Galaxy Messier 58

Messier 58
Messier 58: Image taken with the Hubble Space Telescope [215]

History

The galaxy M 58 was discovered on April 15, 1779 together with M 59 and M 60. He wrote: «Very faint nebula discovered in the Virgo, almost on the same parallel as ε [Virginis], 3rd magnitude. The slightest light to illuminate the micrometer wires makes it disappear.» He published his discovery on the map for the comet of 1779, which passed so close to the galaxies on April 13th and 14th that it appeared in his telescope in the same field of view as the galaxies and outshone them, which is why he first took over the galaxies discovered the following night. [217]

The small galaxy IC 3604 was discovered on May 10, 1904 by the American astronomer Royal Harwood Frost. [277]

Physical Properties

This is a Seyfert galaxy of the morphological type according to de Vaucouleurs SAB(rs)b and the nuclear activity class LINER Sy1.9. The heliocentric radial velocity is 1517 ± 1 km/s and it is 20.1 ± 1.4 Mpc (around 65 million light years) away from us. [194]

Although the core of M 58 appears bright, it is rather dark compared to other spiral galaxies. It is home to a supermassive black hole of around 70 million solar masses. A narrow ring around the galaxy core (ultra-compact nuclear ring) is the main area of the high rate of star formation, which is a rather rare phenomenon in galaxies. Long arms twist from the core. A very low proportion of hydrogen means that few new stars are formed in the arms. This could be the result of gravitational interaction with other galaxies in the Virgo cluster. Two supernovae (1988 and 1989) have so far been discovered in M 58. [215]

The galaxy IC 3604 is of type Sa. It has nothing to do with M 58 and is there by chance. With a heliocentric speed of 13,234 ± 8 km/s, it is 200 ± 14 Mpc away from us - around ten times further than M 58. [194]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue», «Historically Corrected New General Catalogue», Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
NameRADecTypeBmagVmagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification
NGC 4579 12 37 43.7+11 49 06Gx (SBb)10.59.76.00 × 4.8B, L, iR, vmbM, rM 58, UGC 7796, MCG 2-32-160, IRAS 12351+1205, CGCG 70-197, VCC 1727
IC 3604 12 38 20.7+11 43 50Gx (Sa)16.215.30.30 × 0.2F, vS, R, lbM

Finder Chart

The galaxy M 58 is located in the constellation Virgo, about 6° west of the star Vindemiatrix (ε Virginis), a third on the way to the star Denebola (β Leonis). The best time to observe is from February to June.

Chart Messier 58
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
194NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED); ned.ipac.caltech.edu (2020-12-27)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
217The Messier Catalog (SEDS); messier.seds.org (2021-01-01)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)

Galaxie Messier 58

Objektbeschreibung

M 58
M 58: Aufnahme des Hubble Weltraumteleskops [215]

Die Galaxie M 58 wurde am 15. April 1779 zusammen mit M 59 und M 60 entdeckt. Er schrieb dazu: «Sehr schwacher Nebel in der Virgo entdeckt, fast auf derselben Parallele wie ε [Virginis], 3. Grösse. Das geringste Licht um die Mikrometer-Drähte zu erhellen bringt ihn zum verschwinden.» Er veröffentlichte seine Entdeckung auf der Karte für den Kometen von 1779, welcher am 13. und 14. April so nahe an den Galaxien vorbei zog, dass er in seinem Fernrohr im gleichen Blickfeld wie die Galaxien erschien und diese überstrahlte, weshalb er die Galaxien erst in der Nacht darauf entdeckte. [217]

Es handelt sich hier um eine Seyfert-Galaxie des morphologischen Typs nach de Vaucouleurs SAB(rs)b und der nuklearen Aktivitätsklasse LINER Sy1.9. Die heliozentrische Radialgeschwindigkeit beträgt 1517±1 km/s und sie ist 20.1±1.4 Mpc (rund 65 Millionen Lichtjahre) von uns entfernt. [194]

Obwohl der Kern von M 58 hell erscheint, ist er im Vergleich zu anderen Spiralgalaxien eher dunkel. Er beheimatet ein supermassives Schwarzes Loch von etwa 70 Millionen Sonnenmassen. Ein schmaler Ring um den Galaxienkern (ultrakompakter nuklearer Ring) ist das Hauptgebiet der hohen Rate an Sternentstehung, was ein eher selteneres Phänomen in Galaxien ist. Lange Arme winden sich aus dem Kern. Ein sehr geringer Anteil an Wasserstoff bedeutet, dass in den Armen wenig neue Sterne entstehen. Dies könnte das Resultat von gravitativer Interaktion mit anderen Galaxien des Virgohaufens sein. Zwei Supernovae (1988 und 1989) wurden bisher in M 58 entdeckt. [215]

Die kleine Galaxie IC 3604 ist vom Typ Sa und wurde am 10. Mai 1904 vom amerikanischen Astronomen Royal Harwood Frost entdeckt. Sie hat nichts mit M 58 zu tun und steht rein zufällig dort. Mit einer heliozentrischen Geschwindigkeit von 13'234±8 km/s befindet sich sich 200±14 Mpc von uns entfernt — rund zehnmal weiter als M 58. [194]

— 20. 2. 2021, Bernd Nies

«The Complete New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue of Nebulae and Star Clusters» von J.L.E. Dreyer, nachbearbeitet 1988 von Roger W. Sinnott [142]. Koordinaten in B2000.0.
Name Typ RA [hm] Dec [dm] Const ⌀ ['] vMag Beschreibung
NGC 4579Gx12 37.7+11 49Vir5.49.8B, L, iR, vmbM, r; = M58
IC 360412 38.4+11 43VirF, vS, R, lbM

Auffindkarte

Die Galaxie M 58 befindet sich im Sternbild Virgo (Jungrau), etwa 6° westlich vom Stern Vindemiatrix (ε Virginis), ein Drittel auf dem Weg zum Stern Denebola (β Leonis). Die beste Beobachtungszeit ist von Februar bis Juni.

Karte
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro [149] und STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160] erstellt.

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.