

Genau auf dem Himmelsäquator positioniert sich der Reflexionsnebel M78. Er liegt leicht oberhalb des linken Gürtelsterns Alnitak (ζ Orionis) des Sternbildes Orion. Der Reflexionsnebel wird als hellster seiner Art angegeben. Wahrlich er ist relativ leicht zu finden und fällt mit seiner Helligkeit recht gut auf. [192] Das Sternbild ist in den Monaten Oktober bis Februar am besten zu beobachten.

Karte M 78
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

350 mm Öffnung: Die Form ist leicht u-förmig und gleicht einem Kometenkopf. Zwei im Nebel liegende, helle Sterne stören das Bild bzw. blenden für die Detailbetrachtung. Man nimmt aber vereinzelt dunkle, schwarze Stellen wahr. Der OIII-Filter war bei diesem Objekt keine Hilfe. Ohne Filter war der Reflexionsnebel M78 einfacher und besser zu betrachten. [192]

14" PWO-Dobson, F:4.6 / TV-Nagler 13mm, 123x, 0.67° und TV-Radian 8mm, 200x, 0.3°, Eduard von Bergen

Quellenangaben

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
192Deep-Sky Guide; fernrohr.ch/1d_deep-sky-guide.html (2020-12-25)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)