Group of Galaxies Hickson 16 (Arp 318)

Hickson 16 / Arp 318
Hickson 16 / Arp 318: Image taken with Hubble Space Telescope. © 2015 NASA, ESA, ESO, Jane Charlton [566]

History

These four galaxies were discovered by William Herschel on 28 November 1785 with his 18.7" reflector telescope. He cataloged them as class II (faint nebulae) with numbers 482, 483, 484, 485 and noted: «Four. The preceding two both faint, extended, small within 1' distance in the direction of the parallel of declination. The following two both pretty faint, pretty small extended about 2' distance and nearly in the direction of the meridian.» [464]

In 1966 the American astronomer Halton Christian Arp published his «Atlas of Peculiar Galaxies», which was the result of more than four years of direct photography with the 200-inch Hale telescope of Mount Wilson and Palomar Observatories. He collected 338 unusual looking galaxies or group of galaxies and ordered them empirically according to their form and visual appearance. This group of galaxies with the number 318 was arranged in group #311-321 as groups of galaxies. He noted: «Faint, diffuse streamers, peculiar galaxies.» [199]

The British-Canadian astronomer Paul Hickson presented in 1982 his systematic search for groups of galaxies on the photo plates of the Palomar Observatory Sky Survey (POSS) to the public. In order to be classified by him as a galaxy group, at least four members should be identifiable, which had to be reasonably compact and isolated from the rest. The catalog contains 100 groups of galaxies. [140] The group number 16 has 4 members. In the 1993 special issue of his «Atlas of Compact Groups of Galaxies» he misidentified it with Arp 327 and noted: «Consists of four clearly distorted late type galaxies of comparable luminosity. All but galaxy b (NGC 833) have strong radio and infrared emission.» [166]

Physical Properties

NGC 839 is a LINER (Low-Ionisation Nuclear Emission-line Regions) contain heated gas at their cores, which spew out radiation. Its companion NGC 838 is a LINER-type galaxy with lots of starburst activity and no central black hole. NGC 835 and NGC 833, are both Seyfert 2 galaxies which have luminous cores when observed at other wavelengths than in the visible light, and are home to active supermassive black holes.

The X-ray emission emanating from the black hole within NGC 833 is so high that it suggests the galaxy has been stripped of gas and dust by past interactions with other galaxies. It is not alone in having a violent history – the morphology of NGC 839 is likely due to a galactic merger in the recent past, and long tails of glowing gas can be seen stretching away from the galaxies on the right of the image. [566]

The distance to this compact group of galaxies is estimated to 52.50 Mpc. [145]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypebMagvMagDimDreyer DescriptionIdentification, Remarks
NGC 83302 09 20.8-10 07 58Gx (Sa/P)13.712.71.5 × 0.7F, S, R, 1st of 4MCG -2-6-30, Arp 318, HCG 16B
NGC 83502 09 24.6-10 08 07Gx (SBab/P)12.912.11.3 × 1.1F, S, R, 2nd of 4MCG -2-6-31, MK 1021, Arp 318, IRAS 02069-1022, HCG 16A, KUG 0206-103
NGC 83802 09 38.4-10 08 45Gx (S0)13.613.01.2 × 0.9vF, vS, R, 3rd of 4MCG -2-6-33, MK 1022, Arp 318, IRAS 02071-1023, HCG 16C, KUG 0207-103
NGC 83902 09 42.9-10 11 00Gx (S0/P)13.913.11.4 × 0.7vF, pS, R, 4th of 4MCG -2-6-34, Arp 318, HCG 16D, IRAS 02072-1025

Finder Chart

The Hickson 16 compact group of galaxies can be found in the constellation Cetus. The best time for observation is in the months from September to December.

Chart Group of Galaxies Hickson 16 (Arp 318)
Group of Galaxies Hickson 16 (Arp 318) in constellation Cetus. Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

More Objects Nearby (±20°)

References

140«Systematic properties of compact groups of galaxies» Hickson, P.; Astrophysical Journal, Vol. 255, p. 382-391 (1982); DOI:10.1086/159838; Bibcode:1982ApJ...255..382H
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
166Atlas of Compact Groups of Galaxies (Special Issue); Hickson, P.; Astrophysical Letters and Communications, Vol. 29, p. 1, 1993; Bibcode:1993ApL&C..29....1H
199«Atlas Of Peculiar Galaxies», Halton Arp, 1966; Astrophysical Journal Supplement, vol. 14, p.1 (1966); DOI:10.1086/190147; Bibcode:1966ApJS...14....1A
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
464«Catalogue of a second thousand of new nebulae and clusters of stars; with a few introductory remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1789; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1789.0021
566Hubble views a bizarre cosmic quartet [HEIC1514]; sci.esa.int/web/hubble/-/56054-hubble-views-a-bizarre-cosmic-quartet-heic1514 (2022-11-07)

Galaxiengruppe Hickson 16 (Arp 318)

Hickson 16 / Arp 318
Hickson 16 / Arp 318: Aufnahme mit dem Hubble Weltraumteleskop. © 2015 NASA, ESA, ESO, Jane Charlton [566]

Geschichte

Diese vier Galaxien wurden von Wilhelm Herschel am 28. November 1785 mit seinem 18.7 Zoll Spiegelteleskop entdeckt. Er katalogisierte sie als Klasse II (schwache Nebel) mit den Nummern 482, 483, 484, 485 und notierte: «Vier. Die beiden vorhergehenden sind beide schwach, ausgedehnt, klein innerhalb 1' Entfernung in Richtung der Deklinationsparallele. Die folgenden zwei, beide ziemlich schwach, ziemlich klein, ausgedehnt in etwa 2' Entfernung und fast in Richtung des Meridians.» [464]

Im Jahr 1966 veröffentlichte der amerikanische Astronom Halton Christian Arp seinen «Atlas of Peculiar Galaxies», der das Ergebnis von mehr als vier Jahren direkter Fotografie mit dem 200 Zoll Hale-Teleskop der Mount Wilson und Palomar Observatorien war. Er sammelte 338 ungewöhnlich aussehende Galaxien oder Galaxiengruppen und ordnete sie empirisch nach ihrer Form und ihrem Erscheinungsbild. Diese Gruppe von Galaxien mit der Nummer 318 wurde in der Gruppe #311-321 als Galaxiengruppen angeordnet. Er notierte: «Schwache, diffuse Streamer, eigentümliche Galaxien». [199]

Der britisch-kanadische Astronom Paul Hickson stellte 1982 seine systematische Suche nach Galaxiengruppen auf den Fotoplatten des Palomar Observatory Sky Survey (POSS) der Öffentlichkeit vor. Um von ihm als Galaxiengruppe eingestuft zu werden, sollten mindestens vier Mitglieder identifizierbar sein, die einigermaßen kompakt und vom Rest isoliert sein mussten. Der Katalog enthält 100 Gruppen von Galaxien. [140] Die Gruppe Nummer 16 hat 4 Mitglieder. In der 1993 erschienenen Sonderausgabe seines «Atlas of Compact Groups of Galaxies» verwechselte er sie mit Arp 327 und notierte: «Sie besteht aus vier deutlich verzerrten Galaxien vom Spättyp mit vergleichbarer Leuchtkraft. Alle außer Galaxie b (NGC 833) haben starke Radio- und Infrarotemission.» [166]

Physikalische Eigenschaften

NGC 839 ist eine LINER-Galaxie (Low-Ionisation Nuclear Emission-Line Regions), die in ihrem Kern erhitztes Gas enthält, das Strahlung ausstößt. Ihr Begleiter NGC 838 ist eine Galaxie vom LINER-Typ mit viel Starburst-Aktivität und ohne zentrales Schwarzes Loch. NGC 835 und NGC 833 sind beides Seyfert-2-Galaxien, die bei anderen Wellenlängen als im sichtbaren Licht leuchtende Kerne haben und aktive supermassereiche Schwarze Löcher beherbergen.

Die Röntgenemission, die vom Schwarzen Loch in NGC 833 ausgeht, ist so stark, dass sie darauf schließen lässt, dass die Galaxie durch frühere Wechselwirkungen mit anderen Galaxien von Gas und Staub befreit wurde. Die Morphologie von NGC 839 ist wahrscheinlich auf eine galaktische Verschmelzung in der jüngeren Vergangenheit zurückzuführen, und man kann lange Schwänze aus glühendem Gas erkennen, die sich von den Galaxien auf der rechten Seite des Bildes weg erstrecken. [566]

Die Entfernung zu dieser Galaxiengruppe wird auf 52.50 Mpc geschätzt. [145]

Revised+Historic NGC/IC, Version 22/9, © Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke [277]
NameRADecTypbMagvMagDimDreyer BeschreibungIdentifikation, Anmerkungen
NGC 83302 09 20.8-10 07 58Gx (Sa/P)13.712.71.5 × 0.7F, S, R, 1st of 4MCG -2-6-30, Arp 318, HCG 16B
NGC 83502 09 24.6-10 08 07Gx (SBab/P)12.912.11.3 × 1.1F, S, R, 2nd of 4MCG -2-6-31, MK 1021, Arp 318, IRAS 02069-1022, HCG 16A, KUG 0206-103
NGC 83802 09 38.4-10 08 45Gx (S0)13.613.01.2 × 0.9vF, vS, R, 3rd of 4MCG -2-6-33, MK 1022, Arp 318, IRAS 02071-1023, HCG 16C, KUG 0207-103
NGC 83902 09 42.9-10 11 00Gx (S0/P)13.913.11.4 × 0.7vF, pS, R, 4th of 4MCG -2-6-34, Arp 318, HCG 16D, IRAS 02072-1025

Auffindkarte

Die kompakte Galaxiengruppe Hickson 16 ist im Sternbild Cetus zu finden. Die beste Zeit für die Beobachtung ist in den Monaten September bis Dezember.

Karte Galaxiengruppe Hickson 16 (Arp 318)
Galaxiengruppe Hickson 16 (Arp 318) im Sternbild Cetus. Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Weitere Objekte in der Nähe (±20°)

Quellenangaben

140«Systematic properties of compact groups of galaxies» Hickson, P.; Astrophysical Journal, Vol. 255, p. 382-391 (1982); DOI:10.1086/159838; Bibcode:1982ApJ...255..382H
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
166Atlas of Compact Groups of Galaxies (Special Issue); Hickson, P.; Astrophysical Letters and Communications, Vol. 29, p. 1, 1993; Bibcode:1993ApL&C..29....1H
199«Atlas Of Peculiar Galaxies», Halton Arp, 1966; Astrophysical Journal Supplement, vol. 14, p.1 (1966); DOI:10.1086/190147; Bibcode:1966ApJS...14....1A
277«Historische Deep-Sky Kataloge» von Dr. Wolfgang Steinicke; klima-luft.de/steinicke (2021-02-17)
464«Catalogue of a second thousand of new nebulae and clusters of stars; with a few introductory remarks on the construction of the heavens» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1789; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1789.0021
566Hubble views a bizarre cosmic quartet [HEIC1514]; sci.esa.int/web/hubble/-/56054-hubble-views-a-bizarre-cosmic-quartet-heic1514 (2022-11-07)