NGC 2024, Flaming Tree Nebula

Object Description

NGC 2024
NGC 2024: Galactic nebula in Orion; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625mm / f7.2; SBIG STL11K; 120+30+30+30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2009 Radek Chromik

NGC 2024 is a bright spot in a gigantic nebula complex stretching from the Orion Nebula out to Barnard's Loop. For the most part, however, this nebula complex, about 1500 light-years away, is too faint to be visible to the naked eye with a telescope; Large, connected parts only appear on long-term exposures from very dark areas of the earth. This entire nebula complex is probably one or more very old remnants of a supernova, from which new stars and even planetary systems are formed.

The Flaming Tree Nebula is the most prominent part of a brighter nebula region around the 2.0 mag star Alnitak (ζ Orionis). It was knowingly first sighted by W. Herschel on January 1st, 1786 and cataloged as V 28. He described it as «Remarkable milky nebulosity, divided in 3 or 4 large patches, including a dark space; cannot take up less than 1/2 degree, but I suppose it to be much more extensive.» [464]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
DesignationNGC 2024
TypeEN
Right Ascension05h 41m 42.0s
Declination-01° 51' 24"
Diameter30.00 × 30.0 arcmin
Dreyer Description! irr, B, vvL, black sp incl
IdentificationCED 55P, Flame nebula

Finder Chart

NGC 2024 is once again a very easy-to-find object: focus on Alnitak, the left (east) belt star of Orion, and we're there. The nebula is just east of the bright star. Orion is at its best in the night sky during the months of October to February.

Chart NGC 2024
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

NGC 2024
NGC 2024: Zeichnung; 150mm-Refraktor; © 16. 12. 1996 Beat Kohler

150 mm aperture: Although Alnitak is very accommodating in finding NGC 2024, it does get in the way when trying to observe the nebula. Nevertheless, an observation is always worthwhile. This nebula is one of the objects that show a clear structure in shape and differences in brightness. Besides the large Orion and Horsehead Nebula, a detour is always worthwhile.

In order to weaken the disturbingly bright light from Alnitak when making this drawing, a simple mask was made using a thin strip of adhesive tape, which was glued to the aperture of a 35mm wide-angle eyepiece and rendered valuable services. This covered the bright star, and the whole effort took less than a minute. The nebula could be observed more relaxed and more details came to light. Filters didn't bring any significant benefit - clean and dry air is a prerequisite for successful detailed observation because of the outshining star.

Visual observation shows very nicely the lighter areas divided by longitudinal darker bands. The nebula was therefore spontaneously dubbed the «cauliflower nebula» because it somehow resembles the structure of a longitudinal section of this vegetable. However, the name «Flaming Tree Nebula» is probably better known. In fact, one can see in it the silhouette of a trunk and large branches that stand in the bright fire.

Beat Kohler, 1996

References

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
464«Catalogue of a second thousand of new nebulae and clusters of stars; with a few introductory remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1789; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1789.0021

NGC 2024, Flammenbaum-Nebel

Objektbeschreibung

NGC 2024
NGC 2024: Galaktischer Nebel in Orion; 500 mm Cassegrain f=3625mm / f7.2; SBIG STL11K; 120+30+30+30 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2009 Radek Chromik

Bei NGC 2024 handelt es sich um eine helle Stelle eines gigantischen Nebelkomplexes, welcher sich vom Orionnebel bis hinaus zum Barnard's Loop erstreckt. Grösstenteils ist dieses etwa 1500 Lichtjahre entfernte Nebelgebiet jedoch zu lichtschwach, als dass es mit dem Teleskop von blossem Auge sichtbar wäre; Grosse, zusammenhängende Teile treten erst auf Langzeitbelichtungen aus sehr dunklen Gegenden der Erde zum Vorschein. Vermutlich handelt es sich bei diesem ganzen Nebelkomplex um einen oder mehrere sehr alte Überreste einer Supernova, woraus sich wieder neue Sterne und gar Planetensysteme bilden.

Der Flaming Tree Nebula ist der markanteste Teil einer helleren Nebelregion um den 2.0 mag Stern Alnitak (ζ Orionis). Er wurde am 1. Januar 1786 wissentlich erstmals von W. Herschel gesichtet und als V 28 katalogisiert. Er beschrieb den Nebel wie folgt: «Bemerkenswerter milchiger Nebel, unterteilt in 3 oder 4 grosse Flecken, einschliesslich eines dunklen Raums; kann nicht weniger als 1/2 Grad einnehmen, aber ich nehme an, dass er viel umfangreicher ist.» [464]

«Revised New General Catalogue and Index Catalogue» Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke, 2021 [277]
BezeichnungNGC 2024
TypEN
Rektaszension05h 41m 42.0s
Deklination-01° 51' 24"
Durchmesser30.00 × 30.0 arcmin
Dreyer Beschreibung! irr, B, vvL, black sp incl
IdentifikationCED 55P, Flame nebula

Auffindtipp für den Flammenbaum-Nebel

Bei NGC 2024 handelt es sich für einmal wieder um ein sehr einfach zu findendes Objekt: Man nehme Alnitak, den linken (östlichen) Gürtelstern des Orion, ins Blickfeld und schon sind wir am Ziel. Der Nebel befindet sich unmittelbar östlich des hellen Sterns. In den Monaten Oktober bis Februar steht Orion am besten am nächtlichen Himmel.

Karte NGC 2024
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

NGC 2024
NGC 2024: Zeichnung; 150mm-Refraktor; © 16. 12. 1996 Beat Kohler

150 mm Öffnung: Obwohl Alnitak bei der Suche nach NGC 2024 sehr zuvorkommend ist, stört er jedoch, wenn man den Nebel beobachten will. Trotzdem lohnt sich eine Beobachtung immer wieder. Dieser Nebel gehört zu den Objekten, die eine deutliche Struktur in Form und Helligkeitsunterschieden zeigen. Auch neben dem grossen Orion- und Pferdekopfnebel lohnt sich ein Abstecher immer wieder.

Um das störend helle Licht von Alnitak beim Anfertigen dieser Zeichnung abzuschwächen, wurde mittels eines dünen Klebebandstreifens eine einfache Maske gefertigt, die auf die Blende eines 35mm Weitwinkelokuares geklebt wertvolle Dienste leistete. Damit liess sich der hellen Stern abdecken, wobei der ganze Aufwand weniger als eine Minute in Anspruch nahm. Der Nebel liess sich so entspannter Beobachten und mehr Details kamen zum Vorschein. Filter brachten keinen nennenswerten Gewinn - saubere und trockene Luft ist wegen des überstrahlenden Sterns aber Voraussetzung für eine erfolgreiche Detailbeobachtung.

Die visuelle Beobachtung zeigt sehr schön die helleren Bereiche, die durch längs verlaufenden dünkleren Bänder unterteilt sind. Der Nebel hat deshalb spontan die Bezeichnung «Blumenkohlnebel» erhalten, da er irgendwie an die Struktur eines Länsschnittes dieses Gemüses erinnert. Bekannter dürfte jedoch die Bezeichnung «Flaming Tree Nebula» (brennender Baum) sein. In der Tat kann man darin die Siluette eines Stammes und der grossen Äste erkennen, die im hellen Feuer stehen.

Beat Kohler, 1996

Quellenangaben

149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
464«Catalogue of a second thousand of new nebulae and clusters of stars; with a few introductory remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1789; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1789.0021