Messier 51, Whirlpool Galaxy

Messier 51 + NGC 5195
Messier 51 + NGC 5195: Galaxies M51 (bottom) and NGC 5195 (top); 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 150+30+30+30 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2005 Radek Chromik

History

The well-known Whirlpool Galaxy was discovered by Charles Messier on October 13, 1773 while observing the comet of the same year. He noted: «Very faint nebula, without stars. [...] It can only be seen with difficulty with an ordinary telescope of 3 1/2 feet [focal length]: near it is a star of the 8th magnitude. [...] It is double, each having a brilliant center, distant from each other by 4' 35". The two atmospheres are touching. One is weaker than the other.» [281]

The fascinating spiral shape was first noticed in 1845 by Lord Rosse in his huge 6-foot reflector in Paronstown, Ireland. Initially it was assumed that these spiral nebulae were new forming planetary systems, but this was refuted by Edwin Hubble in 1923. [4]

In Halton Arp's 1966 Atlas of Peculiar Galaxies, the two interacting galaxies can be found under Arp 85. He noted: «Faint plumes and extensions from companion.» [199]

Physical Properties

Measured distances from M 51 range from 6.2 Mpc to 8.4 Mpc (20 to 27 million light years). The small companion galaxy NGC 5195 is at the same distance, slightly behind.[145]

«Revised NGC/IC», «Historic NGC/IC», Version 2022-09-01, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypebMagvMagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification, Remarks
NGC 519413 29 52.6+47 11 44Gx (Sbc)9.08.411.2 × 6.9!!!, Great Spiral nebM 51, UGC 8493, MCG 8-25-12, IRAS 13277+4727, KCPG 379A, CGCG 246-8, Arp 85, VV 1, VV 403, Whirlpool galaxy
NGC 519513 29 59.2+47 16 03Gx (SB0-a)10.59.65.9 × 4.6B, pS, lE, vgbM, inv in M 51UGC 8494, MCG 8-25-14, CGCG 246-9, IRAS 13278+4731, KCPG 379B, Arp 85, VV 1, Whirlpool galaxy

Finder Chart

The Whirlpool galaxy is located in the constellation Canes Venatici, below and at right angles to the two rear tiller stars in the Big Dipper. The galaxies are best observed from February to July.

Canes Venatici: Messier 51
Chart Messier 51
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

M 51 + NGC 5195
M 51 + NGC 5195: Pencil drawing of M 51 with supernova SN 2005cs; 14" PWO-Dobson f/4.6, TV-Radian 8 mm, 200x, 0.3°, D: 6.5, L: ruhig; Honegg 1460 m; © 4. 7. 2005, 02:15 Eduard von Bergen

350 mm Aperture: The spiral arms are clearly visible in medium-sized amateur telescopes. Two arms spiral around the light and large core. One spiral arm connects M51 at least optically with the smaller galaxy NGC 5195. It seldom happens that a supernova in a galaxy flashes brightly enough. But it was time again that a star exploded completely and we can observe this from Earth. Though 30 million years later, that is how long it took for light from the galaxy M51 to reach us. The discovery of a supernova is one of the few ways in which amateur astronomers can make a name and contribute to science. This is what happened on June 27, 2005. The amateur astronomer Wolfgang Kloehr was the first to photograph or discover the supernova with relatively simple equipment, Meade 8 "Schmidt-Newton telescope on LXD-75 and deep-sky imager. — 14" PWO-Dobson, F:4.6 / TV-Radian 8mm, 200x, 0.3°, Eduard von Bergen

400 mm Aperture: The galaxy pair was at best viewing conditions near zenith. Spiral structure is impressive and was best visible with 11 mm Delite Eyepiece (163x). A must see when it is highest in the sky. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Glaubenberg Langis, February 28, 2022, Bernd Nies

M 51 + NGC 5195
M 51 + NGC 5195: EAA, more or less representing the visual impression; 30" SlipStream Dobson f/3.3 + MallinCam video camera; ca. 3s; Hasliberg; © 14. 3. 2012 Eduard von Bergen

762 mm Aperture: The visual impression can be reproduced with a MallinCam video camera and an integration time of around three seconds. A tracking 30 inch f/3.3 SlipStream Dobsonian was used. The resulting image comes very close to visual vision with a 13 mm Tele Vue Ethos eyepiece. — 14. 3. 2012, Eduard von Bergen

References

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
199Atlas Of Peculiar Galaxies, Halton Arp; ned.ipac.caltech.edu/level5/Arp/Arp_contents.html (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)

Messier 51, Whirlpool-Galaxie

Messier 51 + NGC 5195
Messier 51 + NGC 5195: Galaxien M51 (unten) und NGC 5195 (oben); 500 mm Cassegrain 5800 mm f/11.4; SBIG STL11K; 150+30+30+30 min LRGB; Berner Oberland; © 2005 Radek Chromik

Geschichte

Die bekannte Whirlpool-Galaxie wurde am 13. Oktober 1773 von Charles Messier entdeckt, als er den Kometen dieses Jahres beobachtete. Er schrieb dazu: «Sehr schwacher Nebel, ohne Sterne. [...] Er ist mit einem gewöhnlichen Teleskop von 3 1/2 Fuß [Brennweite] nur schwer zu sehen: In seiner Nähe befindet sich ein Stern der 8. Größe. [...] Er ist doppelt, jeder hat ein brillantes Zentrum und ist 4' 35" voneinander entfernt. Die beiden Atmosphären berühren sich. Einer ist schwächer als der andere.» [281]

Die faszinierende Spiralform wurde erstmals 1845 von Lord Rosse in seinem riesigen 6-Fuß Reflektor im irischen Paronstown bemerkt. Anfänglich vermutete man hinter den Spiralnebeln entstehende Planetensysteme, doch wurde dies 1923 von Edwin Hubble widerlegt. [4]

In Halton Arps 1966 erschienenen «Atlas of Peculiar Galaxies» findet man die beiden interagierenden Galaxien unter Arp 85. Er notierte: «Schwache Schwaden und Verlängerungen vom Begleiter.» [199]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

Gemessene Entfernungen von M 51 reichen von 6.2 Mpc bis 8.4 Mpc (20 bis 27 Millionen Lichtjahre). Die kleine Begleitgalaxie NGC 5195 befindet sich in der gleichen Entfernung, etwas nach hinten versetzt. [145]

«Revised NGC/IC», «Historic NGC/IC», Version 2022-09-01, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypbMagvMagDimDreyer BeschreibungIdentifikation, Anmerkungen
NGC 519413 29 52.6+47 11 44Gx (Sbc)9.08.411.2 × 6.9!!!, Great Spiral nebM 51, UGC 8493, MCG 8-25-12, IRAS 13277+4727, KCPG 379A, CGCG 246-8, Arp 85, VV 1, VV 403, Whirlpool galaxy
NGC 519513 29 59.2+47 16 03Gx (SB0-a)10.59.65.9 × 4.6B, pS, lE, vgbM, inv in M 51UGC 8494, MCG 8-25-14, CGCG 246-9, IRAS 13278+4731, KCPG 379B, Arp 85, VV 1, Whirlpool galaxy

Auffindkarte

Die Whirlpool-Galaxie befindet sich im Sternbild Jagdhunde (Canes Venatici), unterhalb und rechtwinklig zu den beiden hinteren Deichselsternen im Großen Wagen. Von Februar bis Juli können die Galaxien am besten beobachtet werden.

Canes Venatici: Messier 51
Karte Messier 51
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

M 51 + NGC 5195
M 51 + NGC 5195: Bleistiftskizze von M 51 mit Supernova SN 2005cs; 14" PWO-Dobson f/4.6, TV-Radian 8 mm, 200x, 0.3°, D: 6.5, L: ruhig; Honegg 1460 m; © 4. 7. 2005, 02:15 Eduard von Bergen

350 mm Öffnung: In mittelgroßen Amateurteleskopen sind die Spiralarme gut sichtbar. Zwei Arme winden sich spiralförmig um den hellen und großen Kern. Der eine Spiralarm verbindet M51 mindestens optisch mit der kleineren Galaxie NGC 5195. Selten kommt es vor, dass eine Supernova in einer Galaxie genügend hell aufblinkt. Doch es war wieder einmal soweit, dass ein Stern vollständig explodierte und wir dies von der Erde aus beobachten können. Dies zwar mit 30 Millionen Jahren Verspätung, denn solange brauchte das Licht von der Galaxie M51 zu uns. Die Entdeckung einer Supernova ist einer der wenigen Möglichkeiten, wo sich Amateurastronomen noch profilieren können. So geschehen am 27. Juni 2005. Der Amateurastronom Wolfgang Kloehr hat mit einem relativ einfachen Equipment, Meade 8" Schmidt-Newton-Teleksop auf LXD-75 und Deep-Sky-Imager, die Supernova als Erster fotografiert bzw. entdeckt. — 14" PWO-Dobson, F:4.6 / TV-Radian 8mm, 200x, 0.3°, Eduard von Bergen

400 mm Öffnung: Das Galaxienpaar hatte die besten Sichtbedingungen nahe dem Zenit. Die spiralförmige Struktur ist beeindruckend und war am besten mit dem 11 mm Delite Okular (163x) sichtbar. Ein Muss, wenn die Galaxie am höchsten am Himmel steht. — Taurus T400 f/4.5 Dobsonian, Glaubenberg Langis, 28. Februar 2022, Bernd Nies

M 51 + NGC 5195
M 51 + NGC 5195: EAA, entspricht in etwa visuellem Eindruck; 30" SlipStream-Dobson f/3.3 + MallinCam Videokamera; ca. 3s; Hasliberg; © 14. 3. 2012 Eduard von Bergen

762 mm Öffnung: Der visuelle Eindruck lässt sich ungefähr mit einer MallinCam Videokamera und einer Integrationszeit von etwa drei Sekunden reproduzieren. Verwendet wurde ein nachgeführtes 30" f/3.3 SlipStream-Dobson. Das entstandene Bild kommt dem visuellen Sehen mit einem 13 mm Tele Vue Ethos Okular sehr nahe. — 14. 3. 2012, Eduard von Bergen

Quellenangaben

4«Burnham's Celestial Handbook: An Observer's Guide to the Universe Beyond the Solar System» by Robert Burnham; Dover Publications, Inc.; Voume I: ISBN 0-486-23567-X; Volume II: ISBN 0-486-23568-8; Volume III: ISBN 0-486-23673-0
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
199Atlas Of Peculiar Galaxies, Halton Arp; ned.ipac.caltech.edu/level5/Arp/Arp_contents.html (2020-12-28)
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)