Galaxies NGC 4733, NGC 4754, NGC 4762

Object Description

NGC 4754, 4762
NGC 4754, 4762: NGC 4762 (left) and NGC 4754 (right). Section of the Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

This small group of 3 galaxies was discovered on March 15, 1784 by Wilhelm Herschel using his 18.7 inch telescope. He cataloged them as follows: II 73 (NGC 4733), I 25 = II 74 (NGC 4754) and II 75 (NGC 4762). With I 25 and II 74 he mistakenly made a double entry for the same galaxy (NGC 4754). He described I 25 as «bright, small, in a line with 2 stars». The description for II 74 and II 75 reads as follows: «Two, nearly parallel. The preceding pretty bright nearly round. The following pretty bright very much extended. 8 or 10' distance». Both positions measured relatively from the star 34 Virginis and visual descriptions match. [463]

The two galaxies NGC 4754 and NGC 4762 are assigned to the Hubble class SB0 and are therefore barred spirals with less pronounced spiral arms. However, while we are looking almost exactly at the edge of NGC 4762, we only see NGC 4754 at a medium angle. In addition, there is a strong difference in brightness between a round, inner and an elliptical outer part of the latter galaxy, so that both galaxies do not look very similar in the telescope.

The following distances and radial velocities can be found at Simbad for the three galaxies over the last 20 years: NGC 4733: 13.5-19.1 Mpc, 905-928 km/s — NGC 4754: 15.9-19.8 Mpc, 1317-1377 km/s - NGC 4762: 10.8-22.6 Mpc, 973-1006 km/s. [145]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 473312 51 06.8+10 54 44E1.7 x .412.7918
NGC 475412 52 17.6+11 18 48LB M4.4 x 2.411.5139623
NGC 476212 52 56.2+11 13 48LB M8.6 x 2.011.198032

Finder Chart

The pretty galaxy pair NGC 4754/4762 is located in the constellation Virgo (Virgo), almost 2.5 degrees west of Vindemiatrix (ε Virginis) and should so not hard to find. NGC 4733 stands about half a degree off to the southwest. The galaxies are best observed from February to June.

Chart NGC 4754
Chart created using SkySafari 6 Pro and STScI Digitized Sky Survey. [149, 160]

Visual Observation

200 mm aperture: There are countless galaxies in the constellation Virgo, some of which are very interesting. The galaxies NGC 4754 and NGC 4762 form a very nice pair, which are visible together in fields of view beyond 30 arc minutes. Although they are both assigned to the same Hubble type, they look quite different due to the different viewing angles. The first of the two appears very elongated at 1:5 and structures (knots) are already indicated at medium magnification. It has a bright, compact core.

Nearly 10 arc minutes west of this very beautiful galaxy is NGC 4733. Unlike its partner, it appears round with a fairly smooth increase in brightness toward the core.

Frank H. Leiter

References

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
463«Catalogue of one thousand new nebulae and clusters of stars» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1786; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1786.0027

Galaxien NGC 4733, NGC 4754, NGC 4762

Objektbeschreibung

NGC 4754, 4762
NGC 4754, 4762: NGC 4762 (links) und NGC 4754 (rechts). Ausschnitt aus dem Sloan Digitized Sky Survey [147]

Diese kleine 3-er Galaxiengruppe wurde am 15. März 1784 von Wilhelm Herschel mit seinem 18.7-Zoll-Teleskop entdeckt. Er katalogisierte sie wie folgt: II 73 (NGC 4733), I 25 = II 74 (NGC 4754) und II 75 (NGC 4762). Mit I 25 und II 74 machte er fälschlicherweise einen doppelten Eintrag für dieselbe Galaxie (NGC 4754). Er beschrieb I 25 als «hell, klein, in einer Reihe mit 2 Sternen». Die Beschreibung für II 74 und II 75 lautet wie folgt: «Zwei, fast parallel. Die vorangehende ziemlich hell fast rund. Die folgende ziemlich hell sehr ausgedehnt. 8 oder 10' Abstand». Beide relativ vom Stern 34 Virginis gemessenen Positionen und die visuellen Beschreibungen stimmen überein. [463]

Die beiden Galaxien NGC 4754 und NGC 4762 sind der Hubble-Klasse SB0 zugeordnet und damit Balkenspiralen mit wenig ausgeprägten Spiralarmen. Während wir bei NGC 4762 aber fast genau auf die Kante blicken, sehen wir NGC 4754 nur unter mittlerem Winkel. Hinzu kommt bei letzterer Galaxie ein starker Helligkeitsunterschied zwischen einem runden, inneren und einem elliptischen äusseren Teil, so dass sich beide Galaxien im Fernrohr nicht sehr ähnlich sehen.

Zu den drei Galaxien findet man bei Simbad für die letzten 20 Jahre folgende Distanzen und Radialgeschwindigkeiten: NGC 4733: 13.5-19.1 Mpc, 905-928 km/s — NGC 4754: 15.9-19.8 Mpc, 1317-1377 km/s — NGC 4762: 10.8-22.6 Mpc, 973-1006 km/s. [145]

«Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC)», Paturel et al. 1989 [144]
NameRA [hms]Dec [dms]mTypeDim [']Btot [mag]HRV [km/s]PA [°]
NGC 473312 51 06.8+10 54 44E1.7 x .412.7918
NGC 475412 52 17.6+11 18 48LB M4.4 x 2.411.5139623
NGC 476212 52 56.2+11 13 48LB M8.6 x 2.011.198032

Auffindtipp

Das hübsche Galaxienpärchen NGC 4754/4762 steht im Sternbild Virgo (Jungfrau), knapp 2.5 Grad westlich von Vindemiatrix (ε Virginis) und sollte damit nicht so schwer zu finden sein. NGC 4733 steht etwa ein halbes Grad abseits davon in südwestlicher Richtung. Die Galaxien sind von Februar bis Juni am besten zu beobachten.

Karte NGC 4754
Karte mithilfe von SkySafari 6 Pro und STScI Digitized Sky Survey erstellt. [149, 160]

Visuelle Beobachtung

200 mm Öffnung: Im Sternbild Jungfrau stehen unzählige Galaxien, wovon einige sehr interessante sind. Ein sehr schönes Päarchen bilden die Galaxien NGC 4754 und NGC 4762, die bei Gesichtsfeldern jenseits der 30 Bogenminuten gemeinsam sichtbar sind. Obwohl sie beide dem gleichen Hubble-Typ zugeordnet werden, sehen sie aufgrund des unterschiedlichen Sichtwinkels ziemlich verschieden aus. Erstere von beiden erscheint mit 1:5 sehr stark elongiert und schon bei mittlerer Vergrösserung deuten sich Strukturen (Knoten) an. Sie besitzt einen hellen, kompakten Kern.

Knapp 10 Bogenminuten westlich von dieser sehr schönen Galaxie befindet sich NGC 4733. Im Gegensatz zu ihrem Partner erscheint sie rund mit einem ziemlich gleichmässigen Helligkeitsanstieg zum Kern hin.

Frank H. Leiter

Quellenangaben

144Catalogue of Principal Galaxies (PGC); Paturel G., Fouque P., Bottinelli L., Gouguenheim L.; Astron. Astrophys. Suppl. Ser. 80, 299 (1989); cdsarc.unistra.fr/viz-bin/cat/VII/119 (2021-02-18)
145SIMBAD astronomical database; simbad.u-strasbg.fr/simbad
147Aladin Lite; aladin.u-strasbg.fr/AladinLite (2020-12-23)
149SkySafari 6 Pro, Simulation Curriculum; skysafariastronomy.com
160The STScI Digitized Sky Survey; archive.stsci.edu/cgi-bin/dss_form
463«Catalogue of one thousand new nebulae and clusters of stars» William Herschel, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, 1 January 1786; DOI:10.1098/rstl.1786.0027