Galaxy Messier 98

Messier 98
Messier 98: Galaxy in Coma Berenices; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 430+40+40+40 min LRGB; Bernese Highlands; © 2015 Radek Chromik

History

M 98 was discovered by Pierre Méchain on March 15, 1781 and cataloged by Charles Messier on April 13, along with M 99 and M 100. He noted: «Nebula without a star, of very weak light, above the northern wing of the Jungfrau, on the parallel and next to the star no. 6, fifth size in the hair of Berenike, according to Flamsteed. M. Méchain saw him on March 15, 1781.» [281]

Physical Properties

Messier 98
Messier 98: Image taken with the Hubble Telescope [215]

The spiral galaxy M 98 is of the morphological type SAB(s)ab, which we see obliquely from the edge. It has an active core of the LINER type (Low-ionization nuclear emission-line region), is a Seyfert type 3 galaxy and numerous star formation regions with many young, hot, blue stars. It contains about one trillion (1012) stars and is about 14 Mpc (45 million light years) away. It is approaching us at a speed of 142 km/s. [194, 292]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
DesignationsPGC 39028: NGC 4192, UGC 7231, MCG 3-31-79, M 98, CGCG 98-108, VCC 92, IRAS 12112+1510
Right Ascension (J2000.0)12h 13m 48.1s
Declination (J2000.0)+14° 53' 42"
Morphological TypeSB
Dimensions9.4' x 2.3'
Visual Magnitude10.9 mag
Radial Velocity (HRV)-142 km/s
Position Angle155°

Further Galaxies in that Area

In addition to M 98, there are two smaller, much more distant galaxies: NGC 4186 was discovered by Wilhelm Tempel in 1877. It is of the morphological type SA (s) from? and is approximately 112 Mpc (365 million light years) away. NGC 4192A (UGC 7223) is located 35 Mpc (114 million light years) away. [194, 196]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
UGC 722312 13 26.2+14 46 19S1.3 x 1.215.62075
NGC 418612 14 06.4+14 43 37S R1.0 x .814.6788260

Finder Chart

M 98 is located in the constellation Coma Berenices between the two bright stars Vindemiatrix (ε Virginis) and Denebola (β Leonis), about a third closer to Denebola, about half a degree west of the 5 mag bright star 6 Comae Berenices . The best time for observation is January to July.

Chart M 98
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

References

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
194NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED); ned.ipac.caltech.edu (2020-12-27)
196Celestial Atlas by Curtney Seligman; cseligman.com/text/atlas.htm (2020-12-28)
215Explore - The Night Sky | Hubble’s Messier Catalog; nasa.gov/content/goddard/hubble-s-messier-catalog (2020-12-31)
281«Catalogue Nébuleuses et des Amas D'Étoiles» Observées à Paris, par M. Messier, à l'Observatoire de la Marine, hôtel de Clugni, rue des Mathurins. «Connoissance des temps ou connoissance des mouvements célestes, pour l'année bissextile 1784 » Page 227; gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k6514280n/f235 (2021-02-21)
292Why so blue?; eso.org/public/images/potw1636a (2021-03-07)

Galaxie Messier 98

Objektbeschreibung

Messier 98
Messier 98: Galaxie in Coma Berenices; 500 mm Cassegrain 3625 mm f/7.2; SBIG STL11K; 430+40+40+40 min LRGB; Sternwarte Lischerli, Ottenleuebad, Berner Oberland; © 2015 Radek Chromik

M 98 wurde am 15. März 1781 von Pierre Méchain entdeckt und am 13. April von Charles Messier zusammen mit M 99 und M 100 katalogisiert. Er notierte dazu: «Nebel ohne Stern, von sehr schwachem Licht, oberhalb des nördlichen Flügels der Jungfrau, auf der Parallen und neben dem Stern Nr. 6, fünfter Grösse im Haar der Berenike, gemäss Flamsteed. M. Méchain sah ihn am 15. März 1781.» [281]

M 98
M 98: Aufnahme mit Hubble Weltraumteleskop [215]

Die Spiralgalaxie M 98 ist des morphologischen Typs SAB(s)ab, welche wir schräg von der Kante sehen. Sie hat einen aktiven Kern des Typs LINER (Low-ionization nuclear emission-line region), ist eine Seyfert Typ 3 Galaxie und zahlreiche Sternentstehungsgebiete mit vielen jungen, heissen, blauen Sternen. Sie enthält etwa eine Billion (1012) Sterne und befindet sich in etwa 14 MPc (45 Millionen Lichtjahre) Entfernung. Sie nähert sich uns mit einer Geschwindigkeit von 142 km/s. [194, 292]

Neben M 98 befinden sich noch zwei kleine, viel weiter entfernte Galaxien: NGC 4186 wurde 1877 von Wilhelm Tempel entdeckt. Sie ist vom morphologischen Typ SA(s)ab? und befindet sich in etwa 112 Mpc (365 Millionen Lichtjahre) Entfernung. NGC 4192A (UGC 7223) befindet sich in einer Entfernung von 35 Mpc (114 Millionen Lichtjahre). [194, 196]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144] Koordinaten in J2000.0; HRV = Heliozentrische Radialgeschwindigkeit; PA = Positionswinkel
NamenRA
[hms]
Dec
[dms]
Morph
Typ
Dim
[']
Btot
[mag]
HRV
[km/s]
PA
[°]
UGC 722312 13 26.2+14 46 19S1.3 x 1.215.62075
M 98, NGC 419212 13 48.1+14 53 42SB9.4 x 2.310.9-142 155
NGC 418612 14 06.4+14 43 37S R1.0 x .814.67882 60

Auffindkarte

M 98 befindet sich im Sternbild Coma Berenices (Haar der Berenike) zwischen den beiden hellen Sternen Vindemiatrix (ε Virginis) und Denebola (β Leonis), etwa ein Drittel näher zu Denebola, etwa ein halbes Grad westlich des 5 mag hellen Sterns 6 Comae Berenices. Die beste Zeit für die Beobachtung ist Januar bis Juli.

Karte
Karte mit Hilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro [149] und STScI Digitized Sky Survey [160] erstellt.

Creative Commons License Sofern keine anderen Quellen, Autoren oder Fotografen genannt werden, unterliegt diese Webseite der Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.